We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #33 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

wonderful place to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it Room ( on 3rd floor) was very quiet, breakfast came with the room ( excellent) and the restaurant was so good we ate most of our meals there. We would definitely return we spend 7 nights here and we enjoyed every one

Room Tip: resturant is on the ground floor, so go to an upper level, we were on floor 3 and perfectly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    150
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
502
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverhead, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A perfect venue for visiting Budapest. We travel frequently on business and stay at 5 star venues but would not have trade it for this hotel Very gracious and hospitable. The front desk was helpful and available 24/7. Bogie greeted us and quickly acclimated us to the area, its transportation, sights, restaurants etc. We were at home quickly There was a new receptionist on duty who was charming and sweet, she quickly phoned her superiors for advice if there was any question--and every piece of advice from sights to restaurants was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We had lunch here twice. Once during the week when we had the set menu which is incredibly good value for money. I just had a starter and a dessert which only cost £3 plus tax. Spring rolls with lime basil sorbet and home made tiramisu.

We went again on the weekend and had a three course lunch with a very good bottle of Perle prosceco. Food was excellent - chilled strawberry soup, very fresh garlic pike with a Greek salad, beef tartare, trio of sorbets with cherry sauce, and a glass of chilled chocolate with strawberry purée. Very good bread.

You can sit inside or out. Free wi fi. Relaxed service. You can spend a lot of time here eating well.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Annerly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We spent 4 nights at Gerloczy earlier this month with our 2 kids. The hotel is fantastically located in the town centre but on a quiet street. The metro and tram are a short walk away so it's very easy to get around. It is romantically old world in decor but with all modern comforts and attention to little details that make a place special. The restaurant serves up a delicious breakfast (12 euro additional to the room charge and compulsory for each adult in the room) and is a great place to dine as well. The staff are helpful and obliging.
We were lucky to get a room with a balcony (there are only a couple of balcony rooms in the hotel ). We'd wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone visting budapest.

Room Tip: there are only 3 rooms with a balcony in the hotel so you could request this if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monshagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel in the heart of Budapest is a beautifull and authentic place where you can really experience the grandour of this city. The rooms are spacious and very tastfully decorated.

In this rather small hotel everything is well taken care off by the hospitable and friendly staff. It is very charming and a good place to stay. The restaurant is yet another reason why you should be staying in this hotel and the terrace is just heavenly to relax with a cold drink in summer!

In short, when you plan to go to Budapest, this really is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Good location, reasonable price, outstanding food, uniformly pleasant and helpful staff, and spacious (by European standards), comfortable rooms. We came across the Gerloczy in Rick Steves' guide to Budapest. As usual, Rick was right. We would recommend the Gerloczy to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albanywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Gerloczy rooms is an old building refurbished with great taste and with one of the most beautiful cafe/restaurant in the city.
The rooms are nice, scarcely furnished if any, but quite comfortable. Breakfast at the cafe (included in the room price) is excellent and you should also enjoy the goulash soup they prepare there.
It is very well located, a walking distance from the main shopping street and atractions, you can even walk to the castle in Buda.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with a balcony (we did not get one of those). Try to get a room with as many w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,128 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
166 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,137 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing