We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #26 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Budapest”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Breakfast in the cafe was wonderful. We loved the pastries! Location is terrific--quiet area but walking distance to most things. We ate dinner in the cafe twice because it was so enjoyable. Delightful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    149
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
497
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There are so many positive reviews already, I will not repeat them, but will vouch for them. On top of that, the hotel staff will go out of their way to assist, direct, and save you from your mistakes when possible. Istvan made a big positive impact on our trip. In the cafe, the hard-working staff of all levels will please you with their service and delight with the food. I've seen a couple negative remarks and can only say, sometimes people attract the energy they give off. If you've got an "ugly american" (or ugly german, dutch, french, etc) attitude, you're not going to be able to appreciate the quality of the hotel, service, cafe, and the entire budapest experience. Stay home if you want it to be like home! This small hotel and cafe embodies the magic this country offers. We loved it!

Room Tip: There are rooms with showers or rooms with tubs. We had both. Loved the tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very comfortable rooms; extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff; excellent breakfasts. The location allowed us to walk everywhere we wanted to go, although we also found the tram/subways very easy to use when we needed them. A very good value for the money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend here recently and had a fabulous weekend. The building is beautiful and very well looked after. (The staircase is exceptional). We were lucky in having a room with a balcony which overlooked the outside terrace. The room itself was charming and well designed and in character with the house, and is set in an excellent location, central to all tourist sights, and only a short walk to cafes/bars and of course the river. Excellent value too for such a fabulous hotel. We would highly recommend to other Budapest travellers.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with balconies which you pay a little extra for, but worth it to sit out on a warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a Very Fine stay at the Gerlóczy Rooms deLux.
The location of this historic building in the Belvaros area was excellent--within easy walking distance to many sights and restaurants.
The service was also excellent and the breakfast very good.
The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable!
The room was clean and spacious [there was only a handheld shower in a wonderful claw foot tub which might be a drawback for some travelers].
My husband and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lffkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Would barely recognize it as a hotel from street. Think you are walking into small home as pass through wooden door. Really feels like "Old Europe", small, old fashioned wooden reception, stone stair case, just delightful! Rooms were simple, clean, nice, HUGE bathroom, but had European tub system. Big claw bathtub, but just a hose and no shower curtain. Hard not to get water on floor. The staff was very helpful with sightseeing advice and ordering taxis to be sure we wouldn't be ripped off. Hotel is in a great location. Just a few block walk to tram which is a great way to sight see the city. Also near Jewish Quarter with second-largest synagogue. Lots of outdoor cafes and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our favorite stay out of a five-city tour of central Europe. Charming rooms, helpful staff, great location. Breakfast was wonderful and dinner at the cafe was also very good. I would certainly recommend this to anyone staying in Budapest.

Room Tip: As a family group of four, the attic offered one room with a queen bed and an adjoining one with cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 333 in Budapest
1,097 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#13 of 333 in Budapest
300 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#41 of 333 in Budapest
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing