We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Situation, Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budapest City Central
Ranked #109 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Situation, Great Place”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We've been there for 4 nights and the place was just GREEATTT !!

This place is a really good mix between an Hostel and a Hotel. We found all the avantages on both side. Great Room , and great greating.

We had a large and confortable room. The guys there were just great as weel and very cheerful and helpfull to visit Budapest.

BONUS : You will find a Hungarian bottle of wine in your room as a gift !! :) and Free WIFI Access

Just two short negative points :

The city is very noisy , and our room was with a street view, and despite the double glazing , we can heard the police sirens. So don't forget your earplugs and everything will we fine for you in this great Hotel !

The breakfast is in a cafe down the stairs with a selection of sandwiches. But as we do, buy some bread and jam and do your breakfast in the room and use the sandwiches as a lunch box in order to do a non stop day in Budapest :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    201
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
210
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very friendly staff, room in very good condition, good location (near senagogue and museams, close to city center)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

very good location, great restaurant in front. good staff. amazing price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The Karoly Central hotel is very well located in Budapest. It is within walking distance to the State Opera House, St. Stephen's Basilica and very close to the Budapest Great Synagogue. The only disadvantage is that it could be difficult to find. It is cater-corner from the Astoria Hotel, but it is located within a building complex. However, the rooms are extremely clean and the staff is incredibly friendly. The people working at the reception desk are fluent in English and are always willing to give advice on great restaurants, cafes and places to visit. I was very satisfied with my stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2010

travelled with my two adult daughters, our annual adventure! Not our first city of choice, but we had left it later than usual. Read reviews and we love quirky places to stay, it fulfilled all our expectations! Spotlessley clean, the most fabulous helpful staff cental location - everything you could want, really good value for money. Hope the hotel and staff have the success they deserve

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Great location for visiting Buda and Pest. Very reasonably priced and lovely to come home to after a days sight seeing. The staff were very helpful and their English was superb.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen19_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I brought a group of 6 people for 3 days. This location was perfect from which to tour Budapest. The subway was just a 2 minute walk away. All rooms were were very clean and office personnel were friendly and spoke English. The breakfast sandwiches at the nearby restaurant were tasty. As I live in western Hungary, I will definitely bring our next group from the U.S. to stay at the Budapest Karoly Central.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyorhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#90 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#107 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
District V / Inner City
KAROLY Apartment
KAROLY Apartment
#152 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#26 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Property: Budapest City Central
Address: Karoly koerut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#66 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#79 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing