We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOHO a No No”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soho Boutique Hotel
Ranked #82 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“SOHO a No No”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Great Funky Entry But that does not save you from the inhospitable service and attitude.
Room was tiny.You cant swing a cat.Rate included Breakfast. Staff informed me that as i had an early flight and left the Hotel at 6 am there was no breakfast.Not even coffee.
And no offer to refund breakfast charge!!!! So no effort made to meet needs of early departing guests. Says everything about poor hospitality.
Had to ask staff if I paid them would they smile!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metroguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    667
    202
    55
    24
See reviews for
111
771
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

room could be a little bigger but clean and fine.
coffee was smeled like burn old coffee you a jhave but around enough possibility to take somewhere else the coffee. rest of breakfast nice and simple.
the hotel is at the center at the VII district metro and tram station is just 3 waliking minute away.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights through a deal on voyage privie so didn't pay the regular rate. Whilst the room are small, they are perfect for a weekend break or if you are travelling light. They are well equipped and of good quality. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of hot and cold choices although the breakfast room is small so worth getting in early. The reception staff provided us with lots of local information including trips and local traditional restaurant and offered a booking service too. Helpful if you don't speak Hungarian! The hotel is centrally located for most tourist areas and has lots of bars, shops and amenities close by. Belvarus and the river is a 10min walk at most. Despite its location on a reasonably busy street, I was not aware of any noise from outside when in the room. Overall we found it perfect for our weekend break and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger17blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Really straighforward to get a taxi to Blaha Lujza from the airport and then the shortest walk to the hotel from there. We arrived late at night and were kept waiting for a short time until a room had been made ready, but the chap on reception was very welcoming and apologetic. The room was . . . compact, but we'd been prepared for that thanks to reviews on Tripadvisor. Well stocked minibar and snacks (if you seek that). The bathroom was fine with a decent shower. Yes, the shower was two feet from the bed with a glass wall between, but the glass was opaque where it where matters so it wasn't as immodest as some reviewers have suggested. Served in a smallish dining room but with a much larger overspill 'hall', breakfast was a perfectly adequate cold buffet with a few hot dishes which varied each morning. Would certainly revisit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We picked up a taxi from the airport for 5000 which seemed good value. The hotel is in an okay postion about 10-15 walk to the main shopping areas. Our room was small but not as bad as some people make out it suited us for the 2 nights and was nice and modern! shower was great and hot and needed as Budapest was freezing!!
Breakfast was a bit manic and some people seemed to just pile all the food on their plates!! it was okay nothing to shout about.
staff on reception were friendly.
we had a great 2 nights, would recommend the house of terror it was harrowing but moving. We also visited buda which was great and the labyrinths you should go to!
go and find the cast iron shoes they are not far from the chain bridge on the same side as parliament, again very moving.
we ate at fat moes one night which has live bands every night, worth a visit.
christmas market was lovely..
we didnt use public transport as taxis were so cheap.
would recommend budpaest as its cheap and interesting. I would go back but would probably stay a little bit more nearer the danube, however for 2 nights the SOho Hotel was ideal

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel has modern furnishing. Very clean and bright the breakfast buffet has lots of choice. The late check out is great so you can still explore the city before you leave. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzybethuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Soho Boutique Hotel in Budapest is absolutely perfect for single travellers or couples for up to 3 nights. The hotel is very modern and has the atmosphere is great. The staff is very kind and always available to help. The breakfast was rich and really good, specially the litlle croissants, bread was not really good, but then bread is not Hungary's best business. It is true that the rooms are really small, hence perfect for single travellers, though I have seen smaller elsewhere. They could be a little bit wider and have a wider desk, I advised staff at the reception to put the TV on the wall to allow more space for the laptop on the desk, this would really help without major work. However the rooms have plenty of storage in the cupboards and I strongly advise travellers to store the things to allow more space to move around the room. The bathroom was absolutely great and shower perfect, everything very cleaned. Bathroom door had a little problem, which I would never have noticed and when I returned from breakfast, there was a man nocking on the door to fix it. The rooms are equiped with LAN Internet connection, the access is absolutly free the cannection speed is really good, this make it ideal por business travellers. If do not have a LAN cable you can borrow one from the reception. There is also a laptop size safe, which I recommend to make use of, though I have not been stolen. About the location, it has tube, tram and buses about 400 metres away, I strongly advise to avoid buses, they are really old, the tram is great and the tube is quite ok. There is cheap restaurant/take away around the corner (get out of the hotel, take your right and turn on the first on the right, you will see it) full of young Hungarians, they have menu in English and serve pasta, pizza, und chicken, etc. I have eaten there for about 3 euros

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#99 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#89 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#100 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Boutique Hotel

Property: Soho Boutique Hotel
Address: Dohany utca 64, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#73 Family Hotel in Budapest
#73 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Soho Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May it be a business trip, a city tour or relaxation, the new 4* boutique hotel of the Hungarian capital will give an unforgettable experience. Beyond the scents, flavours, sights, the silent tranquility, the tangible splendour and winged imagination, discover the seventh of all senses: Soho! Give in to the temptation and take a walk in the world of sensuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing