We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Promenade City Hotel
Ranked #75 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were a party of seven who visited the Promenade Hotel for four nights recently and we all had a super stay and thank the staff for their help and kindness. The hotel is extremely well situated, the rooms very clean and comfortable with a varied breakfast - breads and pastries, cereal, cold meats, cheeses, boiled and scrambled egg, something for everyone!! Also toast can be requested (rather than struggle with a public toaster!!) which is an added bonus for we English!! Value for money I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Helen L,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and posting this positive feedback.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the central location, cleanliness and the kindness of our staff.
It makes us happy that we could contribute to have great memories of your stay.

We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

On the negative side there is no bar or lounge, the breakfast room is very small so if the hotel is full you have to be lucky to get a place straight away. You have to ask if you want toast as there is no public toaster. The only hot food is scrambled egknowledgeableh was very nice) and strong flavoured frankfurter sausages. Rooms - if you want natural light then ask for an external facing room not one of the iternal ones as these windows only open into a small central area within the hotel. There is no tea making facilities although there is a coffee expresso maker which you have to pay for what you use. There are no curtains or screens in the showers so all the water goes all over the bathroom floor. (If they want to change all the towells every day that I used to mop up thats up to them).
On the positive side, you cant get any more central than this hotel so its idealy placed for visiting all the tourist attractions and its in a pedestrian zone so no traffic noise. The hotel and rooms were very very clean. All the staff were very polite, knowledgeable and extremely helpfull. If you need to know anything just ask them. They told us the best places to eat and the best trips to go on etc.
Would I stay here again - YES

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear George N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate the praise regarding the perfect location and helpful service. It was our pleasure to host you.
Your detailed comment will be shared with our executives. It will helps us to improve our services.
We will look forward to welcoming you back should your travel bring you back to Budapest either on business or pleasure.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There's not much to recommend the Promenade excpet that it's right in the middle of the activity in Pest, but maybe that's enough. A little money-grubbing, in that everything (even a window and a bathtub) is "extra." Good wifi, nice staff, good breakfast, no lounge or bar or socializing areas.

Room Tip: Make sure they ask for windows, etc, otherwise they'll get a room on an inner, blank atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear David H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment of your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you have not met your expectations in our hotel. Your feedback is really important for us and will be forwarded to the executives.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel from 8th June. We had a fantastic stay and found all the staff very helpful and informative. Our room was lovely and big. We understand that some of the rooms are small, but for a small amount of money you can upgrade to a large room with complimentary water, tea/coffee making facilities and a street view. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had a nice breakfast every morning, which set us up for the the day. The locations was fantastic with just a short walk to the River Danube. Everything you need is close by. We will certainly be returning to Budapet, because it is such a beautiful city with lovely people and we will definitely be booking this hotel again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We would recommend that you email or telephone the hotel if you wish to book a bigger room with a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glossyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Glossyleeds,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of your recent 4 days holiday at our hotel. We appreciate your lovely feedback and agree that our central location make us the perfect place to discover all of sights of Budapest. Delighted to hear that we could contribute to have great memories of your stay here. Your comment will be shared with our entire team.
Thank you again for staying with us and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again for another visit.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very good hotel with excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Just one thing to consider - if you want to open the window for fresh air, book room towards the street. You need explicitly note it at reservation time. Just 100m from Danube. To every interesting place you may walk - 10 - 20 min or get taxi (you will pay round $10 ).

Room Tip: Book rooms towards the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Alexey S,

Thanks so much for staying with us and posting this very favorable 5 star review of your recent stay here. Our team greatly appreciates your positive comments regarding the location and personal service.
We all hope you will honor us with another visit anytime you may be in the Budapest.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed four nights at this nice and modern hotel. It is resently renovated with good taste. Rooms are cozy and clean. I also liked the contemporary decoration. Breakfast at upstairs restaurant was quite good with everything I needed (sandwiches, cereals, yoghurt, tea, veges, etc.).
If you are not in to luxury, but decent and safe place to stay on your visit the Promenade is your choice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Rumpari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Rumpari,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us.
We appreciate your lovely feedback regarding our excellent location. It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times. I always book rooms towards the street in order be able to open Windows for fresh air - the other rooms have only windows facing the inside of the hotel. Central location on a walking street, in the middle of the street shopping in Budapest. Close to Donau. Good sized rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borbala_Soos, Guest Relations Manager at Promenade City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Anders O,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking time to post your lovely feedback of your stay with us.
We greatly appreciate your gracious comments. Delighted to read that you were satisfied with our services and location.
We do hope that we can welcome you back in the not far future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 334 in Budapest
1,522 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#46 of 334 in Budapest
755 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
1,183 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade City Hotel

Address: Vaci utca 22, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £50 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new Promenade City Hotel is situated right in the city centre of Budapest, on the pedestrianized Váci Street next to the Danube river. Fancy shops and boutiques, luxurious restaurants and elegant bars can be found only a few steps from the Promenade City Hotel, offering plenty of opportunities for entertainment all day and all night long. Choose from wonderfully elegant and fully equipped rooms and start every new day at the rich complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Promenade City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing