We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and food”

Kheiron Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #544 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$16 - US$38
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: The Kheiron Restaurant is located in the heart of the city, in 2 minutes walking distance from the famous St. Stephen's Basilica. Our air conditioned property provides an excellent atmospehere for every guests. Our gipsy musicians play excellent traditional music every day, which independently creates the exquisitive atmosphere. Our dear Chef provides excellence in mainly Hungarian, and partly International dishes. Our sommeliers are ready to advise you from our unique wine selection, in order to make your dining experience absolutely an unforgettable event! Join us in the Kheiron Restaurant, and experience the taste of Hungarian hospitality!
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I don't understand why this restaurant is located on so far place. I tried a few other restaurants during my stay in Budapest and this was the best one. Great food and staff, I recommend it as very good place with Hungarian food in reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Kheiron Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time in our Restaurant and were very satisfied with the meal you had. Our Chef and his entire team always pay special attention on the quality and presentation of the dishes they prepare. It is our hope that you will return and have more of their delicious creations.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    131
    47
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty night out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We happened upon this restaurant after an early evening river cruise. Drinks came quickly but it took a little while to order and the meal was slow to arrive... but the food was delicious. My husband and I shared 4 entrees so we could get a good spread of Hungarian food. The roasted sheep cheese was sensational and so was the tokay flavoured goose lever pate. We also had a crab dish that was lovely. The Hungarian antipasta offered some very tasty although salty meats. And dips. The sommelier offered some excellent wine choices and in all it was a moderately priced and lovely night out.. Sitting at a footpath table with warm rugs available to keep out the cool late night air. We would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennymac1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Kheiron Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice a feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent, friendly, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our food was reasonably priced and delicious. Our waiter was very friendly and, after we had chatted to him a little at the end of the meal, came back and gave the entire table of seven free palinka digestifs! I would definitely go back if I was in this part of Budapest again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Kheiron Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vac, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I had the chance to dine here a few months ago with my wife and kids. They habe a good vegetarian selection, and the service was superb. The quality of the food and the preparation of it was really good, my catfish really had the original hungarian tastes. Good place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kontimre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Kheiron Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferwig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were there in February and it was fabulous! We had a dish with smoked fish and garlic risotto, which was absolutely fantastic. The cottage cheese ball was something new to us, but it was a very good choice! Thank you Kheiron for the good time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinemaguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORM2014, Manager at Kheiron Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kheiron Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kheiron Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing