We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in BU”
Review of Hid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hid Hotel
Ranked #236 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 9 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank IvanBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Great personal very helpful,good food ,very big room and very clean value for the money, I was pleasently surprise this hotel is wonderful the only minus is the location but the metropolitan is at 10 minutes from the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

No real complaints about this hotel.Except that the only English language TV channel is the lousy BBC world programme.But there was live Premier league football - of course with Hungarian commentary.But unless you can understand Hungarian you won't know when to tune in or which channel.So just keep flicking through the channels.I was at the Hid for a couple of weeks over Christmas and New Year but there were no celebrations.Not even on New Years Eve.Maybe that's the Hungarian way.My room was good with hot water all day and the shower worked well.And it was spotlessly clean.As far as I could tell nobody rummaged into my belongins and one day I left about £10 worth of Forints in my room on the bed and it was still there when I returned.The buffet breakfast could have been better.The Orange juice had obviously been watered down but some of the bread was really good.For any other meals you have to go on a walkabout until you can find a suitable eating place and there are not too many in the area around the hotel but nearer the city centre there are plenty at reasonable prices.The city of Budapest has some beautiful buildings and some of the streets are impressively wide and must look nice in summer when the trees are in leaf.The Danube river is known in Hungary as the Duna.In Germany- where it originates its the Donau.I don't think any of the countries through or past which it flows call it the Danube.Only the British do ( I think)

Room Tip: You are allocated a room.If you don't like it ask for a change.The top floor is farther from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuchinga455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights. the hotel is ok. the room i had was big and clean. only TV did not work. there was no remote control in the room, so i asked at the reception. they gave me one, but unfortunately the tv still did not work (problem with the connection, digital tv). the breakfast was not good. a big plus here is the price and the location close to metro station (stadium)...you are in the city centre in max. 15 minutes!

Room Tip: ask for a room not so close to the stairs and elevator...in the night, when people are going to thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lap N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had booked a double room. It was quite big and clean. Shower was clean and there wasn't any smell at all.

Pros:
1) good price/quality ratio
2) hotel location
3) friendly staff
4) TV set, but very small for the room (~20'')

Cons:
1) Room service likes to move beds and to rummage in things

In general, the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We decided to go on a trip suddenly, just before new year's eve so we didn't have choice - that one was the only one with OK price but it's far from everywhere - far from shops, far from city center. Of course you can get everywhere with subway buying a 24h/72h ticket for groups (up to 5 people on one ticket) but it's just a waste of time. Breakfast is included but in my opinion the food is bad so it's just a waste in my opinion, not to mention quality of drinks - too strong and tiny coffee, awful juice, frying old bread... if you're hungry and don't have any expectations of food it's good but if you're a picky person you won't be happy.
Rooms are bad - I'm not a picky person, especially that whole day we spent outside, but there's no chance I won't see that bedsheet is broken, room is tiny and have humidity smell cause bathroom doesn't even have a tiny fan inside. Heater was cold, only one big pipe in the room was heating it.
Only good thing was a surprise about wifi - booking.com said it's paid but downstairs you could get a password. Unfortunetaly our room (108) had some problems and we were losing signal all the time.
If you have a choice just pick somewhere else, if you don't... try not to spend too much time there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had booked a triple room. It was very small. Bathroom was small, drain was smelly, shower curtain was very dirty. Not my idea of comfort, cleanliness and an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was stale. Staff at reception were friendly and spoke English. No english channels on TV.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Merlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#247 of 336 in Budapest
200 reviews
Gellért Hill
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
Kis Gellert Guesthouse
#190 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#111 of 336 in Budapest
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zugló
Passzio Pension
Passzio Pension
#207 of 336 in Budapest
12 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#198 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hid Hotel

Address: Szobranc Strasse 10-12, Budapest 1143, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Zugló
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £27 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing