We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but horrible rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Backpack King
Ranked #103 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but horrible rooms”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Central back pack king had 91 percent on hostel world. That's why I booked it. The staff were lovely, as was everyone in Budapest and the location was the best you could ever hope for. However the hostel it's self was horrendous. 2 showers. One leeks and neither of them have a holder for the shower head. You had to hold the head the whole time and wash with one hand. The beds were like foam mattresses on the floor, the pillow was lumpy and the bedding was at least 10 years old. So thin it wouldn't even keep you warm in the summer. The room was dark with no natural light. The room was very loud and echoed a lot. Don't get much sleep. The only thing that made it worth it was staff and location. They need to invest some money to make it worth the £15 a night we paid though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    20
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We ( 5 girls aged 23) have just returned from a 3 night stay at Central Backpack King hostel and we loved it. We booked a 5 bed dorm with a shared bathroom as we wanted privacy in our own room. We received a warm welcome from the owner who was very hlepful in reccomending all the best sights to see and places to go. We paid through the hostel and booked the bar crawl of the ruin pubs and the Szechenyi baths with massage. This was extremely convenient as the hostel were able to call ahead and ensure the bar crawl was running and there were free appointments for the massages.

The room was clean and comfortable. The beds were simple and we also had a table in the middle which was good for drinking. There were bathrooms on our floor which were always clean.

I would definitely come back and visit Central Backpack King and would reccomend others!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

good position, nice staff, prices ok, you can drink and chat in the living room no bothering about noise and so on. unfortunately, the place is worse then many hostels i've been in Europe...very small spaces,bathrooms often wet. That's why i can't rate it more, but i feel like suggesting it to a group of friends, possibly young

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nando_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed three days in a ensuite, me and two of my friends

It was cozy and clean...the staff are really nice too

It is located to saint Stephan Cathedrale which is a famous touristic attraction and Andrassy Street, the Champs Elysees of Budapest, a walking distance

i would go back to it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We went there for NYE and we were all surprised by the welcoming atmosphere of this hostel. It's clean, we had a private room at the second floor for our group. Good service and nice decoration. Felt like home !
The location is just perfect in downtown Budapest where everything is around !

We will come back !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hostel was the best I have ever stayed at. It is a little sketchy when you are first walking into the building and finding the hostel, but as soon as you walk in the door, settle in, and communicate with the staff you realize you have hit the jackpot! CBK is very centrally located on a strip of fantastic restaurants (definitely hit up Soup Culture) and within walking distance to anywhere you want to see. I have never met such a friendly and welcoming staff. The perks of the hostel are really nice (free towels, coffee, tea, a nice kitchen... their hairdryer could be slightly more functional but its forgivable) and they give great advice on where to eat or go out. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Budapest. Everyone was so nice and I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmh826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a cheap weekend break with a friend in a private room. Fairly basic but we couldn't have asked for more and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the other guests were a good crowd and it's a nice walk to the ruin bars. There's an awesome middle eastern restaurant next door too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiberdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Magazine Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Hotel Central Basilica
Hotel Central Basilica
#87 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Centrum Hostel
Budapest Centrum Hostel
#96 of 638 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#110 of 638 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel SasOne
Hotel SasOne
#26 of 638 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
District V / Inner City
To-ma Apartments
To-ma Apartments
#177 of 638 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpack King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpack King

Property: Central Backpack King
Address: Oktober 6. utca 15 | 1st Floor 1st Door, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 638 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpack King 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Central Backpack King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing