We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel overall, beware of PARKING!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regnum Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Regnum Residence
Ranked #68 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel overall, beware of PARKING!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hello,

The hotel is nice and looks bit a luxury as you enter the reception, if you look at the buildings nearby. The rooms were a bit darken (there is no very much light coming into the room) or at least this was my first impression.

The living room has a 32inch TV with 20 TV channels (mostly in Hungarian) and an extendable couch. In the bedroom you will find a king-sized bed, but without TV.

The minibar contains only 2 bottles of water: still & sparkling and nothing else.

The breakfast is not so good - you can eat something though - it's average.

PARKING space: the hotel has it's own private underground parking and it's like 13 EUR/day. The biggest problem is the access into the parking. Once you enter the parking area, there is no way out. Even with parking sensors, it is very hard to get in if you have a longer car. There is a huge drop there. I needed at least 5 minutes to enter the parking lot and beside of the very high slope there was also a curve which forced me to succeeded my parking maneuver by few centimeters.

At night, I was very worried, how I could get my car out of there and indeed in the morning, I had troubles, because my car uses rear-wheel drive and because of the high slope, the wheels were slipping.
------------------------

So, as a conclusion: if you arrive here without a car, the hotel is very good, located near the Danube - you can easily take a walk and admire the city lights at night and eat at one of the numerous restaurants around.

But, if you are going by car, please avoid this hotel, unless you want to live a nightmare. Of course, if you drive a smaller car like a MINI, this shouldn't apply to you.
---------

A message to the hotel management: this is my only complaint to you - the parking entrances. Please make something to solve this issue. I expect a reply from you. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarina P, Manager at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much that you chose Regnum Residence for your stay in Budapest and also to inform us about your experiences.

We would like to give you some answers on your experiences, like you asked us to do so:

We are happy that you liked your room, we have 2 types of rooms (superior and suite). The superior has not a living room and so the bed is in the same place as the TV. Like you mentioned the suite has a separate living room with TV and a separate bedroom with no TV.
We provide a lot of Hungarian channels but besides those we have also at least one channel in following languages: English, German, French, Italian, Spanish.

In every room there is a minibar where we give sparkling and still water + tea and coffee for free! Every day the used tea and water is been replaced by new bottles.
Beside this you can buy a minibar package and a sweet package at our reception (alcoholic drinks, chips, ...)

Our parking place cost is 12 euro/day. (Full day parking outside in the streets, will cost you 17Eur/day). We are very sorry for the problems which you had in our garage.
Some guests do have sometimes problems and other guests (also with big cars like VW Touareg) do not have this problems.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and hope to see you back in the near future.

Best regards

Katarina Pucsok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    319
    69
    14
    8
See reviews for
184
400
47
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great welcome on our arrival, the staff were happy and extremely attentive. Andras was so helpful throughout our stay....nothing was too much trouble. He certainly is a great asset to the hotel. The hotel is relatively new and consequently the interior is up to date, clean and accommodating. Our room was cleaned spotlessly each day. It was spacious, had a well appointed en suite with all the mod cons.The bed was a super king size with very comfortable independent mattresses. Breakfast is buffet style with hot or cold offerings and plenty of fruit, cereals and yogurts. We loved the location of the hotel on the quieter side, Buda. The Pest side of the city is only a 15 minute walk away across the Margit bridge. Take a tram across, get off at the end of the bridge and catch a tram which takes you along the Danube (with it on your right hand side) and stops at frequent intervals for walks into the city. Buy yourself a 2 day "Hop on,Hop off Red Bus" ticket which also covers night tours and a boat trip on the Danube....great value...Tickets can be purchased at the hotel. Thank you REGNUM and BENNY who is finding out where I can buy those comfortable mattresses!!!......ENJOY !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hugh1972XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emese T, Director of Sales at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us excellent comments on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad you liked your stay that much, this is a great feedback to us.

We hope you already found the matrass, and you can enjoy it in your home, as well.

We hope we can welcome you as our Guest again.

Kind regards,
Ms. Emese Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

What's to say except that this far exceeded our expectations- fab location, clean and attractive rooms...a place you want to collapse into bed at night after a day of adventures! Highly recommend this place- posiives all round!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emese T, Director of Sales at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us excellent feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely happy to read that you would highly reccomend our hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming your friends, family or yourself again to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Ms. Emese Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Regnum Residence for a night. The lobby is well lighted and the staffs are friendly and accomodating. The room is spacious and well lighted, has its own balcony, separate toilet and bath. There is enough cabinet for your clothes. The room has its own small living and dinning room (sits 4 person). The wifi is super fast. If you come to budapest stay at HOTEL REGNUM RESIDENCE.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank De N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emese T, Director of Sales at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us excellent feedback on Tripadvisor.

I was happy to read that you had a good experience staying with us, and you would highly reccomend our hotel.

I hope we can welcome you as our Guest an other time, as well.

Kind Regards,
Ms. Emese Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here for a weekend with the family in May 2014. Very polite personell, clean and large family room, beds were good and the location of the hotel was also very good. Public transport nearby. Very good connections to the centre of the city and nearby the Danube.We would recommend this place for your stay in budapest.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hens20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I had a very nice stay at Hotel Regnum. When we got there, we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a nicer room. Unfortunately, it turned out that there were maintenance issues with the room and we were going to have to move. The woman who spoke with us was extremely apologetic and moved us to the nicest room in the hotel. She even gave us a bottle of champagne to help make up for it. The breakfast at the hotel was free and had a wide variety of foods available: fruits, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, cereal and a variety of coffee options. The rooms (even the first one) were very nice and the beds were comfortable. It was in a nice, quiet area of the city but still convenient to the metro. The staff was very helpful with information about the city and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emese T, Director of Sales at Hotel Regnum Residence, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Regnum team I would like to thank you for your kind comments and for having chosen to spend with us your vacation.

I am pleased to read that you had a great time in our hotel, and we are sorry again for the maintenance problem.

Your comments on regards of our receptionist are highly appreciated and extremely encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Regnum Residence.

Best ragerds,
Ms. Emese Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week. It is a very convenient location for seeing the city, only a short walk to the nearest metro station. Our room was spacious with a separate lounge area, bathroom and toilet, fridge, tea/coffee etc. Nice and quiet part of the city on the Buda side of the river. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke very good English. On day 3 I sprained my ankle, and the staff were really kind and helpful; they located a medical supplies place from which we were able to hire some crutches, so that I could still get around. Then when I was in the hotel they provided ice packs on a regular basis. Very helpful indeed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#57 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#26 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regnum Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regnum Residence

Property: Hotel Regnum Residence
Address: Ganz utca 8, Budapest 1027, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regnum Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regnum Residence is a newly built four star hotel situated in downtown Budapest with excellent access to the main public transportation facilities. Historical Castle District and the Danube are just a few steps away, while downtown area is in 5 minutes reach as well. Designed in minimalist-inspired style, the hotel satisfies the desires of business and leisure travelers seeking intimate surroundings, functional accommodations and the ultimate in modern comfort, all complimented by attentive and experienced personnel. Hence the great location rooms are quiet and spacious with high speed internet access. Complimentary WIFI access is also available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Regnum Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing