We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed and booked many hotels in Budapest but, for the money, this is one of the best in the city. It is small and cozy while also being clean and modern. The rooms are well furnished and very clean. Its location is fantastic opposite the Buda Castle wall. It is also a five minute walk from a metro station and the main tram line (the 4-6). The restaurant was great and the breakfast was fresh and hot. The staff was also very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Shaw3,
Thank you very much for your positive review. Your comments regarding our cleanness, breakfast and location are well appreciated and we are pleased to hear you were satisfied with our value for money. We are looking forward to welcoming you or your friends and relatives soon in our Hotel Caslte Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    312
    36
    21
    6
See reviews for
130
465
74
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great clean hotel located in the heart of castle district. Spacious rooms with free tea and good free wi-fi connection, very friendly staff, good breakfast, free parking in front of the hotel or secure paid parking in the hotel basement with elevator access.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liviu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Liviu P,
First and foremmost let me thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read about your positive remark regarding our location, rooms and staff. We are also pleased to hear the free public parking area found you well (only during the evenings and on weekends). We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and stuff! Thanks a lot! It was a great pleasure being there. The location is almost perfect. The main plus is comfortable and clean room. Also cant help mentioning the free parking and really friendly stuff. You can park your car near hotel and go sightseeing by walk.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Petro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Petro S,
First let me kindly thank you for your positive review, it was our pleasure to welcoming you in our Hotel Castle Garden. On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for your kind comments on our cleanness and professionality of our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely, clean hotel in ths heart of the castle district, riso resteraunt has very good dinner menu where you can eat indoor or outdoor, staff all very friendly, breakfast was very average and overpriced and no room service or out of hours menu somduenfo flit delay we could not get anything to eat.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking castle gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 596Julie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear 596Julie_,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read you were satisfied with our quiet location and our helpful staff. I regret to read our breakfast offer could not meet your expectations, but I hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back and convince you from our improved services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great hotel with quite location on the Buda side. Fine rooms with great space. Good food and breakfast and dinner and also a 15 percent discount from the hotel. Good connection to wi-fi and close parking availability

Room Tip: Choose a room with window not at the street were the bus goes. It was a little bit noice in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mickado2,
Thank you very much for your positive review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel Castle Garden. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and our location, rooms and breakfast/dinner offer found you well. We would appreciate to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I arrived from Vienna by car 240 Km, the GPS did not recognize the hotel address!but after asking in a gas station, we found out that the listed address of the hotel is 42 ( not 41) Lovas (street = Uta= U). but as soon as we arrived we were happy to see the hotel and the Castle next to it. we parked the car in the secured Hotel Garage for just Euro 10/day, it is recommended that you book in advance. the check-in check out was easy and staff are friendly, and the service is good. the room size is good and the room is renovated and the bath room clean and modern. the room had a Castle view which was nice. the service was very good and fast, I just hope that they give extra care for housekeeping. the breakfast did not have good verity especially that we do not eat ham/pork so we did not use. on the other hand the hotel restaurant was very good and its prices were excellent. We parked our car in the hotel and used the public transportation for in-city , right next to the hotel, we used minibus number 16 to drive you across the Castle area/ Palace and across the chain bridge to the city center for 450 Ft = 1.50 Euro single ticket if you bought the ticket from the driver, but it is even cheaper to buy it from the hotel reception. you can also ask them for tours and directions, they are very helpful.
the hotel provides free coffee/ tea/ soft drinks at the reception from 11am-5pm ( very nice). and free WI/FI also very good speed all over the hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatemzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamasLenky, Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Hatemzaki,
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your detailed positive review. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Castle Garden, especially the help of our friendly staff, our location and clean rooms. It was a great pleasure to welcoming you during your stay in Budapest and we would very much appreciate to have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived very late on 15 Aug 14 at the start of our Honeymoon... I had emailed ahead to enquire about upgrading our room. To our surprise we were upgraded to the Panorama "penthouse" room and had a complimentary bottle of bubbly waiting in an ice bucket... could it get better? Yes; we were only charged for a standard room. So this is a privately owned and run Hotel that is run in a friendly but very efficient way. The restaurant serves great food and offers very good service and the prices are better than the average restaurant in Pest! Transport into the City Centre could not be easier by jumping on the number 16 bus that travels a wonderful route through the Castle and then over the Chain Bridge... 10 minsísh. This is our second visit to Budapest and our next stay will definitely be here. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pages007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 334 in Budapest
922 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
2,748 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#34 of 334 in Budapest
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#7 of 334 in Budapest
491 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#23 of 334 in Budapest
1,310 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#81 of 334 in Budapest
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing