We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #24 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky and quality”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had no idea what to expect as this was an unexpected little trip for two over New Year. Gerloczy staff in the rooms part were lovely via email and delightful first hand our room was excellent in particular the bathroom. It is a beautiful building and we found it to be ideally situated for exploring on and off the tourist track. The elevator is great as we walked alot on our first day. The only thing I think we expected was the ability to make tea and coffee but we discovered tea is not the thing and its perhaps our british expectations getting the better of us. We enjoyed breakfast and whilst I appreciate the other travellers comments and agree on the other hand it represented value anyway overall and the coffee was fantastic.

In terms of service we must make special mention of the maitre d and his assistant in the restaurant part as the service they provided was impeccable and we were greeted as old friends on New Years eve.

Overall the combination of rooms and restaurant works well in our opinion but then this was our first ever city break together. I think we hit a little gem and would recommend it highly to other travellers especially if you want an international vibe as there was not another Brit in the place......

Hungarian food, gorgeous cheese and beautiful hungarian wine a true flavour of the country add in a dash of history and baroque architecture biting cold air and twinkly christmas lights and Budapest is a heady combination of old and new. Fabulous.

Room Tip: I suspect above the first floor is better as you are away from the buzz of the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewellsWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    150
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
501
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for five nights- perfect location- only few mins walk to chain bridge, opera and all other sights. Rooms spacious clean and really beautiful decor. Staff so so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend this place and would stay here again and again. Breakfast lovely and hotel restaurant one of the nicest we ate in and full of atmosphere- and always busy which is an excellent sign. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Not a place for guests who want sterile, replicated 5-star comfort in a room indistinguishable from hundreds of other hotels all around the world. Gerloczy has character, oodles of it, and a quirky charm that is almost unique. I only have one small and one medium-sized complaint. The check-out time of 11 a.m. is a tad early. Can't Gerloczy make it noon like everywhere else, or 1 p.m. and stand out from the crowd as a shining star?

What really puzzled me was the breakfast arrangement. Breakfast is mandatory, but is not incorporated (invisibly) in the room rate. Instead, you are told exactly how much you are charged for breakfast. You essentially have a credit and can eat a la carte up to that amount. Your credit is in euros, yet the breakfast menu is in forint, and in very odd denominations at that. It is therefore practically impossible to spend exactly the credited amount - not more, not less. Guests will invariably be annoyed because they either try to stay carefully within the credited sum and will end up not spending the full amount, thereby wasting money. Or they will try to get full value for their credit, will overspend, and face extra charges. I wish Gerloczy would just make breakfast optional and remove the mandatory charge from the bill. I am sure most guests would eat breakfast at Gerloczy nonetheless (and pay separately) because the cafe is convenient, wonderfully atmospheric, has an excellent breakfast menu and is very good value for the top quality that it offers. The current arrangement whereby the hotel always wins and the guest always loses (even if it's just a few cents) strikes me as rather undignified and childish for such a refined establishment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panicstrickenchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were first in a room in the attic, and it was wonderful, beautiful and classy, but it had a problem: when you use the shower you got a very bad smell.
We told the manager and they changed rooms inmediately to a more expensive one without charging us more. The room was more expensive but we prefered the one in the attic, we guess that it was cheaper because of the smell.
Great restaurant downstairs, for dinner and breakfast! And not expensive.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms in the attic, but be careful with the smell of the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Position is perfect, right at the centre of Budapest, very near from the "Danube" and metro.
It is a welcoming, charming and beautiful hotel where you can feel the spirit of the city. The restaurant is marvelous, with a very nice atmosphere, very friendly, with a musicist on the evening and food is simply delicious! Breakfast is also excellent. Rooms are very spacious and nicely furnished.
I highly recommend this hotel for its unique atmosphere, be it for business or romantic trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a short Christmas break, and was pleasantly surprised with the service and location offered. It is around 10-15 mins walk from many of the tourist sites in Budapest, but in s quiet street, so noise is not a problem. Service was really good, with the staff going out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: Better to go for one of the level 1-3 rooms, attic has a somewhat less comfortable layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anondxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We loved our stay at gerlozcy. The room, the Service, the Restaurant and the location were Perfect. You can easily visit all attractions by Foot from there After having a Great breakfast at the gerloczy Restaurant. They also have great lunch and dinner. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. We can definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancylein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
153 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#14 of 334 in Budapest
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#28 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing