We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced dirty small (superior) room w/o AC”
Review of Hotel Annabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Annabella
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Balatonfured
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced dirty small (superior) room w/o AC”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Room was smaller than my bathroom. I expected a bit bigger room for a price of superior room. There is no air conditioning in the room and the carpet was dirty, small plastic pieces were all around in the room. This hotel is the worst I have ever been. I got much better room for 160 USD/day anywhere else in the world. Staff were helpful and friendly but that was not enough to stay more than a hour at here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanosB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review. Every feedback is really important for us.
Otherwise thank you for sharing us what we need to improve in.
We are working on hard to equip the hotel with air condition for the next season.
Than we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel with comfortable conditions.

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
48
22
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Annabella with my family for 3 nights. Very good location, lots of bars and restaurants around. Rooms are clean but there is no air-conditioning. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There was a buffet dinner and breakfast included in our rooms price. The food was very good but not to much vegetarian options. There is no WiFi in the room just in the lobby. I didn't like the furniture its very old. On my opinion the hotel needs some good renovation or modernization. All in all it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the car park can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianang2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travellers and with us.
We are continually improving the services provided in the hotel and will take on board your comments for our future plans and developement projects.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel on a future occassion.

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Annabella for a couple of nights. It’s a large complex in an excellent location – an easy walk to the bars and restaurants. The staff were welcoming and efficient. The rooms were clean and included a small balcony but there is no air-conditioning. Fortunately the weather was quite cool during our stay but I’d hate to be there when it warms up. The inclusive buffet breakfast was good value. Would I stay here again? Even though it was good value, if I happened to be in the area – no. I’d prefer to stay in something smaller and with air-con.

Room Tip: Given the lack of air-con, request a room with the least sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, every feedback is really important for us.
I would like to inform you that we are continuosly improve the services and the hotel, and we hope we can welcome you again as a guest of our hotel in an air conditioned rooms.

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The only good thing about the hotel is the great location. It is just in the middle of the promenade and has an own beach app 50 ms from the hotel. The beach is nice, well-kept and exclusive to the hotel guests.
The rooms are small, no air conditioning so in the summer the rooms can get very hot. There is a nice balcony. You cannot open the windows, only the balcony door so you cannot even air the room.
I stayed here 2 times, once on the eastern, parking side and once on the western, hotel yard side. The eastern side was much cooler.
If you come for a short stay it is ok but would not like to spend a week here...
Breakfast buffet is ok, big variety of food.

Room Tip: rooms on parking side are not so hot in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at our hotel.
We would like to kindly inform you that we are working on hard to solve the lake of air condition for the next season and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, on third time in Hotel Annabella!

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This place was the best hotel around 20 years ago, but unfortunately they did not change anything since then. The building is very old and the rooms are very outdated as well. The biggest issue was the lack of AC in the rooms. It was over 80F and they rented out fans for 500HUF per day, which not only seemed ridiculous but also completely useless too.
Another problem was that we could not book a room but only with breakfast and dinner served. Now that did not turn out too bad, but the dinner was not the best and the restaurant of the hotel was filled with flies.
The positive thing about this place is the amazing location they have. It is right at the beach and they provide pass for their private beach. At night the nightlife of Balatonfured is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.
After all I had a great time in this city but I could have spent a third of the price somewhere nicer than Hotel Annabella.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay and sharing us what we need to improve in. We agree with you the hotel was built in 1968, was one of the best place in the town and now Balatonfüred can not be imaginable without Hotel Annabella, the biggest hotel here.
We try to ensure the highest standard of comfort and we apologise if this did not meet with your expectations.
We are able to continuosly improve and extend our services and comfort, and better meet your requirements in the future.

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balatonfured hotels

Benesov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

comfortable hotel and well equipped hotel. we spent there 3 days in a meeting. the conference room was air conditioned which was nice. the coffee breaks should be better(more water less coffee and tea) breakfasts fantastic.. really lots of different types of food.
hotels seems to be built in previous era, but rooms are clean and nice , interent is in the hall and in meeting rooms. so good enough for relax :)

if you do not "walk" in Balaton lake you can swim in hotel swimming pool.

so good value for money .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and with the other travellers!
We are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Annabella and you were satisfied with our services!
We hope, you had a safe journey back home and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel on a future occassion!

Best regards,

Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

If you are interested in relatively recent European history this hotel is a must. You get a taste of vacation life behind the Iron Curtain 30 - 40 years ago (and mind you for the lucky ones with connections and party cards etc. )When we arrived it turned out that the rooms had no air conditioning. We then had to rent a fan(!) from the hotel, but it did not help much. We spent a truly awful first night. Fortunately the weather then turned colder.
The hotel was very popular among German tourists. Busloads of Germans came every day and occupied the pool, the pool chairs and restaurant. The brekfast was tailored to the needs of this clientele with loads of heavy neutral tasting food.
On the more bright side: A good private beach. A bicycle rental shop near by. Bicycling
round the Balaton Sea is a great experience! The reception people was very seviceminded and smiling with good command of English. And best of all: This hotel i a real conversation piece. You will be the life of the party!

Room Tip: Wait till air conditioning is installed or winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorsalfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balaton1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Annabella, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the hotel.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every services were up to your expectations. We are a three star hotel and befor the journey all important information - like in simple rooms there is no air condition, only in the suites - can be find on our official website. We are pleased that the Lake Balaton means a memorable experience for you and you were satisfied with the reception staff.
We hope that we can welcome you back as our guest to the Hotel Annabella.

Best regards,
Orsolya Mayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balatonfured hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 19 in Balatonfured
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 19 in Balatonfured
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
0.2 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#5 of 19 in Balatonfured
21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Margareta
Hotel Margareta
#15 of 19 in Balatonfured
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annabella

Property: Hotel Annabella
Address: Deak Ferenc utca 25, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Annabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it’s a pleasant getaway in Balatonfüred you’re after, you couldn’t do better than Hotel Annabella, whose building is a landmark as cherished as the town’s marina or promenade! Our centrally located hotel – which opens seasonally at the end of the Tagore promenade – has its own private beach reserved exclusively for our guests, enabling you to relax undisturbed on the shore of Lake Balaton. No more worrying about finding an unoccupied sun lounger or losing your shady spot while you pop off for a cocktail! There are swimming pools, outdoor fitness machines and a variety of other opportunities to enjoy some sport and recreation. Furthermore, guests who arrive with children can soak up the sun at their leisure while the trained entertainers of the Danubius Bubbles Club keep the little ones occupied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Annabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabella Hotel Balatonfured
Hotel Annabella Balatonfured, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing