We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to hotelgarden and their staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #38 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I want to thank Hotelgarden and their staff for the beautifull time we had in their hotel. The hotel is nice, staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and the bathroom is very clean.
Also the restaurant offers very good meals for honest prices.
It has a distance to the center but we did not experience any trouble finding public transport, and we where there in january, the calmest period of the year.
I highly recommend this hotel and again many thanks to the staff.
We appreciated your attention for my girlfriends birthday very much!

Room Tip: If you smoke you can ask a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume_Catry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear ’G uillaume_Catry’
Thank you very much for your lovely review about your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am pleased to read you were satisfied with our services and attentive staff. We are glad that we could help to make your girlfriends birthday to something special. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends and relatives in the near furute!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

A very reasonably-priced hotel in the thick of the Castle District. Clean, tidy, with friendly and helpful staff, on a quiet street.

It's only lost a star due to the disappointment of the attached restaurant having a private party on one night, with thumping music well past midnight. It's a shame because all other times were really quiet. Take some earplugs just in case this happens while you're there. The hotel did give us a bottle of wine when we complained about this though, which was a nice gesture.

A couple of reviewers have marked down the hotel on location, but do your research and work out what you want from Budapest. If you want a quiet area very near the Castle, with good transport links (it's just five minutes walk to the nearest Metro station) then this is superb. If you want to be in the thick of bars then don't stay here. In fact there are very few bars at all, with the excellent Oscar cocktail bar a couple of minutes walk away a welcome exception. Restaurant-wise the Castle is full of upmarket options, not cheap but a few that won't break the bank (we went to Pest Buda, which was great), and the hotel restaurant, an Italian called Riso, was very good, with a 15% hotel guest discount on already reasonable prices, although a fairly limited menu may mean you don't want to eat there too often during your stay.

Don't go looking for bars in the Castle though, there are virtually none, and our only trip was an unpleasant visit to the Fortuna Nightclub (not to be confused with the Fortuna Hotel), a seedy venue which charged tourist scam prices and we found out too late was on the official list of venues tourists should avoid at all costs for overcharging. Luckily we only had one drink!

So in conclusion a good value hotel, which did us well for our stay, with just one blip of an annoying noisy night. Just do your research and work out what you want from your stay, as the location may not be for everyone, but if you want to spend your time in the beautiful Castle District, at a reasonably priced hotel, it's ideal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear ‘Pjmella’,
First ande foremost let me thank you for your honest review about your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I regret to read you could not sleep one night due to a private event in the Riso Restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant is managed by a separate person. For this reason we sadly can not really influence the events held in the restaurant area, but if you return next time we will accommodate you on the second floor far away from the restaurant so you can throughout enjoy your stay! Nevertheless I am really happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay in our Hotel and you were satisfied with our location, reasonable prices and our friendly and attentive staff. We truly hope you will returne to our Hotel Castle Garden for your next trip to Budapest and we can make your stay a 5 next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of January and what an amazing find this place was. Situated right next to the castle wall it's in a lovely quiet location within easy walking distance of the main tourist attractions. Staff were friendly and the restaurant served good well priced food. We used the wellness room while there which was definitely worth the 5 Euros we paid as after all the walking around Budapest was able to chill for a few hours privately in the Jacuzzi and sauna. Rooms were clean, spacious and modern with a lovely big comfortable bed. I recommend booking taxi's through reception as you will get a good deal from them.
Will definitely be returning in the future and recommending to all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yid4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

’Dear ’Jid4ever’,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for taking the tome to review us on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear our quiet and historical location found you well and you could reach easily all sights you wanted to visit. On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for your positive words regarding our efficient and helpful staff and offered services. We would be grateful if we would have the opportunity to welcome you or your friends back in Hotel Castle Garden in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 3-4 nights. Very nice hotel, staff was very helpful and courteous. Location was a little out of the way, but definitely worth staying at. Gardens around the hotel were very nice. Metro was 10-15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear ’Jana G’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you had a memorable stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Budapest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great place to stay, it was clean in all areas. Comfortable beds, constant hot water with decent pressure.
Staff speak excellent English and they are very attentive and very helpful.
Breakfast was really good. The hotel is based in a good location, on the doorstep of the castle and the hospital in the rock.
It's within walking distance of most attractions, but you can get the hop on hop off bus in the castle grounds.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear ‘Yorkieinlondon’,
Let me kindly thank you for your review about your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I really appreciate your kind words and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding our helpful staff and good services. We would be happy to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in our lovely city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel Castle Garden for 1 night only. The hotel is fantastic, the stuff very helpful. And the restaurant excellent. It is located in the castle area, so for those who do not mind walking it is a good choice. Nina

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaPragueGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear ‘NinaPragueGuide’,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased to hear you had a memorable stay in our hotel and I hope we can welcome you back in our Hotel Castle Garden maybe for a longer weekend trip next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a beautiflul 4 star property located in the heart of Budapest ! It is close to the Buda castle, which is a famous attraction in Budapest. The nearest metro and bus hub is just a 10-15 minutes walk away. The it is located in a peaceful surrounding. The rooms are neat, clean and tidy. The staff is welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are value for money. If you want to try some good Hungarian cuisine, you have to try the food at the Restaurant Riso located in the hotel by the garden. Highly recommended for a tourist !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear ‘atishay78’,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and our location and rooms suited your needs. We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in our Hotel Castle Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 335 in Budapest
363 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 335 in Budapest
1,353 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 335 in Budapest
647 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £40 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing