We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Castle Area of Buda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Castle Area of Buda”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a short break in Budapest. The hotel is very comfortable and quite modern. It is a short walk to the Castle and the attractions in that area. The package was very reasonable. Whilst I can identify some shortcomings they are minor in reality, for instance there was kettle and some tea but no instant coffee (but that is probably more a reflection on the fact that it is only Brits who drink instant coffee and hence it is not provided.) The wifi in our room (202) did not work very well whilst it worked fine elsewhere. The restaurant though in the same building appears to be run by a different organisation and they shut the bar at 11.00 pm, which is a bit of a pain if you fancy a night cap as there are no alternative bars or restaurants near by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ‘Bob B’,
First and foremost let me thank you for your review. I love to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the attractions in the castle area reachable within a short walk from our location. You are right; the restaurant is managed by a different person, so unfortunately they close earlier than a hotel restaurant/bar normally does. I apologize also for the problem with the wifi connection, I hope it did not cause you too much trouble, we are working already on this issue. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back though in our Hotel Castle Garden and I promise we will give you some directions to lovely bars and restaurants worth to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    306
    35
    20
    5
See reviews for
128
452
74
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently en route to Lake Balaton.
The room rate was excellent as all we needed was somewhere to stay near Deli station.
The service was first class and the room immaculate and comfortable.
The staff were first class even when dealing with an awkward Custer ahead of us at checkout
We ate in the restaurant as we were too tired to venture out and it was excellent value for money.
(Subject of seperate review )

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ‘Karen M’,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay in Budapest. I am delighted to read you found our staff professional and efficient at all points. I hope you enjoyed your stay also at Lake Balaton and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future, maybe for a longer stay in our beautiful Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had the pleasure to stay here for two weeks for work. Everyone was friendly, whilst maintaining professional standards. The location next to the castle is good. The restaurant has some nice food if you don't have time to go out for dinner. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kearon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dera ‘Kearon M’,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our efficient staff could help you. I truly hope we can welcome you back next time if your travel plans bring your back to Budapest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendai-shi, Miyagi, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is located near the Castle Hill. It was easy to go to any famous places in Budapest. We stayed there for about a week. We enjoyed everything in Hungary. The atomosphere and all the staff were nice. If you want to do sightseeing in Budapest, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiroru5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear ’Chiroru5’,
First let me kindly thank you for your positive review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our historical, quiet location from where you can still reach easily the city center. We woud be happy to welcoming you or your friends and relatives in our Hotel Castle Garden for your next trip to Hungary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Location by the castle is excellent. Property is new (2008), rooms are nice size, LOVE the balcony, breakfast was very good and was included with my room. Expresso available in lobby during tea time and hot pot with tea in room. We were generally pleased with the staff, the hotel, and location (near a bus stop for access to rest of Budapest and close to Castle). The restaurant terrace is very nice also. Room has a hair dryer- not to be taken for granted in most of Europe. The only minor draw backs that I noticed were no coffee in-room (only tea) and only one small pillow per guest. I'd highly recommend this property. (I'm not certain there is air conditioning, but we didn't need air, temperature in Budapest was LOVELY.) Everyone on staff spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: The balcony was worth the up-grade expense, complimentary expresso and other beverages is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear ’Char J’,
First and foremost let me thank you for your lovely review you wrote us regarding your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. I am glad to hear we could meet your expectations and you were satisfied with our services, facilities and quiet location. I would truly appreciate the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in one of our nice superior rooms for a city break in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cirencester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a lovely stay here. The hotel was just what we wanted - lovely quiet location in the Buda side of the city really close to the beautiful castle, Bastion and many picturesque streets and buildings. Food was good and staff friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeepeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear ‘Leeepeee’,
Thank you very much for your kind review you posted about your recent stay in our hotel. I am really pleased to read you enjoyed our location and the wonderful sights here around the corner in the castle district. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in Budapest for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anavyssos, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is right next to the castle, so for tourists is great. Simple but clean room, bathroom as well.
Also near the Mammut Shopping Mall.
We had a car of our own, so it was easy to reach Pesta as well. But without a car, you will be able to find taxi; all cabs have pos for paying with credit card.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear ’Dorina D’,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your last stay in our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and our location near to the historical castle district! If your travel plans bring you back to Budapest we would be happy to welcome your back in our Hotel Castle Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
886 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing