We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpack King
Ranked #104 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homey little hostel”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We got a private twin bedroom at this hostel. The room was alright, but the best part of this hostel is the homey feel. I reckon this hostel was a converted flat. There seems to be about 5 rooms of different sizes.There is a living room in the middle of the hostel and a kitchen. Lots of people hung out in the living room which was very cozy! the reception is 24 hours so it feels safe and your stuff feels safe as well. The toilets are cleaned regularly which was great! Be sure to try the lemonade at the jewish hummus bar just downstairs to the right.

One thing that was difficult was the sign of the hostel is very very small. So just look out for the green and yellow sign selling sandwiches which is just next door. We took a taxi from the airport taxi stall (which is recommended as they give a set price instead of getting ripped off by random taxis!) to this area, and he pointed out the hostel to us.

There is a 24 hour convenience store on the left downstairs where you can get shampoo and body gel. And snacks too.

But the best best part of this hostel is the location, its literally a few seconds away from the St steven's basilica, so the area feels safe at all times, isn't too noisy as is away from the main highway, and is just a nice place to be!!!

Metro was just a short walk, located behind the basillica across the road!

hope you have a nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    20
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. It felt like we were staying in someone's home rather than a hostel. It was very good value for money. The staff were so friendly and always smiling. Around the time we stayed, late January, it was pretty quiet but that didnt matter. It was a nice place to relax, a decent lounge room, kitchen, computer etc and a fantastic location close to everything we would want to see.

I would definitely return to this place. The staff here are second to none. Everything is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I can't think of any faults with the hostel. The location is superb as a base for exploring the city being within easy walking distance of the major sights and transport links.

The staff are also really helpful and friendly. Whenever i had a query they were more than happy to help...calling friends and family if thats what it took!

The rooms were pretty basic but more than adaquate and had lockers by the beds. There is a common room and kitchen also if you want to cook your own food

All in all i had a good few nights here while in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We booked 2 bed apartment ensuite for 2 days. I should admit, It was my best stay ever. It was very close to city center. Damn clean. Very friendly staff. Worth for money. Best place to stay fro small family. Surely will recommend for others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vienna_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My two friends and I stayed in an apartment a few blocks away from the main hostel, where they put people who have booked the 3 bed rooms. While we were happy with the service we received throughout our stay, we were also a little disappointed in the room. I think the worst part was that the beds were basically stiff ikea sofa/futon-ish type things with sheets on top of them. They were very uncomfortable and not much better than the floor. Additionally, the towels that they provided for us smelled rotten. That being said, the room offered other advantages: a kitchen and a great, quiet location. If i returned to Budapest, I would fork up the extra cash and stay at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Excellent experience, excellent location, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, excellent staff - very helpful! They speak English, too. All information that you need to enjoy the city is provided right there at the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank student-eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I booked this hostel through hostelworld and used the reviews and photos on there to help me decide where to stay. We choose Central Backpack King and we were not disappointed. We arrived very late (1 am) and Daniel came down and greated us when we arrived. Told us where we could pick up some food and drinks, right next door. We had reserved a private 2 bed room with the shared bathroom. It was very cozy and the beds were good for the litle money we paid. The only issue I had with the bed was the pillow could have been better, but thats personal preference.
The bathrooms were clean and there was no limit of hot water! This was amazing coming from Rome where hot water is a problem. The towels for the bathroom were like hand towels but we did not have to pay for them so I wont complain too much. They have laundry on sight (for 8 euro) and have free tea, coffee, and internet. The common room was big and cozy and was often full of student travelers.
The location of the hostel was in the middle of a street that had road construction on both ends so no cars were going through it. It was a quiet location. St. Stephens Basillica is one block behind it and all of the main sights (besides the Baths) are within walking distance. I would definately stay here again and thank the staff for being so kind, hospitable, and informative! Loved Budapest and hopefully will return someday!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Hotel Central Basilica
Hotel Central Basilica
#87 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Centrum Hostel
Budapest Centrum Hostel
#98 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#108 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel SasOne
Hotel SasOne
#26 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
District V / Inner City
To-ma Apartments
To-ma Apartments
#172 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpack King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpack King

Property: Central Backpack King
Address: Oktober 6. utca 15 | 1st Floor 1st Door, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpack King 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Backpack King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing