We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #94 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Turku
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Budget luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

For a competitive price we enjoyed a clean room, toilet with large shower, great pool area with sauna in the top floor and a winter garden breakfast area. Small dents like a toilet seat cover issue and puddles forming after showering and no way other than towels to dry it. Sevice was cordial nevertheless and we will definitely be back when in Budapest again.

Room Tip: Towards front view to park across busy street, so not for ultra-light sleepers perhaps, but I enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    181
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
37
217
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms were gorgeous, the decor was very modern yet it felt homely. The hotel was spotless everywhere, extremely clean sheets and comfortable beds (a MUST in my opinion!)
The swimming pool and the sauna were fantastic, the views from the top floor were breathtaking - you could see all major sights.
Breakfast was good, standard European a bit off everything.
The location was in the Buda side, close to the castle district (about 20 mins walk) and about 3 mins from the Metro station and bus station. Takes 10 mins to get to the center. Not many restaurants to choose in the vicinity but we found a family run pub that served homemade Hungarian dishes that were to die for and both of us ate like Kings for less than £10!!! The hotel menu didn't seem too bad but we opted to eat out.
The only down bit was the two single beds joint together to make a double bed, even when we requested a double one from the very begging. Unfortunately, it was fully booked so they couldn't do anything about it. It was a bit of a let down, but we got on with it. Once again the beds are very comfortable and you are guaranteed a decent night sleep. All staff are very friendly, polite and very good mannered.
Would highly recommend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Double beds seem to be a bit short, so make sure you get in touch with the hotel to get a confirmati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dessy_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our room (605) was a bit small, with an underwhelming view of a car park and a horrible mouldy shower. However, several things made up for this including:

The price - £40 per night
The bed - very large and comfortable
The breakfast - decent quality and good selection
The wellness suite on the top floor - wonderful view and open until 9
The two gentleman who worked on reception during my stay - both extremely helpful and made great suggestions.
Proximity to Castle Hill and the metro

For these reasons, they have scraped four stars from me instead of three, although I'd say 'good' rather than 'very good' if there was the option! All in all, we had a pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel for Budapest on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greaves2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The common areas are very nice, the restaurant has a beautiful summer terrace, the pool has a breathtaking view, the parking place is ok, the stuff is great, BUT it is not permitted, in my opinion, for a 4 stars SUPERIOR hotel to have such rooms ( photos attached ).

So, the room we were given was very small, it had no balcony ( though on the description from the site it's written that the rooms have balcony: http://www.belvederehotels.hu/index.php?lang=en ), the carpet was dirty, the view was nothing special, one wall was filthy and the shower cabin needs some good restoration.

The sleep quality was very good though; comfortable beds and soundproof windows.

It is around 15 - 20 minutes walking to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tr4vel_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a great hotel. Rooms are spacious with modern amenities and decoration. Bathroom is spacious and modern as well. There is flat screen TV (probably 32'') and a fridge in the room. Soundproof was quite good but not excellent (noise from tram was a little bit annoying).
Location is very good. It is situated nearby metro station (5 min walking distance and three stops from city centre) and bus&tram stations. Buda Castle, Fisherman's Bastion and Mathias Church can be accessed by foot (15-20 min). However, it should be mentioned that Buda in general is inferior to Pest in terms of cafes, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. So if you are looking for a more central location you should look for a hotel in Pest.

Breakfast was nice, a variety of choices, not excellent though (for demanding person).

To sum up, considering the rate that we paid (54 euros per night for a double room with breakfast) i will rate this hotel as excellent

Room Tip: I would recommed to ask for a room that is not facing the road, as the noise from tram could be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilias11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my wife last week for four nights. I thoroughly recommend it. We were in room 307 which is at the back overlooking the conservatory and garden. It was very quiet at night. We were really surprised at the large modern room with a modern bathroom and a balcony. Also with a TV, fridge and hairdryer in the room. The breakfast was great with plenty to choose from as long as you don't expect an English breakfast. We found the hotel staff very informative and helpful. There is a bus stop outside and also a tram stop on the other side of the road to the right.

We did a lot of walking and we also used the trams. What nobody mentioned on here is that if one is 65 years or over you can travel on the transport system in Budapest for free, wise to carry identification such as a passport, but we were never asked. Found this information on the transport wensite and the hotel confirmed it is free for over 65s. We also used the Hop on - Hop off busses, around £15 gives you two days of unlimited travel around the city and also a river cruise included in the price. Budapest is a beautiful city with plenty to do and see.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is very well situated, near the main square with underground, trams and buses. 15 minutes walk from castle and historic town. Breakfast is great mixture of toast, cereals, and usual buffet with the ultimate Hungarian hot dish and the best coffee ever, served in a magnificent conservatory.. Great choice of various teas. There is a very good restaurant serving Hungarian cuisine.
The staff are very helpful. There is a bus stop just outside.
My room was very large and clean with a large bathroom. The mini bar contains the best Hungarian wine and room service is second to none.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#69 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#90 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Property: Belvedere Hotel
Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 11/A, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#78 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing