We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #37 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel Castle Garden for 1 night only. The hotel is fantastic, the stuff very helpful. And the restaurant excellent. It is located in the castle area, so for those who do not mind walking it is a good choice. Nina

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaPragueGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear ‘NinaPragueGuide’,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased to hear you had a memorable stay in our hotel and I hope we can welcome you back in our Hotel Castle Garden maybe for a longer weekend trip next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a beautiflul 4 star property located in the heart of Budapest ! It is close to the Buda castle, which is a famous attraction in Budapest. The nearest metro and bus hub is just a 10-15 minutes walk away. The it is located in a peaceful surrounding. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The staff is welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are value for money. If you want to try some good Hungarian cuisine, you have to try the food at the Restaurant Riso located in the hotel by the garden. Highly recommended for a tourist !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear ‘atishay78’,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and our location and rooms suited your needs. We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is in a terrific location on the border of the old town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and quite large with very comfortable bathrooms and excellent showers. Breakfast is basic hotel fare but on the ground floor (beats a basement any day!). The customer service is excellent (I left my hat and they posted it back to the UK). I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear ‘gtma’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden in Budapest and you were satisfied with our rooms and facilities. Also nice to see that we could meet your expectations and we could help you to return your hat.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Budapest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Four of us stayed for four nights for new years. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel was in a great location next to the castle. It wasn't in the city centre but there is still plenty to do in the old town. Would definitely stay there again next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choogirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear ’ChoogirlUk’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear our staff could fulfill all your needs and you were satisfied with our quiet and historical location.
It would be an honour to welcome you back again in the near future in our Hotel Castle Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel itself:
It was a very clean, modern and comfortable hotel. The staff is very friendly and they all speak excellent English. The bathrooms were also beautiful with modern tiling and a big sink. It's nice to come home to that at the end of the day after having walked around the city all day long.

Location:
The neighborhood is very calm, almost no noise whatsoever at night, and it's in the castle district which is good for at least a half-day of your vacation. In addition, there are metro/trams down the hill about 3-5 minute walk away. Some reviewers said that it was annoying that the hotel was on a hill... but that is beyond exaggerated. The "hill" isn't steep and the walk is short... I am not athletic in the least, and it didn't even get my heart rate up. There's a lot of places at the metro station where you can get breakfast next to the metro stations, and if you are looking for an ultra-cheap meal, there is a restaurant to the left of McDonald's that is an all you can eat buffet for €4. It's not the best food ever, but if you're on a budget it's nice to have that next to the hotel.

Extras:
After our stay, they offered us and our friends a 10% discount on our next stay with them. They also offer 3% discount if you pay in cash. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but it looked like a nice place with a nice, modern interior and a patio which I imagine would be great in the spring and summer.

My only complaint is that there wasn't an electrical outlet in the bathroom (but this might have only been our room).

Couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabouterke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear ’Kabouterke’,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travellers. I really appreciate your kind words regarding your last stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am delighted to hear you were satisfied with all our services, our rooms and the location. We are especially proud of your statement: „Couldn’t have been happier!”
We are already looking forward to accommodat you during your next visit to Budapest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We did not have to regret booking this hotel. The location was very good since it is very close to the old town. The metro station with connection to Pest was also within a short walking distance. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
The room was very clean and comfortable. I especially liked the bathroom that was spacious and had a bathtub. Besides visiting the baths during daytime I couldn't resist making a hot bath in the night as well. Moreover, the bed was comfy and it was a good thing to have a water cooker and teabags in the room. (note- there was only tea, but no coffee in the room).
Breakfast was okay, it had a nice selection but on the other hand, nothing surprising. The tea selection at the breakfast conisted mostly of fruity teabags, not much black or green tea was available. Croissants and pain aux chocolate was a nice thing. The food, coffee and milk started to finish up about 30 min before the end of breakfast.
An added bonus was the Italian restaurant in the same building (where the breakfast was served in the morning). They had tasty pizzas and reasonable pricing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially when visiting Budapest in the summertime. In the winter the old town was quite quiet and we found us more on the Pest side (wonderful Christmas markets). In the summer the old town is probably the hot spot and then Castle Garden would have a superb location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear ’Marianne S’,
First and foremost let me thank you for your detailed and positive review about your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am delightend to read we could meet your expectations and you had a memorable time in Budapest.
We are really looking forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again in near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed there for two night in October and I look forward to an other 7 nights in January!!!
Great sevice at the reception, clean rooms, friendliy stuff and not to forget the excellent Restaurant attached to the Hotel :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear ‘Doninique F’,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a peasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden in October and therefore you stayed with us again! Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our services and the excellent kitchen in the restaurant.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you next time again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 336 in Budapest
1,388 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#39 of 336 in Budapest
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#14 of 336 in Budapest
756 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £41 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing