We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #29 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful building, romantic room, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, wonderful terrasse.
Free glass of Champagne waiting for you in the mini-bar. Free invitation for a cup of tee.
We had dinner there also. The quality of food was fine, not the amount. That's my only reproach. The rest was just perfect.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top, the "attic room". Smaller price, however the room was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valéry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We usually pick small local hotels in the heart of the city we are visiting making it easier to get around, and in that respect Gerloczy Rooms de Lux was perfect. But we were a bit disappointed in some aspects. When we got to our room, we found no soap bars (other amenities were there). On our way out we reported this to the front desk. We were told they ran out of soap bars but would get some within the hour. On our return we found NO soap in our room. It was not until the next afternoon did we get the soap. Our second problem was with the only mirror in the bathroom, one of those small round mirrors that hangs from the wall. It came off the wall as the bolt that held the mirror to the wall was not there. We reported this to the front desk. it was never fixed or replace during our 3 day stay at the hotel. We saw the Hotel manager the night before we were leaving, he was very apologetic about our problems. I also believe that Hotel Gerloczy Rooms de Lux to upgrade the bathroom fixtures (from what we saw in our room). No shower in our room very spartan sink, small round mirror hanging from wall. We understand this it not a 5 star hotel but it could use some newer fixtures.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend. Location is excellent, quiet area but near to attractions. The staff were very friendly. The room was very good. Our only real criticism is that the menus were bit limited, especially the breakfast menu. Not much choice for vegetarians. Tips are expected at restaurants in Budapest.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the cafe if you want a quiet night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks Gerloczy for the very pleasant stay. The room on the second floor with the balcony is overwhelming! The food an the breakfast in the café were very good too! A little extra: the mini bar is for free, which is very nice after coming "home" from a long walk in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When you pull up in front, you wonder what have I booked. Once you step inside, you know its great. The staff is so accomodating. They carry up your luggage...they call you to take it down and put it in cab when ready to leave. Cafe breakfast is great and included up to 24 euros I believe. The receptionist at the desk..all of them are pleasant and wonderful They speak English...The street is hard to find...but everyone knows the cafe so if you ask for that then you are around the corner. I recommend this for couples and family and singles. We are 76 and 81...we had a fabulous time and think it was well worth the money. One negative thing..the ends of our beds had kind of foot things that rise and we kept bumping our legs...eventually we just wrapped towels around them...that was the only problem. The place was really charming...We would return here if we returned to Budapest.

Room Tip: Just ask for what u want. They will try to meet your needs, but hotel has only 18 rooms and books up...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejmmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A delightful, quaint, well-located hotel in the heart of Pest. The location can hardly be beat - 2 blocks from subway and bus stops that go directly to the top attractions, blocks (in different directions) from the Jewish quarter, the Danube, the St Stephens - where there are dozens of restaurants, bars, stores, etc. Speaking of restaurants, there is a wonderful restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel, which serves breakfast included in your room rate. Give it a try for lunch, dinner or afternoon tea as the food, especially the pastries, are wonderful. The rooms are good sized for a European hotel and include very high ceilings. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful -- and they speak excellent English. The only things I can criticize would be the very hard beds (not unusual for a European hotel, but after a long day of sightseeing, my back was hoping for better) and the bathroom with only a tub (some rooms have showers, but not all, so ask for one if it's important to you). If I'm ever again in Budapest - and I hope to have the chance to return, it's such a beautiful city - this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimeToGoInNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed a few nights here and loved it. Rooms are all different (amazing doors!), quiet and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs means you need never go anywhere else to eat. Short walks to the centre of town. Really good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 333 in Budapest
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#14 of 333 in Budapest
353 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £77 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing