We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$191
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Residence Budapest(Budapest)
US$237
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Castle Garden(Budapest)
US$108
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments(Budapest)
US$159
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Budapest City(Budapest)
US$102
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$138
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
609
163
32
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
163
32
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomfree mini barthe cafe downstairscharming hotelsmall hotelhigh ceilingssmall squarethe ground floorsparkling winefirst flooreach morningjewish quartera wonderful stayperfect locationside streetthe riverwithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This being my first visit to Budapest, I was completely taken by it.

The hotel is reminiscent of a by gone time when grace came before competition, attention came before dollars. The staff are attentive and quietly spoken and the manager is keen to know how to improve service and environment. We stayed only 4 nights and by the time we left I felt 'part of the family'. We enjoyed a large balcony room, which enabled plenty of room to move. Fittings were either the real deal or reproductions and luxurious curtains to help keep out the cold. A mini bar free of charge.

The rooms sit atop the cafe which one enters via a time warp. Pre Cold War style, and good wholesome food (I recommend the Goulash). At night a harp player performs his unique renditions while the resident canary sings along. Charm, charm, charm.

This hotel reflects a willingness to assist travellers and a yearning to come in to "the 22nd century" as our Manager intimated...however, I asked him not to step too far into the 22nd century, because we have lost a lot as a result.

I would recommend this hotel. There are the few tiny things such as having tissues in the room, but this is nothing compared to what the hotel achieves.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking the square
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I haven't checked in yet - that happens in September - but I have to say something about the professionalism and responsiveness of the staff in our email communications. Each of my emails was answered promptly, accurately, completely and in perfect English. I asked a lot of questions and got the information I needed to include suggestions to make our visit better.

Thanks so much Istvan Csoti, Bese Balásy, and Boglárka Bodó

You may want to email the hotel directly before making a reservation so you know the three different kinds of rooms they offer (standard, standard with guaranteed balcony, and fun looking attic rooms) and an early bird booking special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeithandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When planning a trip to Europe, we found it very difficult to find a room that would comfortably accommodate 3 teen/adults. The Gerloczy provided the perfect answer. We got two adjoining attic rooms. On their own each room was a tad small, but together they were perfect for us. And the price for the two rooms was less than a single room at most of the other hotels. Plus these rooms were not cookie cutter rooms; they had style and character galore.
As had been previously mentioned the beds were a bit on the hard side. But sleeping on top of the comforter did the trick. We could hear people in the hall and in the next room but it was not too annoying ~ most of the time. Being in the attic we got no street noise. We had no trouble with our rooms being too hot. Both of our rooms had showers. The amount of hot water and the water pressure were perfect. The drinks and snacks in the room were a nice touch.
At first we were taken aback by the 12 Euro add on per person for breakfast. But once we tasted the freshly baked croissants that first morning we didn't mind. We had large breakfasts and never went over our 12 Euros allotment.
Probably the best things about the Gerloczy were the location and the staff. The location could not be any better to explore the sites, cafes and restaurants of Pest. Virtually everything we wanted to see in Pest was in easy walking distance. Those very few that were a bit far to walk were easy to get to via the close Metro stops. It is the staff that takes the Gerloczy to the next level. Both before and during our trip the staff was such a big help in answering our questions and helping to book activities.
The only reasons the Gerloczy is not getting 5 stars is the hardness of the beds and room noise. Other than that those two things this boutique hotel is perfect. And neither will keep us from staying here again the next time we are in Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MomsABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Arrived late and had a quick check in. Had a large room on 3rd floor - lovely traditional looking rooms, with enough storage and seating space. Mini-fridge stocked daily with sparkling wine, beer, juice etc. - all free of charge. We stayed during October and it was unusually warm. We couldn't really regulate the heat in the room so had to open the windows. Had no issues with street noise as the hotel is set back from the main roads. The hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood and strolling around the area to find cafes, restos was lovely. The Danube is close and the HOHO buses also run nearby which is great. Service at the hotel was excellent - everyone was friendly and helpful with any questions we had. I loved going down for breakfast every day! The food was cooked fresh to order... the scrambled eggs and apricot jam were to die for. You get an allowance of 12 euro per person for breakfast, and you can easily eat a good breakfast with this amount. The hotel restaurant was very popular all day, with many locals and tourists stopping in to eat. The food is quite good and the servers knowledgeable about wine pairings. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Gerloczy and can understand why it has great ratings on TA. I would stay here again if I returned to Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a an excellent and centrally located boutique hotel, which clearly works hard to give guests a pleasant stay with very helpful staff etc. I have notched it down from a 5 to a 4 rating simply because some of the luxury was perhaps a little less than what i would expect for the price - things like the bed sheets and towels which felt "fine/OK" rather than "amazing/soft". But the fresh made sweet+savoury biscuits and the like were a lovely touch and i would recommend people try this for an intimate experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zer0433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews