We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is an elegant, modern, conversion of a grand (palatial) Budapest mansion. The foyer, in particular, is impressive. Our fourth floor room was well equipped, comfortable, quiet, and fine in every respect, though perhaps a little small. Breakfast is comprehensive and the food is good. There are plenty of good, common facilities including a gym and business center.
Invariably we found the front-desk staff to be enthusiastic, knowledgeable, eager to help, and reliable. They really added to the pleasure of our visit.
Budapest is a once-grand city showing the stress of one hundred years of decline. The central area of Pest, close to the Danube, has been well restored and gives one a sense of what the city could be like. However, you do not have to walk more than half a block from a fine street to see run down buildings and poorer shops.
Hotel Palazzo Zichy is close to the transition zone between Pest's ritzier areas and those in need of an upgrade. We felt comfortable in the neighborhood but increasing less comfortable as we walked to the East. One hopes Budapest continues to improve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellwalker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear „Fellwalker57”,

I am glad that you had chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on the opinion of our previous guests’ and you had been pleased with your decision.

It made me happy to read that you had collected nice memories about your city break in Budapest and my colleagues had been able to contribute to your pleasant experience with theirs professionalism and service-minded attitude.

Your compliments regarding the building and the surrounding area are highly appreciated – I am glad that you had enjoyed walking on the streets of Budapest.

Let me thank you for your generous review and I hope to meet you in our hotel again, hopefully in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,995 - 2,001 of 4,944 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel was second to none! from the staff, the rooms and, the breakfasts. We could not fault it.

Everyone was so friendly even the lady cleaning our room. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was lovely too.

The breakfasts had plenty of choice all nice quality food, the staff were filling up the plates as fast as guests were emptying them!

The complimentary coffee/tea and chilled mineral water was a lovely extra, every little detail had been thought of. Well done to the Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise and we did not hear anyone say that they had a problem, our rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „missmc62”,

Thank you very much for leaving a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

I was delighted to learn from your kind words that you had been pleased with your stay and with every details of our hotel from the excellent service to the wide variety of the breakfast buffet.
I was also pleased to see that the efficiency of our breakfast team had met or even exceed your expectations and you had enjoyed our complimentary Lounge Bar.

I would like to thank you for your compliments again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a couple of problems with our room, but the problems were addressed by the excellent hotel staff. They were very eager to accommodate our needs, whether it be directions to the Parliament, tickets for a guided tour, or reservations for dinner, every person at the desk that we dealt with gave us service enthusiastically. Special thanks to Gergo.
The hotel is beautiful, the rooms roomy with excellent bathrooms. We overlooked an interior courtyard.
We chose the Hotel Palazzo Zichy because it had wood floors and we have allergies. Our only complaint is that those wood floors can be noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanSpruceHeadMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „JanSpruceHeadMaine”,

First of all let me thank you for staying at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor travellers.

I was glad to see that you had spent a great time in Budapest and our hotel could serve you as a perfect base for exploring our beautiful city.
What made me especially happy and proud upon reading your kind review is that you had been pleased with the service provided by our entire Team. Receiving feedbacks like yours show us that it is really worth to work wholeheartedly. It was my greatest pleasure to pass your compliments onto Gergo.

I also would like to thank you for your kind words on the design of the hotel and the bathroom however I regret to learn that you had not found the room quiet enough. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated

Let me take the opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and for your patronage. We hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again some time in the future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Delighted which my choice of this hotel, lobby was palatial, room was luxurious.
We had a Junior suite which was very spacious, plenty of storage and a large comfortable bed.
The bathroom was enormous, with large walk in shower and a corner whirlpool bath.
Breakfast was excellent, the staff were so friendly throughout our stay.

During our stay the temperatures were 35+ C outside but the hotel and room aircon coped flawlessly.
Location is good, one street away from a major tram line and some shops nearby.
The best choice in Budapest!

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyG572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „JimmyG572”,

I can not be grateful enough for your praising comment posted here on TripAdvisor.

I was happy to read that you had been pleased with your hotel choice in Budapest and our hotel could live up to your expectations in all aspects.

Your compliments regarding the guestroom, the bathroom and the breakfast service are highly appreciated. I also would like to thank you for pointing out our great airconditioning system.

Let me thank you for recommending our hotel and I hope that we will have the opportunity of meeting you soon again.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Palazzo Zichy on her first trip to Budapest. It met every expectation and beyond. It was in walking distance to attractions. restaurants, and a good starting point for many enjoyable walks around Budapest. The breakfast buffet was unbelievable and when we had to catch an early morning flight and had to miss our last breakfast, staff packed a picnic breakfast for us to eat while waiting at the airport. Next time in Budapest, we know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „Judy S”,

First and foremost let me thank you for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for your husband’s first trip to Budapest, it made me glad to see that it was really a memorable one.

I was sincerely happy to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we had been able to contribute to your pleasant experience.
I would like to thank you for highlighting our great location and the wide variety of our breakfast buffet.

Your compliments are highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is spacious, light and quiet. The bed was firm and very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was extensive (but avoid around 8am as it gets very busy and the coffee machine is slow so queues build up!) and included, which can be unusual in Budapest.
The staff were always extremely professional and helpful, both on reception and in the breakfast area. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily.
The hotel is situated a short walk from a tram line and Metro station for travel all over Budapest.
The cost was very reasonable for such a good hotel and I would stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Mid level are very convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „Globalgran”,

I would like to thank you for the valauble time you took to rate our Hotel Palazzo Zichy on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words and compliments are highly appreciated – I was sincerely happy to see that we had been able to deliver the highest standard of all services throughout your stay and our hotel could serve you as a perfect base for your city break due to our great location.

Your all-embracing positive comment is highly appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your travel plans bring you back to the area, it would be our greatest pleasure to serve you again.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is really special, old world feel with modern amenities. Good value, great staff!!!!!

Breakfast would last you all day! Coffee machine in bar area available until 5:00 pm and a espresso at 3:00 pm can rev you up for the rest of the evening! Overall a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear „reginastocks”,

I was so glad to read your kind and positive comment about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy; thank you very much for staying with us and for posting a generous review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to see that the unique decor: the mixture of the old and the modern and the service provided by our Team had met or even exceeded your expectations.

Your compliments and your patronage are highly appreciated and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to meeting you again.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,364 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,454 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £71 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing