We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gerloczy, great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Ranked #28 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gerloczy, great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We're just back from 5 nights at the wonderful Gerloczy. We had a first floor room with balcony overlooking the restaurant. The room was excellent and the free mini bar is such a great idea especially after a day touring Budapest! The location is very central and convenient for shopping and visiting the various tourist attractions.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly both at the front desk (special mention here to Istvan!) and in the restaurant. Breakfast is a delight and we had excellent dinners on 4 nights.
We loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Budapest

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    145
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
489
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Location, location, location! Could walk almost everywhere, and the train was very close!We felt like we were home away from home! Our attic room was charming, breakfasts delicious and staff exceptionally friendly!

Room Tip: attic room was small but charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMKandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location - very central to many sites and easy access to metro and bus. Hotel is very clean. Front desk staff was very helpful. Our room was on corner of building so we got noise from two streets - as a result our room was noisy throughout the night. Cafe has great food - breakfasts were good and we even had dinner there one night and really enjoyed it. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the corner and with a shower (our friends had a bath only).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful building, romantic room, delicious breakfast, friendly staff, wonderful terrasse.
Free glass of Champagne waiting for you in the mini-bar. Free invitation for a cup of tee.
We had dinner there also. The quality of food was fine, not the amount. That's my only reproach. The rest was just perfect.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top, the "attic room". Smaller price, however the room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valéry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We usually pick small local hotels in the heart of the city we are visiting making it easier to get around, and in that respect Gerloczy Rooms de Lux was perfect. But we were a bit disappointed in some aspects. When we got to our room, we found no soap bars (other amenities were there). On our way out we reported this to the front desk. We were told they ran out of soap bars but would get some within the hour. On our return we found NO soap in our room. It was not until the next afternoon did we get the soap. Our second problem was with the only mirror in the bathroom, one of those small round mirrors that hangs from the wall. It came off the wall as the bolt that held the mirror to the wall was not there. We reported this to the front desk. it was never fixed or replace during our 3 day stay at the hotel. We saw the Hotel manager the night before we were leaving, he was very apologetic about our problems. I also believe that Hotel Gerloczy Rooms de Lux to upgrade the bathroom fixtures (from what we saw in our room). No shower in our room very spartan sink, small round mirror hanging from wall. We understand this it not a 5 star hotel but it could use some newer fixtures.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend. Location is excellent, quiet area but near to attractions. The staff were very friendly. The room was very good. Our only real criticism is that the menus were bit limited, especially the breakfast menu. Not much choice for vegetarians. Tips are expected at restaurants in Budapest.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the cafe if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks Gerloczy for the very pleasant stay. The room on the second floor with the balcony is overwhelming! The food an the breakfast in the café were very good too! A little extra: the mini bar is for free, which is very nice after coming "home" from a long walk in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
12 Revay Hotel
#31 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerloczy Rooms de Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerloczy Rooms de Lux

Property: Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Address: Gerloczy utca 1, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#32 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gerloczy Rooms de Lux 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GERLÓCZY: CAFÉ WITH ROOMS. There are 19 rooms above the café awaiting travellers seeking the authentic Gerlóczy feeling, including 15 standard rooms, two of which have balconies and four of which are attic rooms with exposed wooden beams. Rich interiors oozing turn-of-the-century atmosphere with modern touches. If you stay here, you'll be part of the vibrant life of a downtown café. Café Gerlóczy was chosen "The Best Café" in Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gerloczy Rooms de Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Hotel Budapest
Gerloczy Rooms De Lux Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing