We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #38 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here for 6 days in October around the time of the budapest marathon which my husband was running. Was a surprise how lovely the hotel was, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds comfterble and the bath lovely and big. Yes it is a little way away from some of the attractions but this really never was a problem. There is a big tram station very clos by, so everything was very accessible, and there is a lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance.
The breakfasts were lovely, good coffee, plenty of choice, and the staff polite and attentive. I ended up getting a very bad flu while I was in hungary and being able to sneak back to this hotel and sleep was a great retreat.
Definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mercury111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed at the Castle Garden when the weather in Budapest was dreadful and were thankful for the on site restaurant on the night of arrival.The staff were very helpful throughout our visit including making tour arrangements.A number of restaurants are located close by within the castle walls and I would suggest going over to the Pest side as our experience was a bit hit and miss one in particular Cafe Pierrot was disgraceful considering it was at the high end of Budapest prices with my tenderloin of beef consisting of about 65% meat to 35% fat with no one wishing to engage with me in my complaint-to be avoided.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjimmy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear drjimmy51,

thank you that you choose our hotel for your Budapest stay and also for your comment regarding our services. It is a pleasure for us that you liked our hotel, we do hope that you will come back to us in the future. Regarding your bad experiences in the Cafe Pierrot: I'm very sorry for it, we offered them as they are one of the best restaurant nearby, and we have never heard any bed feedback about their services. I sent them your comment in order that they can improve their services.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Castle Garden for three nights and found it very comfortable and a great value. The hotel is located in the castle district (Buda) and is closest to the Moszkva tér station---about 3-4 blocks up a hill.

Before my stay, I wrote an e-mail to confirm my stay, and they were extremely friendly and offered to help with any tours or transportation I wanted to arrange. They made a restaurant reservation immediately and were very gracious about answering a couple of questions. They spoke very good English.

The hotel has a lovely outdoor garden and stone walls just as pictured. It has a fairly contemporary, clean design inside, with a beige chair and red bedding in the room. The bathroom was large and also had modern fixtures. The room had individualized climate control, which we appreciated, and the entire hotel is non-smoking, which we understand to be somewhat of a rarity. The staff at the front desk were friendly, professional, and courteous. The room had a lot of drawers and a nice closet, which would be good if one were staying for a long time.

Our rate included a breakfast buffet, which had a variety of foods served in the hotel's restaurant. Everything seemed fresh and was very good, except that the milk and yogurt need to be kept colder somehow. They had cereals, fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, roasted vegetables, and crepes. The breakfast staff were oddly a little hostile, and asked for our room number each day as if we were interlopers attempting to steal breakfast.

The hotel is fairly new and looks it, but one place that needs a quick touch-up is that the walls have become a little scuffed from suitcases---we noticed this in the stairwell and in our room. The bedding and other things did not show signs of wear.

We were a little peeved with the attached restaurant, although we had a very nice dinner there that included live music and we'd recommend it overall. First, on the day of our arrival, we were way overdue for lunch and were looking forward to the convenience of having lunch at the hotel. We were told that they were closing for a private event in forty minutes, but that we could have lunch if we hurried. We dumped our suitcases in the room and came down immediately, only to be told that they would not serve us because of this event. They did recommend a place up the hill as a substitute, when asked. Second, we came back to the restaurant for dinner. My partner and I wanted to try the local spirit, palinka, as a lark. The menu had several listed, most of which were about $5 USD. The waiter had a confusing explanation about how they had certain ones and not others, and ultimately listed some flavors. I said that I wanted something that tasted fruity and he recommended raspberry. Not only was the liquor like cough medicine, but it cost as much as my entree! I think it was pretty obvious that I was not exactly a connoisseur of this stuff---he should have mentioned that his recommendation was the most expensive choice on the menu. To top that off, the hotel had given me a coupon for a 20% discount at the restaurant, and it turned out that this applies to food, not drinks. Obviously we bear some blame for not asking. Ending the meal, something was wrong with their credit card reader, and we had to exhaust all of our cash to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear ClevelandTravels,

thank you for your kind review on the TripAdvisor, it is always very important for us to know the opinion of our guests - even if it is not so positive. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also glad that we could offer some interesting programs in our city. Also thank you that you shared your bad experiences too regarding our Restaurant. We terribly regret that you were not satified with the quality of the service in the Restaurant - we will investigate this sorrowful case.
We do hope that next time you will choose our hotel again and we can prove that the quality of our restaurant is as high as the hotel itself.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The hotel is small, in easy walking distance up hill to expensive restaurants, or go down the hill to good low cost shops and restaurants. The rooms are well above the standard for similar hotels, rather like the feel of the Nassau Hilton in The Bahamas. The staff also made one feel that they were in a good large hotel. Breakfast was very good with attentive service.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank JC&SBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Dear JC&SBrits,

thank you for your positive review. It's really kind of you that you compared our hotel to the Hilton in Bahamas :). I'm delighted that we could welcome you to our Hotel Castle Garden and hope that you will return to us in the future.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

What a lovely quiet clean hotel. Staff were always helpful and friendly.
Rooms very comfortable. Situated in a peaceful area I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Budapest. Very close to public transport. Also a lovely hot breakfast provided. We also had a lovely evening dinner in the restaurant. Everything that you need is at this hotel. They also provided a limousine to pick us up from the airport at a very late hour for a very reasonable rate.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank NurseyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Dear NurseyMelbourne,

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Budapest and also for your kind words. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the services and with the attitude of my colleagues. Also thank you that you will recommend our hotels to other travellers. We do hope that next time we can host you again in Budapest.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This is not the first time we stayed at Hotel Castle Garden in Budapest, Hungary, and it certainly will not be the last. We have become accustomed to absolute first class treatment by the staff, from the desk attendants, through the wait staff through the housekeepers; they all were eager to please. Virtually everyone speaks English and a number of other languages quite fluently, so communicating your wish is not a challenge.

The rooms are spacious enough, although not huge, and everything is new and clean. The breakfast is wonderful and plentiful. The location of the hotel, just outside the Castle and a short walk to one of the largest transportation hubs in the city is ideal for both business travelers and tourists.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone for a short or an extended stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPGARAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Dear Mr. Garay,

thank you for your kind comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your last stay and we hope that next time you will choose our hotel again. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel when you come to Budapest.

With best regards

Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

My girlfriend took me on a surprise birthday trip to Budapest. She looked on Trip Advisor and found this gem of a hotel by the castle wall. The location is ideal for the historic city - only 2 minutes walk to the old town with plenty of traditional (some slightly pricey) restaurants to choose from and some wonderful sites.
The staff were really friendly and exceptionally helpful, they booked us tables at restaurants and suggested good places to go. The hotel restaurant was superb and excellent value - with 20% off for guests.
It was also easy to walk down to the Moscow Square where you can catch trams into Pest or to the baths. We had a brilliant time and we will be looking to go again this summer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnandlucyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Dear John and Lucy,

thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure for us to host you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again this summer.
Best regards
Tamas Lenky -Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
365 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 336 in Budapest
1,354 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 336 in Budapest
649 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £25 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing