We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around but for one thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent all around but for one thing”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I would really liked to have given this five stars as the hotel is beautiful, really well located. One of the best features as there is a great little cafe/restaurant strip right outside the front door, and one locals eat at rather than only tourists. The hotel itself, rooms and common areas are first rate, and the staff really, really helpful. Breakfast is superb as well. The one small thing is that nasty habit some European hotels have of making a queen size bed out of two twin beds, so that you get a crease/ridge down the middle. I understand it in a one or two star hotel, where cost is an object, but not in a hotel like this where the rest of the quality is top notch.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a queen sized bed, ask if it is queen mattress or two twins pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldProwler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,891
    720
    73
    7
    2
See reviews for
505
2,834
155
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place is amazing, it's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. An old palazzo that has been restored beautifully and with sensitivity, it's a perfect marriage of the old and the new: even though it's very modern, stylish and elegant, a lot of the old features have been retained giving it a wonderful atmosphere. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom stylish and with excellent amenities, the common areas comfortable and stylish. The breakfasts are very good, and there is free water, tea and coffee for most of the day.

Our room was extremely clean, everything sparkled.

What makes this place outstanding however is the service - nothing is too much for the staff. There was a very tiny leak from the air-conditioning in our room and not only was it fixed immediately, but every member of staff we came across knew about it and apologised. We were furthermore given a complimentary bottle of very good wine as a way of apology. Everything we asked for was immediately supplied. They really try to make you as comfortable as possible.

Our stay was made very comfortable, and I would recommend this hotel without any reservations. It's an experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EireneLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is a great value! The hotel is located about 20-30 minute walk to the main attractions and close to public transport. My husband and I traveled all over Europe and stayed in 7 different hotels, and this was the only hotel that had hard pillows, which is a good thing for us because our backs ache with soft and mushy pillows. So it was refreshing! We ordered reasonably priced room service one night. The food was great! The service was amazing! We absolutely loved the breakfast- it was the best we had on our trip! The room was very large and relaxing. The staff was helpful. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssiddiq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my third visit to the charming Palazzo Zichy Hotel in Budapest, Hungary.
In every detail, this hotel exemplifies great service. The staff is eager to assist you, and their response is always courteous and prompt. The management and design of the hotel from the reservation staff to the beautiful entrance and lobby and the well thought out and comfortable rooms, the excellent housekeeping and lovely breakfast all speak to a very strong philosophy of attentiveness to their clients needs. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a superb boutique hotel, in good location and a metro nearby to get into the centre, free snack bar and yummy breakfast, it is in an old historic building and the staff are excellent. It is very bright and modern. Would definitely recommend this hotel. :)

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I truly enjoyed staying at Palazzo Zichy. I went with a group of childhood friends to a city we did not know much about. The front desk staff made our visit truly memorable. They were attentive to our every need and found options for us when our requests were not feasible. The staff worked diligently to make the Hotel and Budapest inviting. Zichy also has a wonderful breakfast that I would definitely include in your stay. Throughout the day there is access to water, coffee and other beverages in the lounge area. The hotel is spacious and allows for down time for those that want to sit and read. The design of the hotel is overall lovely. There is a very small gym, spacious enough to do cardio and body work. This hotel seems best suited for business, couples, friends, or for a solo trip. It is very safe and is located near local bars and restaurants. It is around 15 minutes walking distance to the high end stores, museums, parks, and the eateries. It is worth staying in this location because you do not hear the busy streets and you can truly step away and interact with the people of Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy in Budapest and simply loved it. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful, especially Noemi and Zsofia. I loved their concierge service which allowed me to be able to go to Vienna for the day. The hotel is centrally located and near many eateries and bars. Everything (Andrassy and Vasi streets), seemed to be about a 15-20 min walk away. I really enjoyed the free breakfast daily as well as the coffee and drinks that are available until 5 PM.
Depending on where your room is located, there are spectacular views of a courtyard or church.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,013 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,240 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,231 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing