We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Bistro Deryne

Bistro Deryne
Ranked #166 of 3,120 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: French, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District I / Buda
Description: Buda's oldest and largest landmark Bistro dating back to 1914, serving warm meals and light appetisers from early in the morning till late at night. Live jazz concerts, wine cellar, open fire place in several dining rooms. Large local bar scene. Kitchen open past midnight most nights. The on-site bakery serves the restaurant and a small artisan bread shop next door. More casual wine bar 'spicc' operated by Deryne just down the street.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We really like this bistro. We were here a several times, usually for brunch or lunch and we always feel very good.
The food is excellent, the place is just wonderful. The only problem is sometimes with the service being too slow.
So if you are in hurry I would not recommend this place, but if you have time, for example on a Sunday/Saturday morning, noon it will be the perfect place, athough it is not cheap...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prutyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    280
    95
    69
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have chosen this charming little place for breakfast, it is mere stand with girl making coffee on request, but the have stools outside and best pastries in the Budapest:) Enjoy yourself

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miniDinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you are in Budapest and look for an elegant,cozy, unique character caffehouse with a french bakery, live music and lively terrace, make sure you dine here.
Couples, Business, Friends - it works for each occasion. Service, Atmosphere, Convenience....all top marks. Look at the menu, the food speaks for itself..
Last time, when they heard that I was waiting for my favorite freshly baked buckwheat bread, the bartender created a little surprise as a gift for me which was a very nice touch. :)
I cannot recommend this restaurant enough!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelleSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“top”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Thanks for having us!
It was a great friendly dinner. The service was excellent as usual, the bistro garden and the live music is unbelievable, and that church was just built on the right place :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klarissza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budpaest
1 review
“Relaxed”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Title: relaxed.

When it comes to weeknight dining, there is no question that this venue is the only local favorite in the old buda area. Places pop up by the dozen but Déryné has been around for years and years, family-managed without a change of ownership and is, has been our spot to hang out with a simple bistro dish and a glass of wine any weekday night. This place has nothing to do with the tourist traps of the 5th, 6th and 7th districts where you are put instantly on a conveyor belt to get you in, fed and out as soon as possible. Be prepared to have some time, bring your patience, good moods and humor as service is slower, more relaxed and most waiters have a personality to share. Given that this a quite buda neighborhood, you will likely rub shoulders with the priest of the church next door, the prime minister, American celebrities or some simple locals like myself, enjoying the usual cakes and desserts at Déryné. No tourists whatsoever. So relax and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Deryne also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bistro Deryne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing