We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazaing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castle Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazaing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 3-4 nights. Very nice hotel, staff was very helpful and courteous. Location was a little out of the way, but definitely worth staying at. Gardens around the hotel were very nice. Metro was 10-15 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear ’Jana G’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you had a memorable stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Budapest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    297
    33
    19
    5
See reviews for
125
437
74
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, it was clean in all areas. Comfortable beds, constant hot water with decent pressure.
Staff speak excellent English and they are very attentive and very helpful.
Breakfast was really good. The hotel is based in a good location, on the doorstep of the castle and the hospital in the rock.
It's within walking distance of most attractions, but you can get the hop on hop off bus in the castle grounds.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear ‘Yorkieinlondon’,
Let me kindly thank you for your review about your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I really appreciate your kind words and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful staff and good services. We would be happy to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in our lovely city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel Castle Garden for 1 night only. The hotel is fantastic, the stuff very helpful. And the restaurant excellent. It is located in the castle area, so for those who do not mind walking it is a good choice. Nina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaPragueGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ‘NinaPragueGuide’,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased to hear you had a memorable stay in our hotel and I hope we can welcome you back in our Hotel Castle Garden maybe for a longer weekend trip next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
171 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a beautiflul 4 star property located in the heart of Budapest ! It is close to the Buda castle, which is a famous attraction in Budapest. The nearest metro and bus hub is just a 10-15 minutes walk away. The it is located in a peaceful surrounding. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The staff is welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are value for money. If you want to try some good Hungarian cuisine, you have to try the food at the Restaurant Riso located in the hotel by the garden. Highly recommended for a tourist !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ‘atishay78’,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and our location and rooms suited your needs. We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is in a terrific location on the border of the old town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and quite large with very comfortable bathrooms and excellent showers. Breakfast is basic hotel fare but on the ground floor (beats a basement any day!). The customer service is excellent (I left my hat and they posted it back to the UK). I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ‘gtma’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden in Budapest and you were satisfied with our rooms and facilities. Also nice to see that we could meet your expectations and we could help you to return your hat.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Four of us stayed for four nights for new years. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel was in a great location next to the castle. It wasn't in the city centre but there is still plenty to do in the old town. Would definitely stay there again next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choogirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear ’ChoogirlUk’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad to hear our staff could fulfill all your needs and you were satisfied with our quiet and historical location.
It would be an honour to welcome you back again in the near future in our Hotel Castle Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel itself:
It was a very clean, modern and comfortable hotel. The staff is very friendly and they all speak excellent English. The bathrooms were also beautiful with modern tiling and a big sink. It's nice to come home to that at the end of the day after having walked around the city all day long.

Location:
The neighborhood is very calm, almost no noise whatsoever at night, and it's in the castle district which is good for at least a half-day of your vacation. In addition, there are metro/trams down the hill about 3-5 minute walk away. Some reviewers said that it was annoying that the hotel was on a hill... but that is beyond exaggerated. The "hill" isn't steep and the walk is short... I am not athletic in the least, and it didn't even get my heart rate up. There's a lot of places at the metro station where you can get breakfast next to the metro stations, and if you are looking for an ultra-cheap meal, there is a restaurant to the left of McDonald's that is an all you can eat buffet for €4. It's not the best food ever, but if you're on a budget it's nice to have that next to the hotel.

Extras:
After our stay, they offered us and our friends a 10% discount on our next stay with them. They also offer 3% discount if you pay in cash. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but it looked like a nice place with a nice, modern interior and a patio which I imagine would be great in the spring and summer.

My only complaint is that there wasn't an electrical outlet in the bathroom (but this might have only been our room).

Couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabouterke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear ’Kabouterke’,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travellers. I really appreciate your kind words regarding your last stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am delighted to hear you were satisfied with all our services, our rooms and the location. We are especially proud of your statement: „Couldn’t have been happier!”
We are already looking forward to accommodat you during your next visit to Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#31 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing