We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, elegant and sooooo quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regnum Residence
Ranked #70 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, elegant and sooooo quiet!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We decided to stay here because the price was great and breakfast was included, unlike with some of the other hotels. What a good choice! Don't let initial fears about the location of the hotel stay with you too long. It is in a more quiet, authentic part of the city, where lots of locals live and this is, indeed, one of the many advantages of staying here. The Canadian Embassy is directly opposite. The underground was a 5 minute walk along the river, looking at the marvellous Parliament buildings....an absolute pleasure every day, I can tell you. The underground is fast, efficient and you can get from a to b cheaply and happily. The hotel is near Margaret Island, with it's parks etc. A 10 minute walk along the river northwards will get you to the best well-kept thermal baths secret in Budapest...the Veli Bej baths. No tourists, no bathing caps needed and no sandals/flip-flops needed. Just take a towel. Elegant and quiet.The Regnum staff were so incredibly friendly and efficient. Nothing was a problem for them. Good quality breakfasts with some great breads!!! Lots of choice for veggies and meat eaters alike. We slept like babies as, not only is this a quiet part of the city but our room also overlooked an unused garden/courtyard. The corridors are all beautifully carpeted and there is mediatation music piped throughout the hotel. A lovely, relaxing ambiance and the place feels like a real retreat when you come back after pounding the streets for the day. Everything about it has the feel-good factor. Well done Regnum!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    323
    72
    14
    9
See reviews for
186
405
47
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived on a late flight via the hotels taxi transfer service and when we went to check in were pleasantly surprised to hear we had been upgraded to a suite. This was fantastic as we were staying for a week. The suite was a generous size and had a balcony which I had wanted but when we were there Budapest/Hungary was in the middle of a heat wave and it was too hot to sit out. As others have said the location is very quiet and safe but it is easy to travel across Margit Hid on the tram into Pest, or walk down to the metro and go under the Danube, for more excitement/ shopping etc. We were in Budapest for the Sziget festival and the Regnum Residence was ideal for travelling on the HEV to and from the festival as the HEV was running all through the night - so no taxis needed!!
Breakfast was a buffet style with an assortment of hot and cold foods. My husband relished the scrambled eggs which usually had two styles to choose from. I enjoyed the pastries and the watermelon which was sweet. My only negative comment is about the coffee because I have to drink very strong espresso and the machine although convenient was not up my usual Nespresso at home.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The top floor has the large balconies and good views of the Var.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wedemark, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The Regnum Residence Hotel is, I think, for both families and business people a good choice a bit outsidebof Budapest city center. Staff was very friendly, Hotel surrounding is very quiet, clean and safe (Embassies are neighbours). My room was a normal room, no business upgrade,... it was very comfortable, clean and new. Continental breakfast with some Hungarian touch, also a small bar with some places outside belong to the hotel.
There is a very easy but brillant beer pub next to the hotel at Ganz Utca. They brew their own beers and have lots of very good beers from all over the wirld bottled. From the hotel it is a nice 1.6 km walk over the Margareten (?) Bridge into downtown: huge and very good shopping mall West End ( next to the Hilton Hotel). Jogging over the bridge and throughout the Margareten (?) Island within the river us about a very nice 10km trip.
I enjoyed my stay and will certainly take this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphansen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very good value for money (great rooms, nice general design, convenient location) except three things : parking (there is one but not included and the cops don't leave you a moment to unpack your car before dropping a fine) and lack of real squeezed orange juice + good knives for the breakfast (two major issues within most European Hôtels).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raynaldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Thank You so much. It's been absolutely worth booking at this hotel for our holidays in Budapest. Everything has just been perfect. We got a beautiful and spacious room on the fifth floor with a huge terrace facing the west (which was even too sunny for us if we happened to be in our room in the early afternoon). We either can not find anything negative to say about breakfast as it covers all expectations of what you call a continental breakfast (BTW: Do not miss the buttery and tasty selection of pastries). Hotel staff has always been extremely kind and helpful regarding our questions and requests. They even made us some useful recommendations about the city (e. g. which thermal bath was [or was not] more suitable for us). Regarding location, it takes 25-30 minutes walking to reach the city center. We enjoy walking when abroad and, as this walk follows along the Danube with the magnificent views to the Hungarian Parliament and to the beautiful bridges connecting Buda and Pest, location was absolutely no issue. Köszönöm again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Regnum Residence 6th to 12th August and were really impressed with the professional, helpful and friendly reception staff particularly Kitti. All our queries were responded to positively. The room was great on the 5th floor with our own roof terrace. Good wifi and air conditioning. We were attending the Sziget Festival and the hotel was in a perfect location for easy access to the direct train and boat service. The area is quiet but it is a short walk or metro to busier Pest on the other side of the Danube.

Thanks to all the team at the Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ynys Môn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived in Budapest early after an overnight train from Berlin but the receptionist sorted out our room straight away ... and what a room. A spacious suite with a double bed in one room and a double sofa-bed in the other for the kids ... and the all important air conditioning for those stifling hot Budapest summer days/nights.

The hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly, breakfast was good too.

A 5 minute walk to the Batthyány tér metro station meant we had the option to hop on a metro from wherever we'd been visiting, but to be honest, we walked home most nights as nowhere is really that far in Budapest!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blogdroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Property: Hotel Regnum Residence
Address: Ganz utca 8, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing