We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels in europe”
Review of Home Made Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Made Hostel
Ranked #101 of 670 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

So cosy, nice with great staff.Beautiful old architecture where you feel very safe. I loved everything about this hostel. Location, the environment, the Tuesdays dinner offerd by the hostel. Amazing!!!

Room Tip: .Well, I were in the triple bedroom. It is a huge room with a big window to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

So nice and cozy, its fun freezing outside knowing you have this place to come back to.
The rooms are spacious, the showers hot and clean, great kitchen, bed super comfy and location good. and make sure they send you to the Escape room game.

Room Tip: make sure you know the on-line prices because when we walked in the receptionist tried to charge us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oatmeal7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Obviously this is personal opinion but we loved it. As we are a couple and booked 2 beds in the 8 bed dorm, we ended up in the top tree house section with our mattresses together in it's own little nook... It was perfect. The beds were comfy, the room was dark, bathrooms clean, fully equipped kitchen, helpful friendly staff, great location. The common area is small and is usually full with the staffs friends, but really isn't an issue. They also have salamanders!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NixxxyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was traveling with my partner to Budapest for New Years and stayed 5 days. I have stayed in a lot of hostels all over the world and another hostel in Budapest.

My immediate impression of this hostel was common area was very small and not designed to meet people. As such we stayed in the dorm the most of the time, this is what a lot of guests were doing. The dorms were ok, probably below average on my experience (I might just be lucky). They were loud outside, they have built a kind of tree house that is very squeaky at night!

The lady was helpful in pointing out where to go and what to do on the first day.

On the first night the lady who worked their organised a bar crawl which we thought would be a great way to meet people. However she did not turn up so we went alone, map in hand. It was a very good night, no thanks to the Hostel.

We were never exactly sure who worked there, every day someone new was working, cleaning, etc, we felt our luggage was safe there but the Hostel lacked the personality of having a familiar face.

The location is great, it seemed to be in the middle of everything.

The hostel is very clean.

If you are looking for a hotel with a bit of character which is not a party hostel, this is your hostel. It is not designed to meet over people but if you get over that, you will have a great time.

For me, this hostel was average at best as I know there are so many better hostels out there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hostel is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Great location and you can enter and exit all day long. It is really really clean also which is very important to me The staff are really nice and friendly and give you some great advice about places to go and walking tours in Budapest. Would definitely go back to stay here if I return to Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJamie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was travelling alone to Budapest and was a bit nervous to come to such a big city as a solo female during one of the colder, darker months. I was constantly charmed by the employees and fellow travellers here; not only was it a comfortable, fun space, it was CLEAN and safe! I stayed in a 8-bed room and had no problems sleeping even in the middle of the day. Everyone was quiet and respectful. The kitchen was well-stocked and there was even a free-bin in the fridge for left-overs. Bathrooms always clean. Staff always willing to help guide you to your next location, and to just have a conversation. Also the location is unbeatable - I felt like I knew my way around by the first night. Really wonderful place! Thanks!

Room Tip: 8-Room is right next to common area, but beds are clustered away into individual areas. 4-Room is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roooomebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from 5 nights at the home made hostel and the staff and other guests really did make it feel like home. Met so many great people here and if I go back to Budapest I will have no hesitation to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
Adagio Hostel 1.0 Oktogon
#35 of 670 in Budapest
199 reviews
The Groove
#70 of 670 in Budapest
136 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#30 of 670 in Budapest
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baroque Hostel
Baroque Hostel
#194 of 670 in Budapest
87 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#31 of 670 in Budapest
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Made Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Made Hostel

Address: Terez koerut 22 | 6th district, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 670 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £7 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Made Hostel. If you are a traveller looking for a friendly, well-located, home-from-home place, you’ve found your hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Home Made Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing