We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were thoroughly impressed with our stay here, and with a few tiny additions this very reasonably priced 4-star hotel could easily make itself 5-star. It's in a very well-situated historic building, with extremely modern tastefully-designed interiors. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the buffet breakfast is certainly a highlight.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunita26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,414 - 3,420 of 5,034 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

We picked it up from our guide book and fell on our feet. From the moment we walked through the doors we knew it was going to be great. The front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was gorgeous - spacious, elegant and very well appointed. The included buffet breakfast was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and special guests. I will certainly stay here next time I am in Budapest.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor but I think all the rooms would be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Zichy whilst in town for a family wedding this summer. Despite receiving a thoughtly-written recommended hotel list from the bride and groom, my wife spied this hotel online and after we compared exchange rates it seemed so reasonably priced that we thought it silly not to stay in somewhere that looked so beautiful.

Renovated from an old villa, this hotel is grand looking on the outside, but spanking new and modern inside. It features very tasteful decor, an excellent buffet breakfast (more fruit salads than one person could possibly eat, plus all your usual bacon n' eggs etc.), a foyer lounge with free internet and espresso through the day, and very friendly, helpful staff.

We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matwade76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I came to stay at the Palazzo Zichy with my husband and one other couple. We were not disappointed. This hotel was perfect...friendly and supemely helpful staff, lovely rooms, free coffee, water and fruit downstairs, great breakfasts, sauna, mini-workout room, great location and so affordable. I'm usually disappointed with the bathrooms in hotels as most of the time the showers are stingy with water and the bathtubs are so shallow but not here...huge tub, awesome shower...wish I had this bathroom back in my own home! We can't wait for our next trip to Budapest so that we can come back and stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NALeavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The staff here are quite pleasant to talk with and are more than happy to help you out. The hotel is gorgeous with marble everything and spotless cleaning. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveJClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed five nights whilst attending a family wedding in Budapest. The hotel is ultra modern and upmarket, very clean, with helpful staff, a good breakfast and four free-to-use computers.

Shame there's no outside sitting/eating area as the nearest place to sit out in the sun, the small square opposite, is a regular resting place for a handful of apparently homeless people.

The hotel is slightly off the beaten track but this is no problem if you're happy to walk and the staff will always book you a taxi. Eating out is cheaper than in Western Europe and just as good.

But.....why no tea & coffee making facilities in the room, why only two real English speaking TV channels, why can't they make beds properly - it looks good but we had to 'adjust' it every day before getting in to it?

Having said that, we'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel or going back there again ourselves, and the price was pretty good for such a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichPWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We chose this hotel partly from reading reviews and partly it looked like it would be in a good area for our needs: we were not disappointed in either area. We needed a hotel for one night as we were passing through Budapest, We arrived at Keleti train station and easily got the metro to Kalvin Ter station from where it is only a 5 minute walk to the Palazzo Zichy. Next morning we got the metro again to Deli station from where we were leaving.
As mentioned in almost all reviews the hotel is excellent in every way. Breakfast desreves a special mention.I would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Palazzo Zichy on a visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,488 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,540 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,555 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £78 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing