We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a weekend - super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soho Boutique Hotel
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend - super location”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Really straighforward to get a taxi to Blaha Lujza from the airport and then the shortest walk to the hotel from there. We arrived late at night and were kept waiting for a short time until a room had been made ready, but the chap on reception was very welcoming and apologetic. The room was . . . compact, but we'd been prepared for that thanks to reviews on Tripadvisor. Well stocked minibar and snacks (if you seek that). The bathroom was fine with a decent shower. Yes, the shower was two feet from the bed with a glass wall between, but the glass was opaque where it where matters so it wasn't as immodest as some reviewers have suggested. Served in a smallish dining room but with a much larger overspill 'hall', breakfast was a perfectly adequate cold buffet with a few hot dishes which varied each morning. Would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    667
    202
    55
    24
See reviews for
111
771
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We picked up a taxi from the airport for 5000 which seemed good value. The hotel is in an okay postion about 10-15 walk to the main shopping areas. Our room was small but not as bad as some people make out it suited us for the 2 nights and was nice and modern! shower was great and hot and needed as Budapest was freezing!!
Breakfast was a bit manic and some people seemed to just pile all the food on their plates!! it was okay nothing to shout about.
staff on reception were friendly.
we had a great 2 nights, would recommend the house of terror it was harrowing but moving. We also visited buda which was great and the labyrinths you should go to!
go and find the cast iron shoes they are not far from the chain bridge on the same side as parliament, again very moving.
we ate at fat moes one night which has live bands every night, worth a visit.
christmas market was lovely..
we didnt use public transport as taxis were so cheap.
would recommend budpaest as its cheap and interesting. I would go back but would probably stay a little bit more nearer the danube, however for 2 nights the SOho Hotel was ideal

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel has modern furnishing. Very clean and bright the breakfast buffet has lots of choice. The late check out is great so you can still explore the city before you leave. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzybethuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Soho Boutique Hotel in Budapest is absolutely perfect for single travellers or couples for up to 3 nights. The hotel is very modern and has the atmosphere is great. The staff is very kind and always available to help. The breakfast was rich and really good, specially the litlle croissants, bread was not really good, but then bread is not Hungary's best business. It is true that the rooms are really small, hence perfect for single travellers, though I have seen smaller elsewhere. They could be a little bit wider and have a wider desk, I advised staff at the reception to put the TV on the wall to allow more space for the laptop on the desk, this would really help without major work. However the rooms have plenty of storage in the cupboards and I strongly advise travellers to store the things to allow more space to move around the room. The bathroom was absolutely great and shower perfect, everything very cleaned. Bathroom door had a little problem, which I would never have noticed and when I returned from breakfast, there was a man nocking on the door to fix it. The rooms are equiped with LAN Internet connection, the access is absolutly free the cannection speed is really good, this make it ideal por business travellers. If do not have a LAN cable you can borrow one from the reception. There is also a laptop size safe, which I recommend to make use of, though I have not been stolen. About the location, it has tube, tram and buses about 400 metres away, I strongly advise to avoid buses, they are really old, the tram is great and the tube is quite ok. There is cheap restaurant/take away around the corner (get out of the hotel, take your right and turn on the first on the right, you will see it) full of young Hungarians, they have menu in English and serve pasta, pizza, und chicken, etc. I have eaten there for about 3 euros

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

What a discovery - well placed in the centre of Budapest, good breakfast selection, well designed rooms. Quick check-in & out process.

Friendly and helpful staff and great value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We have booked the room from the hotels website almost two months before our arrival. They supposedly offer an advance purchase rates but must be fully paid which we dully did. We also received a confirmation letter from the hotel with a confirmation of the dates and the amount has been fully paid. We also have booked a transport from the hotel and sent to the, all the details by email. And we have contacted them almost a week before our arrival to send a confirmation letter to the Embassy in Kuwait to confirm our stay for the visa procedure which they did. We arrive in Budapest, but no transport from hotel. We take our own transport to the hotel. We wait like aver 15 minutes because the staff is in panic and they say they can not find our booking. However, a robotic kind of receptionist claims that we had a problem with our credit card and their was no contact for us hence our reservation and payment is non existent! And it was not us who the hotel sent this robotic receptionist to say exactly the same... I must have heard him say it to at least 5 people in my presence. Maybe they thought it is a very clever scam to take advantage of tired and exhausted travelers who just want to wind down after long season(s) of work... but This is absolutely unprofessional, unethical! Our scheduled stay was for almost 8 nights. Mr Robot said they have vacancy only for one night and of course at the full rate then there is an availability after the weekend. We decided to stay the night since we were so exhausted from the travel and we had already arranged the day in Budapest. The room is too small. The double bed is too small, I would not have liked to see the single room. The bathroom was too small. My suitcase could barely fit inside the room which limited our very limited movement. The breakfast room was full of people and hardly any food left. There was only one good thing about the hotel, there was one friendly female receptionist whom seemed to be a bit embarrassed about the unprofessional scam. Will write as many bad reviews for this hotel as I can. Because it is just not acceptable to put foreign travelers through unnecessary hassle in a comp[completely different country with different language....I am absolutely disgusted. I will never accept an official apology from the hotel l which they never bothered to offer anyways.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wafinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katapola, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Just returned from Budapest , an amazing city . Stayed in Soho Boutique hotel was a good experience though there are some things i didn't like .
+Staff.They were all amazing.Everything we asked,from info till restaurant reservation they did all their best.Absolutely nothing to say about the guys and girls in Soho Boutique Hotel.
Location.Although not exactly in the very center of Pest,this hotel has an excellent location due to the many restaurants,caffes,metro stations all around.It's in a very lively neighbourhood with a club,2 24hours a day minimarkets just in the doorstep.Perfect location while central Pest is at about 7-10 minutes away.
-Rooms.They were quite cute,elegant and with many amenities but so SMALL!We stayed for 5 nights there and it was impossible to live with another person in that room.Probably excellent for a single room but definitely not suitable for a double/twin room.
Breakfast.It was by far the worsest breakfast i ever had.Even from a 3-star hotel.Very small selection of all,juices and coffee were terrible,nothing was refilled for at least 30 minutes after it was finished.Of course the breakfast room was very tiny,everyday a queue,for something it wasn't worthy since there are many options in this city for a good and very very cheap breakfast.
Wi-fi internet.We were staying in the 5th floor and wi-fi was not available.Only in the lobby.Quite a dissapointment for us.
Generally i would recommend this hotel for single travellers or for 1-2 nights for a couple , the rooms are very small for more.And also for people that don't eat breakfast , breakfast here is not so good.But the location and the staff it woths.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorgos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#99 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#89 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#100 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Boutique Hotel

Property: Soho Boutique Hotel
Address: Dohany utca 64, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Family Hotel in Budapest
#73 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May it be a business trip, a city tour or relaxation, the new 4* boutique hotel of the Hungarian capital will give an unforgettable experience. Beyond the scents, flavours, sights, the silent tranquility, the tangible splendour and winged imagination, discover the seventh of all senses: Soho! Give in to the temptation and take a walk in the world of sensuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing