We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great staff”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Arrived in Budapest without luggage (lost by Hungarian Airlines). Staff provided toilitries and directions to nearest stores to purchase necessities. They also contacted the airline on a regular basis to determine when our luggage would arrive.

The hotel is quite modern and extermely well appointed. It has a lovely restaurant with an outside terrace that is very relaxing after a long day of sight seeing. The location of the hotel so close to the environs of Buda Castle is excellent. However, if you are walking in other areas of Budapest, be prepared for the hills.

Food was excellent at the hotel and the service was wonderful. Budapest is an absolutely beautiful city. The views across the Danube to Pest are not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    310
    36
    21
    6
See reviews for
129
460
74
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Castle Garden is a nice, modern hotel. We liked the room, luxury bathroom and the location near the Castle.
Anytime again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The good.. outstanding room, villeroy and boch sink in the bathroom, fixtures and fittings top quality clean and new. Bed is extremely large with soft cottons. Endless hot water at pressure, LCD TV, very quiet. Breakfast is good, we sat outside in the sun and enjoyed it greatly, the hotel is minutes walk to train station and the castle district, large shopping centre just near the train station. A bar called oscars is open late close to the hotel which serves very nice drinks and has some beautiful clientèle.

The average... breakfast starts closing at 9:30 which is early. Also, we arrived late and couldn't find anything to eat in the area after 11pm, ended up in McDonalds.

Buda seemed to be the quieter side of town and has some great touristy things to do, right on the hotel door step. We were looking for lots of bars at walking distance, shopping and restaurants and a bit of night life, it seemed the other side of the river seemed to have more of that. It wasn't too much of a problem as the train system is fantastic; every 4 minutes a train comes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheamuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here for 6 days in October around the time of the budapest marathon which my husband was running. Was a surprise how lovely the hotel was, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds comfterble and the bath lovely and big. Yes it is a little way away from some of the attractions but this really never was a problem. There is a big tram station very clos by, so everything was very accessible, and there is a lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance.
The breakfasts were lovely, good coffee, plenty of choice, and the staff polite and attentive. I ended up getting a very bad flu while I was in hungary and being able to sneak back to this hotel and sleep was a great retreat.
Definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercury111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed at the Castle Garden when the weather in Budapest was dreadful and were thankful for the on site restaurant on the night of arrival.The staff were very helpful throughout our visit including making tour arrangements.A number of restaurants are located close by within the castle walls and I would suggest going over to the Pest side as our experience was a bit hit and miss one in particular Cafe Pierrot was disgraceful considering it was at the high end of Budapest prices with my tenderloin of beef consisting of about 65% meat to 35% fat with no one wishing to engage with me in my complaint-to be avoided.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjimmy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Dear drjimmy51,

thank you that you choose our hotel for your Budapest stay and also for your comment regarding our services. It is a pleasure for us that you liked our hotel, we do hope that you will come back to us in the future. Regarding your bad experiences in the Cafe Pierrot: I'm very sorry for it, we offered them as they are one of the best restaurant nearby, and we have never heard any bed feedback about their services. I sent them your comment in order that they can improve their services.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Castle Garden for three nights and found it very comfortable and a great value. The hotel is located in the castle district (Buda) and is closest to the Moszkva tér station---about 3-4 blocks up a hill.

Before my stay, I wrote an e-mail to confirm my stay, and they were extremely friendly and offered to help with any tours or transportation I wanted to arrange. They made a restaurant reservation immediately and were very gracious about answering a couple of questions. They spoke very good English.

The hotel has a lovely outdoor garden and stone walls just as pictured. It has a fairly contemporary, clean design inside, with a beige chair and red bedding in the room. The bathroom was large and also had modern fixtures. The room had individualized climate control, which we appreciated, and the entire hotel is non-smoking, which we understand to be somewhat of a rarity. The staff at the front desk were friendly, professional, and courteous. The room had a lot of drawers and a nice closet, which would be good if one were staying for a long time.

Our rate included a breakfast buffet, which had a variety of foods served in the hotel's restaurant. Everything seemed fresh and was very good, except that the milk and yogurt need to be kept colder somehow. They had cereals, fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, roasted vegetables, and crepes. The breakfast staff were oddly a little hostile, and asked for our room number each day as if we were interlopers attempting to steal breakfast.

The hotel is fairly new and looks it, but one place that needs a quick touch-up is that the walls have become a little scuffed from suitcases---we noticed this in the stairwell and in our room. The bedding and other things did not show signs of wear.

We were a little peeved with the attached restaurant, although we had a very nice dinner there that included live music and we'd recommend it overall. First, on the day of our arrival, we were way overdue for lunch and were looking forward to the convenience of having lunch at the hotel. We were told that they were closing for a private event in forty minutes, but that we could have lunch if we hurried. We dumped our suitcases in the room and came down immediately, only to be told that they would not serve us because of this event. They did recommend a place up the hill as a substitute, when asked. Second, we came back to the restaurant for dinner. My partner and I wanted to try the local spirit, palinka, as a lark. The menu had several listed, most of which were about $5 USD. The waiter had a confusing explanation about how they had certain ones and not others, and ultimately listed some flavors. I said that I wanted something that tasted fruity and he recommended raspberry. Not only was the liquor like cough medicine, but it cost as much as my entree! I think it was pretty obvious that I was not exactly a connoisseur of this stuff---he should have mentioned that his recommendation was the most expensive choice on the menu. To top that off, the hotel had given me a coupon for a 20% discount at the restaurant, and it turned out that this applies to food, not drinks. Obviously we bear some blame for not asking. Ending the meal, something was wrong with their credit card reader, and we had to exhaust all of our cash to pay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Dear ClevelandTravels,

thank you for your kind review on the TripAdvisor, it is always very important for us to know the opinion of our guests - even if it is not so positive. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and also glad that we could offer some interesting programs in our city. Also thank you that you shared your bad experiences too regarding our Restaurant. We terribly regret that you were not satified with the quality of the service in the Restaurant - we will investigate this sorrowful case.
We do hope that next time you will choose our hotel again and we can prove that the quality of our restaurant is as high as the hotel itself.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brits Abroad
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The hotel is small, in easy walking distance up hill to expensive restaurants, or go down the hill to good low cost shops and restaurants. The rooms are well above the standard for similar hotels, rather like the feel of the Nassau Hilton in The Bahamas. The staff also made one feel that they were in a good large hotel. Breakfast was very good with attentive service.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JC&SBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Dear JC&SBrits,

thank you for your positive review. It's really kind of you that you compared our hotel to the Hilton in Bahamas :). I'm delighted that we could welcome you to our Hotel Castle Garden and hope that you will return to us in the future.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
909 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 334 in Budapest
1,300 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 334 in Budapest
543 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#81 of 334 in Budapest
965 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing