We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment provided”

Gallery Single and Private Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallery Single and Private Hostel
Ranked #232 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Apartment provided”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

A friend and I booked at the Gallery Hostel. We were pleasantly surprised when were provided a 1 bedroom apartment complete with a kitchen in a grand old building right next to the Opera House!! The building itself was reeking with Eastern European charm, was evidently ancient and getting renovated. We were a 10 minute walk from the Godor(main square), the Danube, chain bridge. Vaci Utca was another 7 minute walk. We were thrilled to find supermarkets and quaint little cafes just a stones throw from here. All in all, we found a home in Budapest, which was charming and very traditional. All the sights and sounds were at a walkable distance. Being a girl, i walked alone several times post 8pm and I can vouch for the safety of the area. I totally recommend booking with them!!

Room Tip: Do ask for an apartment. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScherIrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We've stayed for 3 nights on this one and I can say that this is a very nice option if you want to stay closer to the parlament and to the train station. The owner is very helpfull and gives you very nice advise about the city and how to move around.

This is more a shared appartment than a hostel. No repection, the owner takes care of everything in a very informal way. Everything seemed well organized and pretty clean.

I cant say that is a very cosy place, but overall is average, and good value for your money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Our apartment for 4 actually slept 6. It was an unsual arrangement of rooms but provided great accommodation – three bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room, kitchen with dining table. We felt the security was a bit iffy – it was possible to get in to the apartment without the key codes if you worked out how, but you can lock the bedroom doors. I believe the owners are looking at this.

Otherwise, excellent and good value. Centrally located and not noisy. Local shop across the street, decent SPAR 3 minutes walk away.

WiFi did not work while we were there – they knew but had not fixed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmansam
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Small hostel in the north of the central zone in budapest. Rooms were clean although we could have done with an extra blanket. There was a nice communal area, kitchen and free internet. Staff are not on site 24/7 so it feels very cozy almost like a private apartment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We booked via Hostelworld.com, and reserved the private apartment located 15 minutes from the Hostel. The location is amazing, right next to the Opera, and Via Andrassy the most upmarket street in Budapest. The bars and restaurants are plentiful and the Metro is steps from the door. HOWEVER, this excellent location also means that the apartment is noisy, very noisy! Especially at the weekend. There is no A/C so if it is warm you need to have the window open, but with the window open it's too noisy to sleep....catch 22. The curtain is also just a toile over the window, which does not provide much privacy, or peace from the sun, so expect to be awoken early, and to have to get dressed in the bathroom if you are shy!

The apartment itself is large, clean, and basic. But absolutely excellent value for about £22 per person per night, and if you are a deep sleeper, or go when the weather is not so warm then I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment. The owner Adam is a local artist and is very helpful and eager to please - even leaving a bottle of local wine in the fridge for us. Thanks Adam.

**PLEASE IGNORE BELOW - POSTED UNDER WRONG NAME FOR SOME REASON!**

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingscottie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Gallery Single and Private Hostel is located just a few blocks (2-3) from the Nyugati train station in North Pest. If you arrive in the Keleti station, taking the metro to the Nyugati is actually quite easy. The hostel is on the top floor of an apartment building, and has 3 or 4 bedrooms that share two bathrooms (only one with a shower). The owner, Adam, has has taken great care to decorate the place in his own artistic manner, and the ambience gives the hostel a very comfortable feel. This hostel basically caters to couples and offers private rooms that are clean and unique in their own ways. Adam is a very helpful owner, providing his own map of Budapest complete with his favorite supermarkets, clubs, bars, restaurants and even cd shops. He is also very helpful in showing you around the building, even providing pictures of where light switches are in the hallways. The area is very safe, and has many pubs and restaurants nearby. Also, the hostel is located close to the bridge across the Danube to Buda, which is not to be missed. There is a common kitchen and dining area, and the living room offers a couple of couches and free internet. Adam's girlfriend, Judit(h), is also extremely helpful, offering to help me translate Hungarian websites and even calling her uncle (who works for the train company) to help us figure out a train to go to my family's hometown, Encs. Judith also called the taxi company the night before we left for the airport and got us a fixed rate taxi (which is cheaper than the metro). Overall, the experience was awesome. Budapest is a beautiful, safe city with excellent food, nice people and tons of shopping. Everything in the city was walking distance for us. Gallery Single and Private Hostel is a great place to relax, and the helpful staff made our trip extremely enjoyable.

  • Liked — the owner, Adam
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jesseask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
NH Budapest City
#74 of 334 in Budapest
1,418 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 334 in Budapest
192 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#125 of 334 in Budapest
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 334 in Budapest
1,358 reviews
Hilton Budapest City
#55 of 334 in Budapest
1,919 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Single and Private Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Single and Private Hostel

Property: Gallery Single and Private Hostel
Address: Hegedus Gyula utca 7, Budapest 1136, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Gallery Single and Private Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing