We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice in a woderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice in a woderful city”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Had the good fortune to book the Palazo Zichy on reviews in Trip Advisor. Definitely NO DISAPPOINTMENT! Staff...Istvan,Zoltan,the girl with the traine tag(I don't remember her name,the manager,et al) nothing less then excellent.From the moment of arrival to the moment of checkout ..We arrived at about 11:00 AM on the 6th on the inaugural flight with American Airlines from New York (it too was excellent). Check in as at 1:00 P.M.. We waited 5 minutes and were in our room.Safe problem fixed in 5 minutes.Hotel staff offers no excuses..they just get the job done with a SINCERE SMILE and NO ATTITUDE.

Rooms are beautiful..not lavish..modernistic in detail and decor..Bed a little firm,could have been thicker mattress, but not a problem. Two pillows in room. Call desk. Two more in 5 minutes.

Breakfast buffet left nothing to be desired. Always fresh,full,and totally delicious with an
attentive staff.

Location is within walking distance of all walking tour meeting areas, and of course the staff will rrange tours for you if you desired.Restaurants are all good and (I felt) fairly priced.Central Market is a must see and eat in upstairs.

Likvit pub..1 block from hotel..good food and drink with two wonderful wait staff a blond girl whose name I did not know and her partner Petra.

Very scenic city with alot to see and enjoy..

Finally..The Palazzo Zichy a resounding YES on a stay. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: front facing square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efandb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,925
    727
    74
    7
    2
See reviews for
515
2,863
155
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Had our Ruby Wedding in Budapest for a couple of old punters this hotel was the business .Junior Suite was superb great room big beds walk in shower in bathroom.Breakfast was really good ,fruit,cold meats and cracking bacon and eggs.Nice bar good prices and helpful informative staff .Front desk were so helpful.Location is great with plenty of pubs, resatuarnts nearby. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. Will recommend this hotel to all . .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Based on Trip Advisor's high rating, we booked three days at the Palazzo Zichy - best decision ever. I have stayed in hotels in Germany, Spain, Italy, Egypt, Brazil, Hong Kong, Japan and many USA locations, this is the best.

On the outside, it doesn't look like much, but inside it is very modern. They responded to emails within three hours, not days. We requested a taxi to pick us up at the airport. Even though our plane arrived an hour late the driver was there with our name on a placard, when we got to the hotel we put the taxi bill on our room bill (no chance for the driver to raise the rate). All of the front desk people spoke very good English and were very helpful with accurate tourist info (like the HopOn HpoOff Tour). The room was very clean and the window blocked 99% of the street noise (we could hear ladies in high heals walking on the sidewalk when the window was up, but could barely hear a car horn with the window closed). And saving the best for last, the included breakfast buffet. They had eggs (fried, scrambled, boiled), bacon, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, various breads, cereals, coffee, tea and milk. All of this in limited quantities that were constantly being replenished. There were several attendants replacing both foods and table ware.

Since no place in perfect this hotel is a five to ten minute walk from bus and trolley stops and it has no restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jergis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed here for three nights in March 2011, great location, courteous and helpful staff, can't fault it - best hotel we've stayed in for a long time. Breakfast was excellent, whole hotel was immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed! The service was the best thing - staff who were eager to help, patient, and best of all, knew their stuff. Rooms have great minimalist decor, black-out curtains and were roomy and very clean. Only thing i would ask for would be bathrobes and more pillows. Breakfast had many choices, with plenty of room and food for all guests even at busy times. The hotel is only a 5 min walk from the Kelvin metro station - if you have ever used a metro before, you can work out Budapest's without trouble, and its a great way to get around. The hotel has a great bar (awesome cocktails!), sitting room, and just a great vibe all-round. We definitely recommend it :)

Room Tip: Fifth floor is fab :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Pros: Clean room, attentive and knowledgeable staff, not expensive and great breakfast buffet.

Cons: Location is rather far away from most things (like Castle, Danube River, Parliament, Fishers Bastion, and Castle Hill), very loud rooms, and uncomfortable bed.

I would say that this is an average hotel and is nothing to write home about. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were clean. The major down fall is the noise in the rooms. You could hear footsteps from the people above, toilets flushing, TV’s from people on the sides, people having conversations in their rooms at 2-3 in the morning and doors of the rooms slamming shut at night. It was also a little far out of the way. Granted you could walk to the metro which is about a 20 minute walk and then 20 minutes on the metro.

I wouldn't stay here again due to the fact that there are so many more hotels that are centrally located and offer the same price with those same services.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garbo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Hello,
i have stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy between 24-27 March and i only have amazing words for them.
The hotel is fab , the rooms were really chic with everything you might need from safe box to different stuff in the bathroom and with a TV that has many channels from english to arabic and also romanian.
The best part of this hotel? for sure are the employees!!! probably the best employees from all the hotels i have stayed in. Unfortunately i did not get their names, but from the lady that received us Thursday morning to the nice men from Sunday, all of them are profesionalls. I heard them speaking english, french, hngarian and for sure they know other languages also:) they make this hotel so special.
The next day after our arrival we received a complimentary gift book with everything to know about Budapest. Really nice!

The breakfast: one of the best i have ever had from my hotels experience. From cheese to fried eggs, omlette fruits,cereals, fresh vegetables...everything you might need in order to start a good day.
the bar is free and open till 5 p.m. but i did not tried it as we were sightseeing. as i saw had bottled mineral and normal water, tea and coffe facilities, snacks. The barman it is a really funny guy also. real professional.
you have internet with planty of computers and also a printing machine, all is for free.

the only downside was that the guests from th room next to ours loved to kick the doors really hard, but this is something realeted on how much civiized are the guests, is not the hotel`s fault.
did i mentioned that they helped me to find my camera that i lost one night in the computers rooms as i was really tired? THANK YOU!

the location is also good. if you want to have a room and see the Danube this is not for you, but if you want a room in a hotel that allows you to see the beauty of Budapest this is the one for you.
From the airport it took us less than 1 hour to arrive to hotel my public transportation. m the airport take bus 200E. it goes every 10 min. iYou can buy thickets from the bus driver or from the ticket machine either with forints or with a credit card. also you can buy a Budapest city card as there is one place for this in the airport hall.
take the bus 200E to the last station: Metro station Kobanya Kispest. From there take metro M3 an get off at station: Ferenc Korut. Here you either can wak for 10 min or take tram 4 or 6 into direction Moskova ter for one station, and get off at Barros Korut. When you get off the tram, make left, cross the zebra, pass near the small statue found in yhe small park go straight on Maria street and make left to the first street on Krudy street. You can see a big statue in front of the hotel and a nice church near it.

if you need any question plase feel free to ask me or contact My Concierge from the hotel`s website.

they let us keep the luggage till late in the evening as our plane took off at 23:00.

All in All:PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,083 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,276 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,082 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing