We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What wonderful staff!”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #93 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Well,what can I say!I picked up the wrong bag at the airport and only disovered my mistake at the hotel.No problem,arrangements made with the airport and bag adjustment made.I had my wallet stolen.Directions to police station given,and,with great patience a police statement typed in English and Hungarian for police approval and insurance requirements.Lastly spectacles left in our hotel room have just arrived by post in the UK! OK so we shouldn`t be let out.However the hotel guys were so understanding and calm.
The hotel had just been renovated and looked great.It`s a modern hotel with an art deco theme.We had a quiet room at the back with comfortable facilities.Breakfast was reasonable and good for Hungary.Handy for the cog railway,bus 16,(most excellent) and trams 4&6,and Restaurant Trombonitas,it is an excellent base for a weekend break.
Thank you again Belvedere Hotel!

Room Tip: Based on other reviews we asked for a room at the back.It was a good tip we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Architect owned and designed and it showed in every detail of this lovely little hotel. The wellness suite on the top floor with its little pool and sauna is a real treat. The views are especially good after dark . The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It's v well positioned for transport. My only comment would be that they need to buy some more bottle openers to go in the mini bars in the rooms. Still the lack of bottle opener did save me from temptation .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOGray20002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a beautiful art deco hotel. The room was excellent, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and served in the garden room. There was a Wellness Room on the top floor with a small swimming pool, sauna and loungers with the most fantastic view over the rooftops to the River Danube. It would be wonderful in the summer to sit on the terrace with a glass of wine and watch that view! The only problem for us was that as we were there for the Christmas Market and it was a long way to go back to our hotel on the Metro (three stops) for a rest and then return again for the evening so we just kept walking! The free walking tours in the city are fantastic and well worth checking out. Budapest really is a beautiful city and so interesting. The view of the River at night almost, yes, almost beats the view of The Thames at night!! Everyone should go there and the Belverdere is a very good hotel as a base. One thing, we were disappointed that there were no tea\coffee making facilities in our room. We commented on this when we left and was told that if we had asked they would have given us a kettle.......so ask.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JinnaWinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with helpful staff, comfortable big rooms, very good breakfast and good location near big underground/bus/tram station. Minor flaw is the room temperature which was costant at 24 degrees celsius all the time. I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HannahSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the belvedere hotel in November and can quite honestly say it was great, the room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable, the breakfast was well cooked and the atmosphere was relaxing, we can't believe how reasonable the cost was for a good quality hotel. It was very close to Moskova square with its bars, you can pick up a tram for almost anywhere in the city, we would definitely use again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as the main road can be a bit noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Perhaps we were unlucky but our stay was a little disappointing. On checking in we found our bathroom door wouldn't shut (the bracket was hanging off the frame) so we informed reception. I asked if it could be looked at but was told no, that it needn't maintenance that couldn't be done at that time. The fact that he was aware without even asking to see implies they had known for a while but chose not to do the repair. When I asked if we could have another room where the door did work that was also a no as other rooms apparently had the same problem. Not a good start.
I thought that the breakfast was average and as we arrived later there was a distinct impression of staff impatience to clean up and finish.
On the more positive the room was a good size and the bathroom modern with a great shower and nice touch of separate toilet. The hotel is well located you can walk to the metro and trolley stop which can get you over to Pest or along to Gellert quickly. You can walk to the Castle district in about 15 minutes or a taxi will cost about 800-900 Forint.
Overall, it wasn't bad but compared to other places I have stayed in Budapest on a similar budget it didn't match up. It's all about the people for us and most of the staff just didn't make that effort to make us feel welcome, if they had the other issues would not have presented a problem.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank missbreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

For a competitive price we enjoyed a clean room, toilet with large shower, great pool area with sauna in the top floor and a winter garden breakfast area. Small dents like a toilet seat cover issue and puddles forming after showering and no way other than towels to dry it. Sevice was cordial nevertheless and we will definitely be back when in Budapest again.

Room Tip: Towards front view to park across busy street, so not for ultra-light sleepers perhaps, but I enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Lion's Garden Hotel
Lion's Garden Hotel
#79 of 336 in Budapest
733 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#187 of 336 in Budapest
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel President
Hotel President
#95 of 336 in Budapest
1,048 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#101 of 336 in Budapest
6,786 reviews
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#123 of 336 in Budapest
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 11/A, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing