We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel. Best staff in the business.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb hotel. Best staff in the business.”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first visit to Budapest.

Ours was quite a long stay - 10 nights - so we wanted to be sure we made the right choice.

In short, we made an excellent choice, and had a superb stay in this fantastic city.

STAFF
They were all great - reception, barmen and service staff. All were accommodating, courteous, friendly and very professional - a real class act.

OUR ROOM
Our initial impression was that the room was a little small, but we soon forgot about this and it really wasn't an issue during our stay. Budapest was experiencing a heatwave while we were there - the air conditioning in the room was quite quiet and very efficient. The curtains in the room blacked-out the light which really helped to ensure a good night's sleep. The rainfall shower was great and the bathroom mirror was heated so didn't mist up! Everything was spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

BREAKFAST
Excellent quality and variety. There were choices of English style cooked breakfast, German-style cold-cuts or French style continental breakfast. There were also cereals, yoghurts, fruit salad, black teas, herbal teas, coffees etc. It was a real boon to be able to vary our breakfasts during our long stay.

We were especially impressed by the efficiency of the staff at breakfast. After a table was vacated, it would immediately be cleared and prepared for use again. Breakfast items are replenished very frequently so we always had full choice whether we arrived at 8:30, 9:45 or whenever.

This level of professionalism is worthy of a 5-star hotel; in fact a few 5-star hotels we've used would be found seriously lacking if compared to the Palazzo Zichy.

Taking all together, the Palazzo Zichy is among the top 2 hotels we've ever stayed.

In value for money terms, nothing even comes close.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmpBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,924
    727
    74
    7
    2
See reviews for
515
2,862
155
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Palazzo Zichy hotel is More than worth it's 4* rating. Great quiet location with cosy bars and restaurant's just round the corner, and within easy walking distance to the sights of Budapest. Spotlessly clean throughout and with informative and friendly staff. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Palazzo Zichy. The room was beautiful, clean, and spacious. The hotel is located in a nice area with shops and restaurants nearby. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of options to please everyone. Complimentary apples are always available at the front desk - which was a nice touch. I'd stay at this hotel again and again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Hotel Palazzo Zichy is a boutique hotel with friendly staff, beautifully decorated in a very modern style in a former palazzo spotlessly clean, with amazing breakfasts, reasonably priced and centrally located. If you are planning to be in Budapest, don't think about going anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reginaecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

Another very satisfied customers! We stayed there for six nights and everything was so perfect! We made 3 service requests, two for ice and one for adaptor, all came within 10 minutes after we hang up the phone, all with big smiles!! We were fed up with the chained "Leading hotels of the world"! The hotel is elegant, clean, but most important of all, with amazing service associates.

Our room has a room for storing luggage, and guess each with different configurations. It is quiet and the making of rooms are very efficient.

I like their service model. Including the breakfast, they provide a lot of self-service facilities. But everything provided is of top quality.

Many reviewers talked about the location of the hitel. Actually the tram stop is only 1 minute walk from the hotel. If you have the day pass, once you are in the tram, you are connected to most of the places in Budapest city. I like the trams as they are frequent, clean and good for sight seeing. The metro in Budapest is old and a bit outdated. I usually used them as our last resort. For first time Budapest visitors like us, I highly recommend you to buy a 1 + 1 free bus hop on hop off. They go to all the major tourist spots in the city. It also let you learn the bearing of the city for your own exploration.

Budapest is a beautiful city! Enjoy it and enjoy Palazzo Zichy!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Francis057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Beautiful rooms, amazing more than anything you could ask for breakfast and staff that goes above and beyond. This hotel is located on the Pest side of the river about 5 blocks from the tram. You will walk through a restaurant row, but there are other streets as well. Then you will need to take a bus at the square to get to Buda Castle. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel near the Chain Bridge and other tourist sights this isn't it. If you want a great local hotel, where all your needs are taken care of then this is the place for you. Watch out for the cab drivers at the airport and only take a cab with phone numbers on the doors. If you take a private cab the price shouldn't be more than 2500.00 forint.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We've been traveling a lot lately and this hotel was one of our favorites. The room was gorgeous, the staff is very knowledgeable and well attentive (dinner reservations, great tourist advice and local knowledge) and an excellent breakfast. The location is perfect in a fun, local neighborhood with great restaurants and other attractions, and a lot of public transportation options and an easy walk to the river. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginialakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,079 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,273 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,078 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing