We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
609
163
32
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
163
32
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomfree mini barthe cafe downstairscharming hotelsmall hotelhigh ceilingssmall squarethe ground floorsparkling winefirst flooreach morningjewish quartera wonderful stayperfect locationside streetthe riverwithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I had read a lot of positive reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The building is full of character and charm. The room was lovely and clean, small but had everything we needed - we didn't spend too much time in it. We were able to walk to most of the sights and the transport system was fabulous. Staff were helpful but in particular the receptionist. She was very helpful, pleasant and friendly. The cafe was wonderful. Food delicious and breakfast was very tasty. I found it easy enough to figure out the 12 euro limit and for that you get plenty. Staff in the cafe were also very good and I will definitely be staying here again on another visit to Budapest.

Room Tip: Reception advised us to book a room with a balcony early next time as they are the most popular.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We heard about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux through a friend in Canada who had stayed there and highly recommended it. I'm so glad we went with the recommendation. We had planned to stay there only 2 days, but instead stayed a full 5 days, because we were so happy with our room, the ambiance and the location. The staff at Gerloczy were great, very helpful and professional. They helped us book tours, a concert and helped us get access to one of the amazing Budapest Turkish Baths (not to be missed). Gerloczy has an excellent restaurant that serves an awesome breakfast as well as dinner. We ended up eating dinner there twice, it was so good. Anna, who runs the restaurant, is a gem. Anyone looking for an intimate, small European style hotel with old world charm, yet plenty of amenities will be very happy at the Gerloczy. We also felt that the room rate was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We can't praise Gerloczy enough--it was perfect for us. It's a beautifully restored hotel, with impeccable workmanship in the renovated decor. Stained glass, etched glass, Art Nouveau details--every touch done with exquisite taste. Staying at this hotel and eating in the cafe you could believe you've been transported back a century in time, except with all the modern conveniences including free wifi. The entire staff in both the hotel and cafe is friendly and helpful. The location is prime and all attractions are easily reachable; the Danube is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. It also had a wonderful restaurant on location which was delicious. The breakfast was part of the hotel fee and was so good, but at dinner be sure to order a lemon tart..yum! There is also a piano player there 2 nights a week. We loved our room..small hotel with class, and a very helpful staff! If we come to Budapest again there is not doubt that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucysofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This small hotel has a lot of charm and the location is excellent. On a traffic-restricted, quiet side street, it is near Deak Square from which you can take a bus to the Castle Quarter or a metro to just about anyplace else. It is an easy walk to Vaci Street, the Jewish Quarter and the Danube. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. All of this and the price is a very good one. If you are arriving by train don't count on being able to find one of the reliable (honest) taxis like City Taxi or Taxi 2000 at the station. Try to make arrangements with the hotel to be picked up or call the taxi company. Most, if not all, taxis at the station will charge you more than double the fair rate. We knew which taxis to look for and we were expecting to find them among the choices - wrong. The ride to the hotel is a very short one and should not have cost near the 5000 Forints we paid. The hotel can also arrange airport transportation for a fixed rate.

Room Tip: The bathtubs are luxuriously large but the next time I will ask for a shower. It you are not planning to soak for awhile, the tub is a nuisance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews