We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No room for not understanding..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
Ranked #45 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
1 review
“No room for not understanding..”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I read a review of Dave G and a review of a review, which left so called management of this hotel and I need to add something, so people who maybe read that don't have wrong impression about this hostel.
I put rates for all optional information that Tripadvisor offers, and they are not so bad.. What is really bad is the overall rating of this place. The taste in our mouth after leaving this place and Budapest at all..

First, me and Dave G are the one of "footballers from Serbia" which stayed in hostel in mentioned period. Well, first of all, we are not footballers.. We participate to Regional meeting of Arsenal supporters club, which held in Budapest and which organized Supporters club from Hungary. Yes, we got robbed after the football tournament which is organized as side happening of this gathering, and in that robbery (which is btw, reported to Budapest's police - who said, that we should say good bye to our belongings) we lost around 2500 euros.
After this happened we came to "lovely" management of hostel with an appeal to let us leave our rooms that same afternoon even we booked it for that (second) night also, since we got robbed and we don't have any more need (or money) to stay in Budapest.. After a while, that same management told us that he WILL let us not pay for one (of three) cheapest room, which was fine by us, even that we asked to not pay for whole night.. But ok, it was fair enough.. And to mention.. Even then, we didn't have enough money to pay the rent of remained accommodation (15% we paid in advance using credit card), but yes, we thought we'll pay it using card again. Since we thought it's legitimate way to pay it.. Yes?
Well, twist of fate, on our check out, no one from that so called management isn't at the reception desk, and some other guy said that their landlord changed his mind and he doesn't have any reason to let us not pay for even that one room that he said that he will.. How nice of him. Since we are not any troublemakers like we are presented there, we told the guy that he can charge our credit card (something he didn't hesitate to do immediately) and we left the facility.. What's wrong with that??? Since he wasn't there, he also can not say that we told that we wont pay, which btw never happened. So, awful, awful lie!

Later, in correspondence with this "lovely" hostel crew I told them that anything that they done wasn't fair and that they lied to us (when they said about discount) and that they deserve to have bad review after all of this. Since we didn't have understanding about our awful situation (4 cell phones and 1 camera missing, 1000 euros missing and car damaged - without of hope to be found ever, thanks to Hungarian cops), we didn't want to have any understanding for them.. And we all know that bad review is much worse that 60 euros that hostel's boss changed his mind to charge..
Well, I left my review on Hostelworld site (which we use to book this hostel), and it was immediately removed, since it's bad for the hostel!? Well what's the point of review than? So BAD REVIEW for Hoslteworld itself - last time I used their site to book something.

I hope that this review will stay here, no matter what people from Corvin say about this (I believe that they wont say anything, cause it all would be just avoiding of truth - I don't wont to use right words for that), so people who are in trouble shouldn't expect to find help or understanding there.

Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corvinpoint, General Manager at Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Bane Z,
First of all I have to tell you that our hostel is operating since 2007 with managers who are working in hospitality business since 1998. Every year we accommodate approximately 4200-4500 guests in total. This number is increasing every year as we expand the hostel and its facilities. In our 7 years of operation so far we haven’t had any guests who left the hostel without payment. Until you came… This extreme way of behavior forced us to use your credit card details and charge your accommodation fees and keycards (Room 12) that you did not give back. Let me explain this situation the way we see it.
1. You made a reservation on a booking website for 3 rooms in our hostel for 2 nights.
2. We provided the 3 rooms clean and ready for the dates you reserved them.
3. At time of check in you should have paid the rest of the reservation fees but you said you would like to pay it later. We agreed on that (because normally our guests pay the reservation fee of the rooms at check out too).
4. On the second night at 18:00 you came to the reception and wanted to check out immediately. We said it’s impossible to cancel your reservation and you have to pay for both nights.
5. All of your group (10 people) started bargaining at the reception that it was not fair, and we should have given you a discount. We did not understand why should we give you a discount. We did all our duties, there were no complaints about our service, and the only reason you wanted to go home immediately was the fact that your car was robbed out somewhere in the city. We were sorry about that, but we believe that wasn’t the fault of our hostel, and things are not working like this. If you book a room you have to pay for it even if you do not need it. That shouldn't be a miracle. This is how it works in every hotel or hostel in the world.
6. When we were talking I wanted to give you a small amount of discount, even when it wasn't our fault that all the things that you left in the car were stolen. That was Saturday around 6pm, so we could have clean one of the rooms and sold to potential guest who did not book. That was a real possibility that could happen. At that time you told that you are checking out immediately. I was waiting for you 1,5 hours but nobody checked out from your group. My shift was already over at 6pm, and I could not wait for you any longer. I told to the night shift receptionist what happened. We thought maybe you are going to stay after all.
7. Finally at 21:00 you came to the night shift receptionist telling that you are going to check out immediately. Again. At that time it was too late to make the room ready and my colleague was not in the position to give you the offered discount. After all this happened you told to our receptionist that you are not paying anything, You gave back the keycards of 2 rooms (not 3) and left the hostel with your group telling that we should charge your credit card if we say so. That is totally unacceptable.
So after all, we DID charge your card with the rest of the accommodation fee and we DID charge the 2 missing printed keycards as well as we didn’t see any reason why we should ignore it after the way of your behavior.
When you made your booking you accepted all of the booking conditions that were clearly stated on the booking website. Basically the same conditions are also stated on our website too both on Terms and Conditions page and on FAQ too.
FinalIy let me tell you something. We still feel sorry about what happened with your car in Budapest, and your group had to go home with bad feelings about this city and our hostel. But I have to say that
1. If you leave 1000 EUR, 4 Cell Phones, and a camera in a parking car, probably it would be stolen everywhere else not only in Budapest.
2. All the hostels in Europe work the same way as we do. It is impossible to cancel reservations like this and other hostels would have followed the same procedure in a case like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Киев, Украина
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hostel is very small (just there are few rooms) but everything is clean, new and very cosy. It's not far from the aiport and at 20 mins to Dunai. So the hostel's place is in a good district. I recommend it to all travelers. But there is no receprion guy at night there. And this is a disadvantage

Room Tip: Order taxi in advance. It's difficult to call to the taxi service at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjestad
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good internet.
Great place to stay while exploring budapest without breaking the bank.
Courtyard has history, can still see bullet holes from 1956 uprising against the USSR.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The guys who run the place are indeed helpful and friendly. The advice given to us in regards to sightseeing was excellent. Do not arrive at night if you are a girl or a bunch of girls, as it is down a little dark alley way which felt very unsafe when we were searching for it at 11.30pm. Once inside the place is quite secure. The facilities are good in terms of the showers, the beds and the wifi. Another plus was the air conditioning, which was essential when we visited as it was 40 degrees celsius +, which was ridiculously warm. However, the place is a little worn. My sheets had little holes in them etc. The washing service was also ridiculously overpriced, and we had a few hiccups with the laundry (things being dyed etc). It was a good hostel though, just not an extraordinary as the reviews suggest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Loved staying at this hostels the room was super big and new and clean just perfect also had very very fast internet with help lots with updating photo and videos you will not be disappointed if you stay here also one of the best welcome we have ever had

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hostel was very clean and new. The staff was so friendly and helpfull. And on top of all, very cheap. Best hostel of my experience. Location was just next to tramstop but the area was quiet and peacefull. I recommend sencierly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

The guys who run the place are amazingly friendly and helpful. We had to stay an extra night and while we had to move rooms there was no problem accommodating us.
The double room we had was simple but very clean and the bathroom was new.
WiFi is strongest we had in a couple of weeks.
The hotel is a cross with a hostel but quiet even when full. The building is old and even has some bullet holes from the 56 uprising for those interested in history. The area was one of the longest to hold out during the uprising.
What makes the place is the value and the welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sionec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#124 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#103 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#44 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#53 of 641 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments

Property: Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments
Address: Nap utca 4., Budapest 1082, Hungary (Formerly Corvin Point Hostel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality rooms and apartments in the center of Budapest. Good location, nice atmosphere, clean bathrooms. We offer freshly renovated new rooms and apartments in an authentical Hungarian apartment house. LCD TV and free WIFI in all rooms, fully equipped large kitchen with fresh coffee and tea. Free maps of the city are always available in the 24/7 reception. Flexible check-in and check-out is also possible on request. Groups up to 30 people are welcome! Private parking available 200m from the hotel! Besides the different types of accommodation, we can offer a massive variety of interesting services such as: free walking tours in the city, boating on the river Danube, sightseeing tours both in Budapest and the countryside, wine tasting, caving in the hills of Buda, and bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Corvin Point Rooms and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing