We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I have just returned from a stay at this hotel and thought it was lovely. It quite new and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and modern. Although there wasn't a huge selection at breakfast, what was there was very tasty. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but there is a large terrace outside which is nice to relax on hot afternoons. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only downside of the hotel was that the 'bar' (which is located in the restaurant, no separate) didn't seem to stay open as late as advertised and was usually closed before 10.00pm. On the occasions that we did get back to the hotel in time we felt that the staff wanted to cash up and get going asking for us to pay for drinks first.

The hotel is located in the Castle district and is a short walk from all of the sites on the Buda side of the river. Also there is an excellent bus service close by. We ate in several of the local restaurants and over six days had great meals in all of them, watch out for the wine prices which are very inflated.

Overall I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2FoxTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GezaF, Reception at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear 2FoxTravellers!

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your staying in our hotel! IRegarding the restaurant, I would like to thank you for your note, we have informed the restaurant manager about the situation, which will make them paying attention to the open hours of the bar specially in busy period. I do hope that despite of this fact, you had a great time with us.

If you would like to visit us again, we are at your disposal anytime!

Agnes Baranyai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    306
    35
    20
    5
See reviews for
127
452
74
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boise, id
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Hotel is located in the castle district and close to any public transportation.Reception is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and clean, the air condition was not working efficiently, the room never really cooled off. The bathroom did not have an electrical outlet which was little bit of a problem. Breakfast was good and sufficient. The on- side restaurant has a nice outside area to sit in.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel is located right next to the castle gates on the Buda side. It is very good: well-appointed rooms, good breakfasts, a reasonably priced and very pleasant restaurant for dinner, additional touches like a welcoming glass of wine or champagne; coffee, tea, drinks and snacks are available free during the day, The staff were excellent and very helpful. For the price, this is the ideal hotel, unless you can afford the Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel is located in "Buda" part of the town, just outside the castle and the enclosed pedestrian area. I did travel by car but the hotel is really good position for public and touristic transport (hop-on, hop-off) routes too. ideal comfort for visiting the town and enjoying also the good food from hotel's restaurant with buffet breakfast and 4 star italian restaurant menu with reasonable prices. dinner for 2 including wine bottle around 7000 HUF. menu was 50% italian and 50% local. Rooms are comfortable, elegant and some rooms have a private terrace with table and chairs, lovely for summer and sunny seasons.

Room Tip: ask for room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianomedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Rooms were modern and immaculate, breakfast spread was quite good, and the staff was super friendly and accomodated our late arrival and late check-out. It's a bit of an uphill climb to get to from the closest metro station and the river, but its a short walk to the castle and St. Matthias church. The on-site restaurant is good (though a bit expensive) as well - try the peach soup!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel is conveniently located close to Buda castle and some major sights. We did have a car though which we found essential in Budapest but there was also public transport close by. There were 3 of us so the double room was small and the third bed was an uncomfortable fold out but this is an unusual number and other than that the hotel is amazing! Breakfast is an incredible array of Hungarian specialties and the hotel even went to the trouble of getting soy milk for me. The hotel is in a great setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful going out of their way to be of assistance and not charging for every little request. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Write_On_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I spent a very pleasant week in this hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect everything is so close on foot and the public transport is exellent too.
The ladies at the reception was very helpful, answered all questations promptly and with smile.
The room was very clean and the equiment also modern.
I loved this hotel and during my next trip I will stay here. I will recommend this hotel all of my friends!
That's for sure!

Room Tip: Panorama room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriellquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
883 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
575 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing