We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Backpack King
Ranked #106 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, good location and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a cheap weekend break with a friend in a private room. Fairly basic but we couldn't have asked for more and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the other guests were a good crowd and it's a nice walk to the ruin bars. There's an awesome middle eastern restaurant next door too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiberdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    20
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İzmir
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

As a large group, we felt quite comfortable in a friendly and colourful atmosphere, we could cook our meals in the kitchen, had wifi everywhere in the hostel and went on foot to see most of the attractions of the city. River was two streets away and Saint Istvan Basilica was just 5 min on foot. If i go Budapest again i would definitely stay in the same hostel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozgurbenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There are cheaper places in Budapest if you're truly that thrifty. But I, for one, believes anything below a certain level is either a horrible "You get what you pay for" lesson or a scam. Both of which, I do not wish to experience on a holiday. The price is affordable enough for my measly student budget, and I got more than I wished for at that price range. The best thing is I am incredibly picky about the performance of a hostel and I was not disappointed. The staff was very courteous and the only complain I had was that the kitchen itself had a curfew (What?!). We could only use the kitchen from 7am to 10pm. I thought that was odd, but definitely not a deal-breaker. Would recommend to anyone on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in their studio apartment for 4 nights. It was spacious,clean and has its own kitchenware. It was also located in a convenient location.
We will probably stay there next time when we visited budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a really great experience - friendly staff, free tea and coffee, excellent location, clean facilities, nice sense of community. Definitely would recommend to other budget travelers. My only complaint was they forgot to mention the special Easter prices for the weekend I was there. Make sure to double check the prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Loved staying at this hostel, as it felt like staying in someone's home! We stayed here for 2 nights near the end of December in the 8 bed dorm room. Great location, right around the corner from St. Stephen's Basilica, and the friendliest staff! Felt very welcome upon arrival, which is always nice. Also got some great tips and information about Budapest. Felt safe and secure with 24 hour reception as well as a code and key to get in the main doors. Bathrooms, kitchen, living room and room were all kept very clean. Only complaint is that there is sometimes quite a wait to use the bathroom, as there are only 2 showers and 3 toilets. Other than that absolutely fantastic place to stay. Would definitely come back here again, and hope to... because Budapest is simply amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlyn_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanic Grad, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed her for our weekend in Budapest. Hostel staff is very kind and helpful. Looks nice, colorful, big rooms. Clean toilets and showers. You can use 2 kitchens and wifi, tea and coffee. Location is great, in nightlife and historical centre. Great price.. See you again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaLa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#35 of 334 in Budapest
1,149 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Centrum Hostel
Budapest Centrum Hostel
#97 of 653 in Budapest
136 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 653 in Budapest
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Boomerang Hostel and Apartments
District V / Inner City
To-ma Apartments
To-ma Apartments
#179 of 653 in Budapest
52 reviews
District V / Inner City
SOM BASILICA Hostel & Apartment
SOM BASILICA Hostel & Apartment
#303 of 653 in Budapest
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpack King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpack King

Property: Central Backpack King
Address: Oktober 6. utca 15 | 1st Floor 1st Door, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 653 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpack King 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Central Backpack King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing