We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Castle Garden
Ranked #43 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I came to Budapest with a friend last month. We shared a twin room at the hotel castle garden. Arriving at night, it was initially tricky to find, but once you know where it is, it is easy enough to find. It is a short 7 minute walk from the Moszkva Ter metro station. The area is a nice quiet leafy one, yet very close to the old city, just outside the city walls and next to the Vienna gate. About 5-10 min walk to Fisherman's bastion. There is a big shopping mall nearby. The price of the room was very reasonable. There was a fridge with minibar. The room size was excellent for those of us used to small european city hotels. Reception staff were very helpful with all my queries and were very patient, spoke good English.
All in all, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babylonian_brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    306
    35
    20
    6
See reviews for
128
452
74
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

It was my first trip to europe and Budapest was by far my favourite city. This hotel is on the Buda Hill, 5 minute walk from the top of Catle Hill and the Fisherman's ramparts. The hotel manager picked me up from the train station and was very kind and knowledgable and gave me valued information on the trip over (how to avoid tourist scams, good restaurants, etc.).
The room was beautiful and clean. The staff are very friendly and were kind enough to compliment me on my attempts at hungarian although I'm sure the pronunciation wasn't there.

The restaurant and its terrace are a great attraction to this hotel. Reasonably priced and delicious the chef is outstanding. The soups and sauces are always delicious and there is a good selection of wines and Tokaji.

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in...hands down.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianFrontiersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Arrived in Budapest without luggage (lost by Hungarian Airlines). Staff provided toilitries and directions to nearest stores to purchase necessities. They also contacted the airline on a regular basis to determine when our luggage would arrive.

The hotel is quite modern and extermely well appointed. It has a lovely restaurant with an outside terrace that is very relaxing after a long day of sight seeing. The location of the hotel so close to the environs of Buda Castle is excellent. However, if you are walking in other areas of Budapest, be prepared for the hills.

Food was excellent at the hotel and the service was wonderful. Budapest is an absolutely beautiful city. The views across the Danube to Pest are not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Castle Garden is a nice, modern hotel. We liked the room, luxury bathroom and the location near the Castle.
Anytime again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The good.. outstanding room, villeroy and boch sink in the bathroom, fixtures and fittings top quality clean and new. Bed is extremely large with soft cottons. Endless hot water at pressure, LCD TV, very quiet. Breakfast is good, we sat outside in the sun and enjoyed it greatly, the hotel is minutes walk to train station and the castle district, large shopping centre just near the train station. A bar called oscars is open late close to the hotel which serves very nice drinks and has some beautiful clientèle.

The average... breakfast starts closing at 9:30 which is early. Also, we arrived late and couldn't find anything to eat in the area after 11pm, ended up in McDonalds.

Buda seemed to be the quieter side of town and has some great touristy things to do, right on the hotel door step. We were looking for lots of bars at walking distance, shopping and restaurants and a bit of night life, it seemed the other side of the river seemed to have more of that. It wasn't too much of a problem as the train system is fantastic; every 4 minutes a train comes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheamuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here for 6 days in October around the time of the budapest marathon which my husband was running. Was a surprise how lovely the hotel was, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds comfterble and the bath lovely and big. Yes it is a little way away from some of the attractions but this really never was a problem. There is a big tram station very clos by, so everything was very accessible, and there is a lots of places to eat and shop within walking distance.
The breakfasts were lovely, good coffee, plenty of choice, and the staff polite and attentive. I ended up getting a very bad flu while I was in hungary and being able to sneak back to this hotel and sleep was a great retreat.
Definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercury111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed at the Castle Garden when the weather in Budapest was dreadful and were thankful for the on site restaurant on the night of arrival.The staff were very helpful throughout our visit including making tour arrangements.A number of restaurants are located close by within the castle walls and I would suggest going over to the Pest side as our experience was a bit hit and miss one in particular Cafe Pierrot was disgraceful considering it was at the high end of Budapest prices with my tenderloin of beef consisting of about 65% meat to 35% fat with no one wishing to engage with me in my complaint-to be avoided.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjimmy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLenky, General Manager at Hotel Castle Garden, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Dear drjimmy51,

thank you that you choose our hotel for your Budapest stay and also for your comment regarding our services. It is a pleasure for us that you liked our hotel, we do hope that you will come back to us in the future. Regarding your bad experiences in the Cafe Pierrot: I'm very sorry for it, we offered them as they are one of the best restaurant nearby, and we have never heard any bed feedback about their services. I sent them your comment in order that they can improve their services.
With best regards
Tamas Lenky - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
894 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
2,690 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#81 of 333 in Budapest
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Garden

Property: Hotel Castle Garden
Address: Lovas ut 41, Budapest 1012, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#31 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castle Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Castle Garden is located in the first district of Budapest, at the famous tourist attractions of Buda Castle which is the part of the UNESCO world heritage. The newly-built hotel provides cosy and stylish rooms, a uniquely styled restaurant with garden, a lobby bar and a small wellness centre, which makes it an ideal venue both for tourists and corporate guests. The location of the hotel guarantees a quiet place where tourists can enjoy the vicinity of nature in the heart of a teeming city.The airconditioned hotel rooms offer free of charge wifi and LAN Internet, LCD TV, phone, laptop safe, minibar, free tea consumption. The superior rooms has a large terrace too. The hotel guests get 15% discount in the hotel's Riso restaurant.The guest can consume free of charge coffee specialities, tea, mineral water, soft drinks and fruits in the lobby between 11 am and 5 pm. The nice hotel was also recommended by the famous Michelin guide in 2012, 2011 and 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castle Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing