We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Promenade City Hotel
Ranked #77 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but disappointing room”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is conveniently located, within walking distance from main sites in a lively area filled with shops, cafes and restaurants. The bedroom was very clean but much smaller than expected, extremely dark and the beds were too hard. On the plus side, the receptionnist was helpful and breakfast was very good, with plenty of options. If you choose to stay there make sure you get a decent-size room with a street view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exitmusicforafilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Exitmusicforafilm,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for your review! We strongly regret, that you were not totally staisfied with your room size. On the other hand, we are all glad, that you have found our location and the selection of breakfast excellent!
We do hope, that you will return to our hotel, when we can provide you the service, which will be beyond your expectations!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    418
    106
    32
    11
See reviews for
144
387
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very well located hotel, seems that has been recently refurbished. The room is correct, small but with enough space, with a clean and with good bed. Not many toiletteries in the bathroom (bring your own gel) and has a very good breakfast. 24 hour desk service although not much helpful in getting directions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Miguel L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of your visit to Budapest.
We appreciate your honest feedback and it will be shared with our entire team.
We hope to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel can't be more centrally located!
It is on Vaci street within walking diastance from anything!
Metro station (Blue line #3) is less than 3 minutes away, Danube is also about 3 minutes walking.
Everything is or seems easily accessible, since there is a great public transport system, if you don't feel like walking, that can take you anywhere in the city, literally in a few minutes.
So, the rooms are great and clean, not very big but adequately spacious.
The breakfast hall is small, not many people can eat in the same time, but this was not a problem for us, since we preferred to fill our plate from the buffet and have breakfast in the room.
The variety is rather limited, but then again there is all that is needed to have a proper breakfast, plus a great coffee maker that makes fabulous cafe au lait!
People in front desk will help you out and provide any the information needed.
A totally non smoking hotel, just bear in mind that not only smoking is not allowed in any place in the hotel, but it is also forbidden to smoke 5 meters from the hotel entrance!
Now that is a truly clean and smell free hotel!
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Vicky V,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely pleased by your feedback about our room facilities, personal service and the great location.
We appreciate your detailed comment and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again for another visit.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My friend and I went for a last minute Christmas weekend break in Budapest and booked this hotel. We did not realise how central it was (about 200 metres from the main Christmas market and on a big shopping street) and was were very pleased. There was fantastic walking access for the main sights or the metro station to take you out to the area around Heroe's square. The receptionist that checked us in was exceptionally helpful and the rooms were modern and clean. There was no street noise (which surprised us given the location) and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also nice with good shower pressure (perhaps a bit too good given that there was no shower curtain so you had to mop up the floor with a towel after every shower!) We had to ask for a kettle - which was provided but with no milk or mugs so you might want to take your own if you like a drink at night. Breakfast was simple but good with the same options offered each day (as you would expect for the price). Would definately recommend as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manchestergirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Manchestergirl81,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your lovely comment of your stay at our hotel.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our services. Your kind words will be shared with our entire team.
We truly value your recommendation and will look forward to welcoming you back should your travel bring you back to Budapest either on business or pleasure.

All the best from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Thumbs up! Couldn't be better for Vorosmarty Christmas fair visiting and shopping :) Rooms are spacious enough. Frontdesk managers are really helpful, we asked to print out our tickets and got it in 2 mins. Beautiful Danube is just 200m walk, famous Gerbaud confectionery - 3 mins.
I would also recommend to visit legendary ANNA cafe on Vaci street near the hotel - perfect deserts and coffee, relaxing atmosphere and a great view.
Breakfast is good enough - try pastries!

Room Tip: Room 405 was near the elevator, a little bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Shkapova,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to post this wonderful review of your stay.
Great to learn you enjoyed our perfect location close to the Christmas market and to the most popular sights of Budapest. Your kind words regarding to our services is highly appreciated and will be shared with our entire team.
Thank you again for visiting and I do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here in a large group in room 307, a rather cosy double room, with crisp linen, mini bar and large bath and over bath shower. The room was nothing special and the lack of any sort of view was quite depressing however it was perfectly adequate as a base to sleep.
Points to note - no shower curtain or screen whatsoever so floor gets saturated! Hotel reception refuse to give you more than one key card - annoying! And there is often a lack of loo roll so best to ask for extra whenever you're at reception. Rooms have no tea and coffee facilities.
The hotel is situated in the shopping area of Pest and just off the Danube - highly recommended location, perfect for shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. Shopping Street where you can find Furla, Massimo Dutti, Bennetton etc is only a 5 minute walk away.
I'd booked an airport shuttle transfer directly from the hotel website - I never received email confirmation and the transfer didn't go to plan so my advice would be to book your own transport there.
Returning to the airport we bought a shuttle ticket from the reception for 2500 forint, approx 8 pounds each, and this went smoothly.
I didn't do much sightseeing but would recommend the river cruise, the pier point is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Kiosk bar - the 'local' was exceptional - a large riverside industrial funky bar which served great food and wine - read my separate review!
And Murci - amazing for food esp. pasta also highly recommended.
No trip to Budapest would be complete without a visit to Gerbeaud, an ancient coffee shop but super expensive, again a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I'd recommend the hotel to people on a budget break, certainly not for a splurge or romance, perfectly clean though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeystar861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Monkeystar861,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback of your most recent visit with us.
It gives me a great pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our hotel, especially it's central location.
Thank you for your honest feedback pertaining to the bathroom amenities, and the key card. I am very sorry for the inconveniences caused by the airport transfer. Our service team try to do their best and we do hope that we will have the chance to serving you again and show our excellent service.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We came in as a couple with an infant. Before arriving we requested a room with a bath and a baby cot, which were provided as requested. The location is very good, within a walking distance of the most popular sites in Budapest and right on the Vaci street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Ohad S,

Thank you very much for choosing the Promenade City Hotel for your recent stay in Budapest.
Your kind words are highly appreciated. It was our pleasure to serve you.

We can not wait to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,456 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
750 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#41 of 334 in Budapest
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Property: Promenade City Hotel
Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing