We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Gerloczy Rooms de Lux”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #39 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Gerloczy Rooms de Lux for our Thanksgiving holiday week. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The complimentary mini bar was a welcome treat after a day of sightseeing. Free WiFi was an extra bonus. We were pleasantly surprised to have wonderfully hot showers each morning which is not always the case in small European hotels. The staff was courteous and helpful with our questions.
We enjoyed breakfast in the Cafe each morning. The food was well prepared and tasty. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. My only complaint is the 12Euros per person breakfast charge which is a mandatory charge to your hotel bill. Between the two of us we rarely ate more than 16 Euros of breakfast. I think the breakfast charge should be adjusted downward as the food is not expensive.
We would definitely stay at Gerlocy Rooms de Lux again. It was easy walking distance to all the major downtown sights.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grannyinbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We loved the hotel we had a short winter get away in late November. The room was a warm haven: great designs, clean, with comfortable bed, the bathrooms are as pictured, clean with Lush lovely products. The attentive service and the tasty food and wine served in the cafe made for a comfortable stay. The location is ideal easy to even walk to nearly all the sites on the Pest side. The metro and buses are all within easy reach too

It's the small things that made our stay, The hotels spiral staircase is also a features, helpful and friendly staff, free wifi, minibar was a bonus,beautiful thought out room designs.

It was our first time in Hungary and in cafe Gerloczy and we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KenyanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After spending 3-days in Amsterdam and 2-weeks on a river cruise, I can't think of a more enjoyable way to conclude our vacation than to spend a few days in Budapest at the small Gerloczy Hotel. The Gerloczy would definitely be my choice and recommendation to any of our friends and family visiting Budapest. The hotel truly exudes old European charm, and is complimented by its adjoining French-style bistro restaurant. The location is great and within walking distance to many of the sites of Pest, and only a few blocks to the Underground. The front-desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and the hotel manager (who is also the restaurant maitre d') could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. High recommendations!

Room Tip: Our room (#24) was on the second floor with windows along two walls. It was near the lift and stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David70471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late November with spouse. 3rd floor corner room very clean with windows facing two directions. Only 1 mirror over sink, high up. Free (included) mini bar; 1 each small bottle sparkling wine, coke, coke light, orange juice, beer, plain water, sparkling water, candy bar, and two containers, one with mini cookies and other with tasty cocktail snack.

Room was very hot and hard to control so had to open windows. Bed low to the floor but did provide comfortable rest. About three blocks to largest synagog, and easy walk to major shopping. Christmas markets being built while we were there so couldn't hop there. Did find another shopping district between Elizabeth and "green" bridge.

Did 2 separate free walking tours, one Jewish neighborhood and other major tourist sights. We tipped the tour guide well.

Had delightful dinner in the cafe the first night with excellent harpist. Breakfast deal was 12 Euros worth of food per person (required addition to your room rate). This converted to about 3,600 HUF. Omelet, coffee, juice, croissant and fruit bowl just about used up allowance.

We would stay again and recommend it for the fairly central location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I honestly think this is the best place to stay in Budapest. Not only are the rooms charming, but you can stay in the hotel for brekkie and dinner too. Bang in town, helpful staff, lovely decor. Love it.

Room Tip: The square is not busy so any room and any floor seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

lovely looking rooms ..but looks are not everything. No decent mirror,no coffee facilities,no room service,no desk to work at.no service full stop in the hotel. Food in the restaurant fantastic and on the whole good service. I stayed there as a dental tourist and after my treatment was very swollen and did not want to go for breakfast in the restaurant,all i aked for was for coffe to brought up to my room only to be told that there was no room service!! for a hotel of this calibre that is un acceptable. As a lone traveller I felt comfortable but I travel a lot and I do wonder about the rave reviews to me this is a an average hotel service wise but an above average hotel in looks and food. Nest time in Budapest I. would rather book appartment.
I booked this on the rave reviews it has recieved on trip advisor but am wondering what sort of hotels other guests have stayed in before!!
Saying all that there was nothing bad about the hotel I just felt that it was mediocre other than its stunning looks and a lovely restaurant.
Oh yes the bed was very uncomfortable and at last i can have a good nights sleep at home

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 666vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When you first enter the Gerloczy Rooms de Lux hotel and are welcomed by the winding staircase with the beautiful stained glass ceiling, you just know you are going to enjoy your visit to Budapest.
We spent 4 nights in an Attic Room on the fourth floor. The room was a comfortable size and featured a skylight. The bathroom was always clean, had an interesting large round copper sink and a shower with an etched glass door. As a bonus, the mini bar was free and was replenished daily. The only thing missing was some dresser drawers to store your clothes.
The price per night was very reasonable at €104 including a €12 credit per person for breakfast in the cafe. The breakfast menu featured some eggs dishes and quite a good selection of fresh baked breads. The cafe is also a popular place for dinner with locals as well as travellers. We enjoyed a delicious dinner one night. It seemed like a busy place so I'd suggest making a reservation just in case.
The hotel is situated in an ideal location. The Danube River, Vorosmarty Square and Vaci Street shopping are all a 5-10 minute walk away. Also 5 minutes away is Deak Ferenc Metro station, where all 3 metro lines stop. St.Stephen's Basilica is 10 minutes away and The Great Market and Parliament can be reached in about 15-20 minutes. And just outside the hotel is a terrific corner store, that we found to not only be good for snacks and small lunches, but it also had the best price we could find for Unicom.
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were always available to help with advice, order us a taxi or book us tickets to the Szechenyi Baths. The cafe staff also provided prompt service and great wine recommendations.
The Gerloczy Rooms de Lux is a special boutique hotel with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. I would recommend it to anyone and it would be my first choice the next time I visit Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
391 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,494 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#29 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing