We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
367
141
28
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
141
28
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medium room homemade granola large room tiger restaurant industrial design trendy hotel great location rooftop restaurant welcome drink chose hotel attached restaurant sliding door lovely boutique highly recommend hotel frosted glass kalvin ter handy location
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This small boutique hotel is designer-gorgeous, really comfortable and super clean. We reserved an extra large room, which feels like you have your own chic little apartment--worth the upgrade. The hotel is ideally located--close to a bridge to walk from Pest into Buda and yet on a quiet side-street that feels "local." And the little extra touches of hospitality like the bowls of shrimp chips and fresh fruit in the communal entry alcove created a welcoming atmosphere. The not so-good: at check-in, I was told that my large room reservation for 6 nights was supposedly for only one person and that there would be an additional charge of approx. $100 for my husband given the inclusion of breakfast (even if we didn't want any breakfast). Why this didn't come up before we were standing at the desk I don't know but it was 9 PM so we went ahead and paid (with no other choice) to get our keys. Then, the day prior to checkout, we asked if we could keep the room until noon (as opposed to the normal time of 10 AM) since our flight out wasn't till late. The person at the front desk said they could do that but that it would cost 10 euros per hour--meaning 20 Euros extra. We've traveled extensively and I can honestly say that I've NEVER heard of a charge of this kind (especially after a long stay in which we previewed them that we wouldn't be getting TO the hotel until late evening). On principle, we said no thank you and got ourselves up and out by 10:00 AM. My question to the hotel: why have all of the wonderful accommodations and other accoutrements of hospitality (the fruit, shrimp chips, a free drink card and a hotel restaurant discount card we actually never used but appreciated nonetheless) but leave your guests with a sour taste by enacting this sort of non-standard check-out policy? If the room were not available that would be one thing. But charging by the hour after being with you for a week? Net: I would have TOTALLY given five stars to this hotel if it weren't for the icy bordering on rude staff behind the desk (we solved this by basically avoiding dealing with them) and a couple of funky check-in/check-out issues.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Naomi503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRumBudapest, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Rum Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Naomi503,


Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback with us on Tripadvisor.com!
We are very pleased that you found our neighbourhood and location a perfect starting point to explore our beautiful capital! Special thanks for mentioning our provided facilities such as the fruit and snacks offered in the lobby or the cleanliness of the hotel areas.
We would like to apologize for the misunderstanding caused at check-in with the extra person fee. Unfortunately, we are only able to find out the number of guests upon arrival.
Regarding the late check-out request, we would like to ask to excuse us causing any inconvenience with it.
Due to our hotel policy the official check-out time is at 10 AM. In order to proceed with the arrival rooms and for the quicker job done of the Housekeeping department an extra charge of 10 Euro per hour is added to the room charge. To help with the early departure we are more than happy to store our guests luggage as long as they wish.

Once again, we truly sorry for the disturbance made by the check-in and our procedures, however, we are very thankful that you honoured our policies.
We hope that overall you had a good time while staying at our hotel and we can welcome you back in the near future as a valued guest of ours.

With warm regards from Hungary,
The Rum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Rum Hotel. The location was very convenient and our room was quite comfortable. The decor was modern (just as pictured) and the staff was very helpful during our stay. The complimentary breakfast each morning offered a great variety including eggs (scrambled, hard boiled, and coddled), bacon, meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, and more.

The only slight negatives of note are as follows:
1) Our room was comfortable and clean but housekeeping could provide a bit more attention to detail -- we noted cobwebs in corners, burned out bulbs, etc.
2) The lighting throughout the room is relatively dim -- I generally prefer some good lighting for make-up application

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRumBudapest, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Rum Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear inWashingtonDC,

We cannot thank you enough for rating your stay with us so highly!
We are more than happy, that you were so satisfied during your whole stay, and appreciated our services - like our tasty breakfast, friendly staff and wonderful neighbourhood - so much!
We are really sorry about the negative drawbacks that you have experienced at our hotel such as the lack of daily cleanliness or the lighting possibilities in your room.
We will forward these points to the board of management in order to improve and pay more attention to the mentioned details.
We hope that overall you had a great stay with us and we can accommodate you again while visiting next time Budapest.

With kind regards from Hungary,
The Rum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Visited Hotel Rum with my girlfriend as a last minute trip away. The hotel was better than I would of imagined. The staff were very helpful. The room itself was outstanding. Very impressive to say the least and the breakfast was very nice.

Fair to say this is the best hotel me and my girlfriend have stopped at.

Thank you!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRumBudapest, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Rum Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Luke_Ryan,

Thank you very much for publishing your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.com!
We are very pleased to find out from your kind words how satisfied you were with our facilities and how much you liked our staff services, the tasty breakfast and your stylish and comfy room.
We will make sure to pass your kind praises to our staff and management!
We truly hope, we will have the chance to accommodate you during your next trip to Budapest!

With warm regards from Hungary,
The Rum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Nice place, quiet comfortable, well located but...I would not repeat because:
I payed 10 extra euro for leaving the hotel 1 hour later (at 11.00 am hours!)
Breakfast is simple and restaurant have poor options.
A lamp doesn't work and there was no maintenance service, the second day I fixed by myself (it was no broken, just the staff didn't´t know how it works).
Just a pity, because potentially it is very nice place, but also details are important.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _marcoara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRumBudapest, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Rum Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear _marcoara01,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your valued opinion on Tripadvisor!
We would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the maintenance conditions and the lack of breakfast and restaurant options.
We are very sorry, that you were not fully satisfied with our payment and check-out policies, but we are very greatful that you accepted and respected them.
However, we will forward your honest feedback to our management to discuss the mentioned matters and improve all those areas.
We truly hope that despite these drawbacks you have enjoyed your whole stay with us and we will have the chance to welcome you as our kind guest again!

With kind regards from Hungary,
The Rum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The real disappointment was that my companion and I (a friend, but not an intimate friend) had to share a bed. It was a queen-sized bed, but still....The tour organisers had asked for twin beds (or so they said) but the hotel had only a limited number of those. Why don't hotels have plenty of single beds so that they can push them together and use one set of linen, or use them separately, made up as singles? That said, Hotel Rum is conveniently situated in Pest, close to tour bus stops and a manageable walk downtown to the Danube, with the shopping precinct not too far off. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good, as was the salmon dinner we enjoyed on one occasion. Best feature was the seating at tables outside in the boulevard, where one could dine in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnekloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRumBudapest, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Rum Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear lynnekloot,

Thank you very much for sharing your very kind and thorough feedback with us and our future guests!
We are very pleased, that you were so satisfied with our location in our very quiet and easy-to-reach neighbourhood, helpful staff and tasty and varied breakfast.
We are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused by the bed arrangements.
We will pass your honest comments to our board of management in order to improve our facilities and services.
We hope that overall you had a great time while staying with us and we can see you back soon as our valued guest.

With warm regards from Hungary,
The Rum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews