We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, great location definitely recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soho Boutique Hotel
Ranked #83 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, great location definitely recommendable”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We've stay in the soho hotel for 3 nights. It is a lovely hotel in a great location,close to the metro station and a 10 minute walk from the main attractions, and more important, at night, the surrounding is coming to life and you can find great bars, restaurants and nice places to sit and drink Hungarian beer. Welcoming and helpful staff, great breakfast, nice room in a decent size.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    673
    204
    56
    25
See reviews for
112
780
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed in Soho for two nights, and we really enjoyed our stay. The position of the hotel couldn't be better, its close to everything worth visiting in Buda. You can go everywhere on foot and it is so convenient. As for the hotel itself, it has cute little rooms (small but comfy), you have no view or balcony but it is normal for a hotel in the center of the city so its nothing to complain about. You have parking option for a small fee, free wifi in rooms and breakfast was fairly nice- The staff is very helpfull and nice. All in all great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited Budapest last week to celebrate my wife's half century and stayed at the Soho. Like other reviewers, we found the room small but not unduly so, and we were offered a junior suite for an extra €25 a day but declined as we had no intention of doing little more than sleeping in the room. Our room was at the back of the hotel so not too noisy but we could hear the frequent wailing of sirens. The bed had a duvet which was too hot so we took it out and used the blanket provided but had to ask for a second one as the other was too small. The shower room was also tiny but big enough and the powerful shower was a joy. We only had breakfast once and it was more than adequate with a good selection of hot and cold buffet dishes. The staff on the front desk could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The hotel is quite conveniently located near a stop on the green Hop-On, Hop-Off bus route which we found to be extremely useful to get to the sites we wanted to see. It's also close to the M2 metro and trams go nearby. It's a longish walk to the city centre (about 25 minutes). There are some excellent restaurants and bistros around.

Room Tip: Try for the B staircase at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaphosBricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istvan_Tozser, Front Office Manager at Soho Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear PaphosBricks,
I would like to say thank you for your honest review about our hotel. I am happy that you liked our breakfast even if you had breakfast just once. Thank you for pointing out the staff on the front desk as well. Hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Istvan Tozser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just back from a midweek break in Budapest. Weather lovely for the time of year. EU and World Heritage Fund money beginning to show in the centre of the city and on the River Danube and Budapest Castle areas. The Soho Boutique Hotel was advertised as a 4 star hotel but is in my opinion only just short of a 3 star.
That said, the rooms were small but comfortable, the breakfast was good with a few choices to start the day. A decent base considering most people spend most of their time out in the city. The hotel is in a rundown area about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the city centre. There are a number of bars and restaurants in the vicinity that are popular with the locals. I used the Italian restaurant near the Zara hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here in June and got the booking through Groupon. The hotel is small and modern but exactly what we wanted for a four night stay in the city. It is very close to New York Café which is amazing btw. Bus tours leave from the Café so the hotels location is perfect. Also you are very close to the funky district where if you look hard you will see the bars hidden away in courtyards within the tall buildings.

Our room was small but we didn't intend on spending much time there anyway. it was very clean and had a great shower (always important in my book!). The breakfast was good and a wide range on offer.

Definitely consider this hotel for a short stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1974LoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

hotel is located in the center of budapest.
next to many attraction to visit.
staff are very very friendly and helpfull
front office staff are helpfull and friendly till you understand all.
dinning room staff are kind and smiling
breakfast buffet with variety of food to choose
hotel is very clean
next stay soho

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last week and we felt a bit disappointed. The room was ready when we arrived early, which was a nice surprise, but when we arrived it was very small. My wife hurt herself three times by bumping into several things in the room. The bed was good, but we had to take the extra pillows as they were quite soft. The room was clean, but only on the surface, the showehead needed descaling, the fan had dust coming out of it and the guest folder was very old and outdated. The water in the room smelled of chlorine and what they tried to sell as shampoo/soap was very thin and barely usable at all. The towels we got were not enough and very hard from repetitive washing. The biggest annoyance was that we were facing the street (and there is a very old bus passing through this street), so it was very noisy at times, so we had to close the window. It was also very cold in the room and altough we put the airconditioning to 25, this did not seem to help. The breakfast had a good choice of items and was quite apetiting, but the coffee was horrible. The service in the hotel is very good. People at breakfast are a bit robotic and barely can ask for your room number, but the people on reception are very knowledgable, speak multiple languages and provide you with everything you need. All in all it was a good stay, but we would not come back here because of the size of the room and it's location, just a bit out of the center on the Pest side of the city. On the other hand it is close to a huge shopping street, with a tourbus stop, less than a minute walking away. So for a city trip on a budget it is perfectly located and offers you everything you need.

Room Tip: Look for a bigger room, with airconditioning that is functioning if they offer this and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istvan_Tozser, Front Office Manager at Soho Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear ddoron,
First of all I would like to say thank you for the review about your stay. I am sorry if you felt the room small. We always offer our junior suites to the guests for a friendly price upon availability, probably we had reservations in that category during your stay.
I appreciate your feedback about the reception staff.
Best regards,
Istvan Tozser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#87 of 333 in Budapest
1,127 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#97 of 333 in Budapest
640 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,241 reviews
Hotel Museum Budapest
#67 of 333 in Budapest
423 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 333 in Budapest
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Boutique Hotel

Property: Soho Boutique Hotel
Address: Dohany utca 64, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#60 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Family Hotel in Budapest
#73 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May it be a business trip, a city tour or relaxation, the new 4* boutique hotel of the Hungarian capital will give an unforgettable experience. Beyond the scents, flavours, sights, the silent tranquility, the tangible splendour and winged imagination, discover the seventh of all senses: Soho! Give in to the temptation and take a walk in the world of sensuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soho Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing