We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“67caj33 Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Location was excellent about 15 min walk to main tourist area. Hotel situated in quiet, safe leafy square. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nicely furnished and modern but we had a few small issues. The room we had 320 was quite small. Although the bed was kingsize the mattress was too firm and the pillows cheap hollowfibre ones. This was disappointing we would have expected better quality ie; feather & down pillows with better neck support. Made a restful sleep difficult. The TV in the room was too small (20ins) and only showed 2 English speaking channels even though there were many English speaking guests. The bathroom was first class although would have liked a bathrobe to go with the slippers provided. Breakfast was out of this world and the choice was unbelievable, something for everyone. The staff cleared & replenished all the time even with a few minutes spare to end of service. Used the Airport Shuttle Bus at the airport which cost £15.00 for 2 persons.Receptionist spoke English and understood where we wanted to go. Excellent service, waited 5 mins and shared a mini bus with 2 other couples going to same area which took 30 mins to our hotel. No need to book this in advance just go to their desk once through customs. Return journey booked taxi through hotel cost similar price. Must mention 2 really good restaurants we visited and had excellent food with wine/beer for between £20-£25 for two. Don Leone (Hungarian) just up the street opposite the hotel, a small bistro in a cellar with seating both in & outside. Does not look much from the outside but food & service brilliant. Also the Trattoria La Coppola a Sicilian restaurant again great food for £25. Budapest is a lovely place but wear good walking shoes as cobbled streets. Visit the Hungarian National Museum 10 mins from hotel which is interesting, St. Stephens Basilica & Vaci Utca for shopping. Also go to the Castle district over the bridge and visit the Hungarian National Gallery and Matyas Church. You get much better photo opportunities on this side. Hope this all helps. Loved Budapest with its warm friendly people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67caj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,802 - 2,808 of 4,876 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Wife and I have just stayed 4 nights at Palazzo Zichy. Besides its perfect location it is very quiet. There was no traffic noise. The staff have been on a friendly tonic and always willing to help. Rooms very clean and modern . Nothing tired about this place. Excellent breakfast but did find the breakfast room a little cramped when all the tables were in use.
A bonus was the free secure wi-fi. Very strong signal and fast. Should we return to Budapest (and we will) would definitely return to the Palazzo Zichy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLeodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear „McLeodnz”,

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your short Budapest-stay and our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and the services provided by our staff met or even exceeded your expectations. Your kind words and compliments are highly appreciated, a special thank you for highlighting the quality of our free wireless internet.
It would be our greatest pleasure to have the opportunity to welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly, should your plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The reviews are spot on. Very impressive when you first walk in. Reception staff friendly, efficient and speak english well. Rooms are clean and modern, comfortable size. Bathrooms large and sleek. Mattress on the firm side. Free wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was excellent with many choices. Location was about a 25 minute walk from the Danube/tourist area. I loved walking the different streets on the way to the Hotel....allowed for seeing the residential side of things and discovering pubs/cafes. It is very close to the main market and would recommend a visit there to taste the local specialities (2nd floor),
We arranged airport transfer through a trip advisor recommendation: budapestairporttaxi.com (mr. Puli Alajos); the cost was $24 one way....very prompt email communication along with prompt and efficient airport transfers.
We did the Segway tour.....lots of fun and gives you a good overview after we arrived;
We stayed at the Sofitel in the tourist area last year and, although the view of the Danube and nighttime lighting was beautiful. I enjoyed staying further from the main tourist area during this visit.
Sorry, i rated the pool as terrible.....can't seem to remove that rating.....there was no pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear „mountainview”,

Let me thank you for your throughout positive feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.
I was sincerely glad that you had been happy with our location and shared your opinion with the travelling community it regards.
Thank you very much for your patronage and I sincerely hope the next opportunity to serving you in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights and cannot fault Palazzo Zichy. Everything was perfect - and that doesn't happen often!

The staff were friendly, knowledgable and attentive. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the hotel modern, fresh and welcoming. Breakfast was amazing - everything you could possibly want including fresh herbs for you to snip into your omelette!

Within walking distance of pretty much all the main sites, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH-M11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear „DH-M11”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your generous review is highly appreciated and I do hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

There is no doubt that Palazzo Zichy is an amazing hotel and deserves the rating it currently holds. The staff on arrival were so pleasant and accommodating. We booked through the hotel directly before arrival and they arranged a taxi transfer and matched our requests for a nice view from the room.

ROOMS: The rooms are decorated to an extremely high standard. The black decor is very stylish and luxurious. The room we had overlooked the courtyard out the front of the hotel and the church opposite too. The curtains in the room are beyond amazing- they completely darkened the room- you could sleep in there any time of the day and never know what the outside world was like, it meant you were able to have a lovely night sleep, straight through. The bathroom was a nice size with a large walk in shower which had a nice strong massage setting as well as an over the head option or a movable fixture.

LOCATION:
Palazzo Zichy is ideally located for access to all the tourist locations as well as the central areas. About a 10minute walk from the bridge that crosses to the Buda side of the country it is perfect to walk everywhere. Alternatively there is loads of public transport in the area. The transfer from the airport was about 30minutes and the taxi could be paid to the driver or added on to the end bill for you room (only if booked through the hotel originally)

FOOD:
The hotel only offers breakfast and they do not have any facilites for dinner. Despite that Budapest is not lacking in restaurants so you will not struggle to find somewhere locally, the Raday road is about 10minutes away that is known for having loads of restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel was nice, about 5 things for hot food, 6types of cereal, lots of pastries as well as bread and cold meat and cheeses and the staff there are friendly.

EXTRAS: The hotel offers free unlimited water and coffee and nuts/crisps just in the bar area next to the reception until 5pm, we grabbed a few bottles of water every time we headed out to explore each day, this was a lovely touch. There is free wifi throughout the hotel as well as a few computers in the lounge area for guests to use with a printer to print off those all important boarding passes.

After our 4 long days of exploring beautiful Budapest the hotel was just the perfect retreat every evening!The staff were beyond helpful, we asked for recommendations for local restaurants and where the best places to sample traditional Hungarian food and each time they tailored it to each guest.
The staff were all outstanding and their ability to delivery 5* service was so impressive

Room Tip: Request a room facing the outsides of the hotel with a church or courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaceyMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear „StaceyMJH”,

I can not be grateful enough for your kind review posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was truly happy to read your all-embracing positive comment covering the most important services and facilities of our hotel. I was especially glad that you have recognized our staff’s service-minded attitude and we could make your stay more pleasant with us even with restaurant recommendations.
I would like to thank you once again for sharing your experiences with the travelling community and I truly hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy should your plans bring you back to our capital. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We agree with the other positive reviews that this is an exceptionally beautiful and luxuriously appointed hotel, which we were always excited to return to after our wanderings in Budapest over five days in September. I loved gazing out onto the little square from our bedroom (311 on the third floor), watching the ladies leaving the church after mass, the youngsters chilling at the bar and the locals chatting whilst walking their dogs. It felt like a real neighbourhood, full of real Budapestians, rather than a tourist district. Our room was lovely, though my masseur when he came with his table to set up thought it "a little small". I liked the shower and glass imprinted doors in the bathroom. Housekeeping was excellent and thorough, provided by charming, efficient staff. Breakfast was a delight in a bright, airy, comfortable and beautiful restaurant. I can recommend the fresh fruit salad. The internet room was a huge bonus as my partner managed to keep up with his business, meaning he could relax and know all was well back home. I liked the location, a bit off the beaten track, and away from the inevitable noise and pollution of the inner city. We walked everywhere which was good, because we ate like lords at the local restaurants - never more than 5 minutes stroll away. There is lots to do just in the locale of the hotel, before you ever venture further afield. The staff we met were, without exception, helpful, smiling and beautiful. We would definitely stay again and recommend the Palazzo Zichy to any traveller.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the square side are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernhillangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We visited Budapest as part of a three city break (also staying in Bratislava and Vienna). There is no doubt that Palazzo Vichy is an excellent hotel. It is well situated in the Pest side of the city and is close to good restaurants, great bars and the impressive underground and tram network is only a short walk away.

There is a serene calmness about the hotel and it's staff. The reception staff are very helpfull and free coffee and water etc in the lounge is a nice touch. The rooms are a reasonable size and as per the rest of the hotel are immaculate. There can be no complaints about the breakfast with everything you can imagine on offer including Champagne for those who wish to embide.

As mentioned this was a three city tour and we started and finished in Budapest and rebooking into Palazzo Vichy was a no brainier. On the return leg we had room 308 which is a small suite with a balcony overlooking a small, quite and prestine square.

The thing that impressed me most was the staff's ability to provide excellent service without being over fussy or too formal. Highly recommended and flawless.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Filbofox1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,268 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,411 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £78 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing