We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best one i eat in !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onyx Restaurant

Onyx Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$80 - US$130
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Please note that for lunch we serve our 4-courses- and 6-courses menus. Please note that for dinner we serve our 6-courses- and 8-courses menus. Please be so kind to order the same menu for the entire table. Onyx restaurant is a non-smoking restaurant. We confirm your table reservation within 72 hours. We accept only confirmed reservation. Reservations are taken 90 days to the calendar date. Please note that for Friday and Saturday evenings we require a credit card guarantee to secure your reservation. Opening hours: Thursday - Saturday 12 noon - last arrival 1 00 pm. Tuesday - Saturday 6 30 pm. - last arrival 8 30 pm. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best one i eat in !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

my wife and I went to the Onyx restorant in Budapest, it was the best dinner we ever had.
We took the tasting menus and it was excellent .
I recommend it with all my hart !
Be shoore to make a reservation .
Injoy .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    212
    69
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent Hungarian culinary experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

From start to finish my girlfriend and I were treated with the utmost respect. Service was impeccable and all staff were very attentive and knowledgeable. It's easy to understand why it has a Michelin Star, it is a superstar in an otherwise bland culinary city (sorry Budapest, you're a fantastic city otherwise!). Traditional Hungarian food blended with modern French cuisine and all the recommended wines were delicious and complimentary to the food served with them. Atmosphere was to be expected of a restaurant if it's standing and reputation. The meal was incredibly well priced for what we got and I can't recommend highly enough. Thank you Onyx!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our first Michelin star restaurant experience was at Onyx. We ordered the lunch set which seemed value for money, until we received the bill only to realise we had to pay so much more for supplements. Nevertheless, the food and presentation was divine and the staff were so attentive and efficient. It is advisable to make a reservation online to secure a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cxsmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fabulous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were looking forward to dining at this very elegant restaurant and we were not disappointed . As we had not been to Budapest before our server recommended the Hungarian Evolution Menu - it was amazing . The bread selection was varied and we tried a few - all delicious-and we knew then the meal was going to be good. And indeed all the courses were delicious , though I was a bit worried about the "fawn " imagining bambi !! We also took the wine pairing - so glad we did . All four of us enjoyed everything - which is quite a difficult feat having eaten a lot of meals together its the first time weve agreed that it was one of the best meals we ve ever had !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sashanofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very impressive the moment you walk in. The bread is so good and we love the deep green aromatic pumpkin seed oil which tasted so good with the bread. Enjoyed every singe course on the degustation menu. We were most impressed with the impeccable service. This is the best meal compared to the other Michellin restaurants we tried in Vienna and Prague.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EY88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onyx Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Onyx Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing