We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is just superb for a stay in the Pest side of Budapest . 5minutes tram ride from Octagon and few minutes more to the Shopping centre .Here I recommend Leroys on top floor for lunch and cocktails .

The hotel however is of high standard . The rooms are cleaned daily . The breakfasts are simply superb where you simply look forward to eating in the morning . The staff all go about their business with a smile .The cocktail bar had a very friendly Italian waiter who was totally on the ball with the cocktails.
I had developed a cold here when I stayed but the First class Steam room was just what the Doctor ordered . The hotel staff arranged for my robes to be delivered to my room .All with no extra charges .
The hotel is not overly expensive but for what you pay I don't think anyone staying here would be disappointed. So if your planning a trip to the heart of Budapest .May I suggest you stay here.

Room Tip: Only little negative for me .The pillows were a little firm so I suggest if you like soft pillows, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,857
    707
    73
    7
    2
See reviews for
503
2,807
154
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in mid January. The hotel is beautiful and quiet. The breakfast is delightful. I would stay there again. The rooms are very modern,with WiFi and tv. If we ever make it to Budapest again we will stay there.

Helpful?
1 Thank magda38836
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the last leg of our European tour. Location is just right…in a quiet neighborhood, but within a few minutes from the center of the city..either by walking or by taxi or tram. The hotel service, cleanliness and the facilities are faultless, …the room we had was perfect..with a porch where you could look out into the stained glass windows and roof of the church next door. Breakfast buffets were delicious, and they had complimentary tea, coffee and bottled water in the lounge area .The hotel was well worth the price. All in all, our stay in this hotel as well as the sights and people of Budapest made this an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luzonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This lovely hotel is situated slightly away from the central area, but has good transport links, being a few minutes away from tram and bus routes and 10 minutes away from a metro station.
It is a very modern but sympathetic conversion of an old building, heavily damaged like much of Budapest, during WWII.
During our early January tour of Prague, Vienna and Budapest, this was the best hotel we stayed in and is almost faultless. The service at reception and iat breakfast was excellent. We used the hotel to order taxis to and from the station and though slightly more expensive than hailing on the street or calling yourself, the reliability was worthwhile.
Though there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, the free accesss to tea, coffee and bottled water in the lounge area up to 5pm was a good substitute.
The breakfast was good and varied, in particular their new coffee machines produced the best hotel coffee of the trip. The breakfast room gets very busy at about 09.30h, so get there a bit earlier.
The hotel was excellent value for money, I cannot believe they will stay such good value as their reputation grows. Take advantage of their city tour package. For a modest addition, we had a lovely 3 course meal at the Museum Cafe/Restaurant, and a free bus tour of the city with 1 hour river cruise thrown in.

Room Tip: The breakfast room gets very busy at about 09.30h, so get there a bit earlier. Take advantage of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We Stayed here for my Wife's 50th Birthday. It was really hard to fault anything . The staff, service, cleanliness & facilities were all excellent. Quite possibly the best place we have stayed, Gabor the barman was particularly freindly & accomodating, serving up the best cocktails. Worth trying their 30% daily discount cocktail! Breakfasts offered a wide & varied selection to suit all tastes. We really enjoyed everything about our stay here. Thank you Hotel Zichy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited this hotel for Christmas vacation. The reception staff were really friendly, smiley and professional. Rooms were eco-friendly, not rather spacey but sufficient for an enjoyable stay. There was a separate dressing area in the room and the matresses were very comfortable. We did not like the fact that they were separate matresses for a double bed, but this was a minor and subjective disadvantage. It is worth to mention that the breakfast area was spacey while the breakfast buffet was delicious and varied to satisfy vegetarians as well. During Christmas, most restaurants and a significant number of cafes were closed, so we took advantage of the opportunity to enjoy our drinks at the hotel lobby which is really cosy and serves great cocktails. We could drink for free up to 17:00 pm, a period which was extended especially for the xmas days and there were also special offers for drinks for the other days at a 30% discount. The staff would help us find interesting restaurants to have dinner, but actually they were a bit expensive, so our suggestion to the improvement of the hotel services, is to invest more time in getting feedback for other restaurants not elegant but value for money. Our impression of the hotel was excellent and it would be our first choice in a future visit to Budapest. There is no swimming pool in the hotel, but "prospective travellers" could spend a day to the Geller Baths or other thermal baths and this would be adequate. Our congratulations to Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveller213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in the Palazzo Zichy hotel on our honeymoon to Budapest. We were delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite and to receive a complimentary fruit bowel and thank you card from the staff.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern, with a heated mirror and a large double shower.

Breakfast was delicious, certainly a good variety and it wasn't too busy. I liked the free tea and coffee for guests in the bar area too.

This is a beautiful design-led hotel hidden away in a quiet yet hip part of Budapest, not far from restaurants and reasonably priced bars or the busy tourist areas. It's an ideal base to explore the city, much of which we managed on foot from here.

I would certainly come back and would recommend to everyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,970 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing