We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #39 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This being my first visit to Budapest, I was completely taken by it.

The hotel is reminiscent of a by gone time when grace came before competition, attention came before dollars. The staff are attentive and quietly spoken and the manager is keen to know how to improve service and environment. We stayed only 4 nights and by the time we left I felt 'part of the family'. We enjoyed a large balcony room, which enabled plenty of room to move. Fittings were either the real deal or reproductions and luxurious curtains to help keep out the cold. A mini bar free of charge.

The rooms sit atop the cafe which one enters via a time warp. Pre Cold War style, and good wholesome food (I recommend the Goulash). At night a harp player performs his unique renditions while the resident canary sings along. Charm, charm, charm.

This hotel reflects a willingness to assist travellers and a yearning to come in to "the 22nd century" as our Manager intimated...however, I asked him not to step too far into the 22nd century, because we have lost a lot as a result.

I would recommend this hotel. There are the few tiny things such as having tissues in the room, but this is nothing compared to what the hotel achieves.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

I haven't checked in yet - that happens in September - but I have to say something about the professionalism and responsiveness of the staff in our email communications. Each of my emails was answered promptly, accurately, completely and in perfect English. I asked a lot of questions and got the information I needed to include suggestions to make our visit better.

Thanks so much Istvan Csoti, Bese Balásy, and Boglárka Bodó

You may want to email the hotel directly before making a reservation so you know the three different kinds of rooms they offer (standard, standard with guaranteed balcony, and fun looking attic rooms) and an early bird booking special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeithandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When planning a trip to Europe, we found it very difficult to find a room that would comfortably accommodate 3 teen/adults. The Gerloczy provided the perfect answer. We got two adjoining attic rooms. On their own each room was a tad small, but together they were perfect for us. And the price for the two rooms was less than a single room at most of the other hotels. Plus these rooms were not cookie cutter rooms; they had style and character galore.
As had been previously mentioned the beds were a bit on the hard side. But sleeping on top of the comforter did the trick. We could hear people in the hall and in the next room but it was not too annoying ~ most of the time. Being in the attic we got no street noise. We had no trouble with our rooms being too hot. Both of our rooms had showers. The amount of hot water and the water pressure were perfect. The drinks and snacks in the room were a nice touch.
At first we were taken aback by the 12 Euro add on per person for breakfast. But once we tasted the freshly baked croissants that first morning we didn't mind. We had large breakfasts and never went over our 12 Euros allotment.
Probably the best things about the Gerloczy were the location and the staff. The location could not be any better to explore the sites, cafes and restaurants of Pest. Virtually everything we wanted to see in Pest was in easy walking distance. Those very few that were a bit far to walk were easy to get to via the close Metro stops. It is the staff that takes the Gerloczy to the next level. Both before and during our trip the staff was such a big help in answering our questions and helping to book activities.
The only reasons the Gerloczy is not getting 5 stars is the hardness of the beds and room noise. Other than that those two things this boutique hotel is perfect. And neither will keep us from staying here again the next time we are in Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MomsABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Arrived late and had a quick check in. Had a large room on 3rd floor - lovely traditional looking rooms, with enough storage and seating space. Mini-fridge stocked daily with sparkling wine, beer, juice etc. - all free of charge. We stayed during October and it was unusually warm. We couldn't really regulate the heat in the room so had to open the windows. Had no issues with street noise as the hotel is set back from the main roads. The hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood and strolling around the area to find cafes, restos was lovely. The Danube is close and the HOHO buses also run nearby which is great. Service at the hotel was excellent - everyone was friendly and helpful with any questions we had. I loved going down for breakfast every day! The food was cooked fresh to order... the scrambled eggs and apricot jam were to die for. You get an allowance of 12 euro per person for breakfast, and you can easily eat a good breakfast with this amount. The hotel restaurant was very popular all day, with many locals and tourists stopping in to eat. The food is quite good and the servers knowledgeable about wine pairings. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Gerloczy and can understand why it has great ratings on TA. I would stay here again if I returned to Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a an excellent and centrally located boutique hotel, which clearly works hard to give guests a pleasant stay with very helpful staff etc. I have notched it down from a 5 to a 4 rating simply because some of the luxury was perhaps a little less than what i would expect for the price - things like the bed sheets and towels which felt "fine/OK" rather than "amazing/soft". But the fresh made sweet+savoury biscuits and the like were a lovely touch and i would recommend people try this for an intimate experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zer0433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is lovely, stylishly renovated 5 years ago it actually looked original. Have to say the staircase is awesome.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is great, though can get a little hot at times. Has live music most nights and serves wonderful food. Met the manager, who, like his staff, was obviously proud of this little hotel. He referred to it as a boutique hotel, but I think is it a Bijoux hotel as it is a little Gem!!

Perfect location for river and Christmas Markets, it made our stay even better.

The complimentary mini bar is a nice touch. Just loved it and will always stay there when I go to Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was our second visit to Budapest but our first to the Gerloczy. It was everything that we had hoped it would be. We stayed in a loft room for four nights, which was gorgeous - different and quirky. The free mini bar is a real asset and a very welcome addition to the experience. The hotel is perfectly located in this wonderful city and we were fortunate enough to be there at the time of the Christmas Markets which were the best we have visited. Overall, love Budapest and love the Gerloczy - would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
391 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,494 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#29 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing