We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in this lovely lovely hotel in May this year. It is ideally located in Pest- yes there is walking to do but the point is you can walk to the "downtown area" and if you're prepared to walk on a bit then you can easily get across Chain Bridge and up to Buda.

Anyway the point is the hotel is great, the staff are delightful, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is clean, stylish and so comfortable, everything you need is in your room. Breakfast is lovely (although the dining room is fairly cramped, requiring snake hips to negotiate the tables- but hey a very minor point and the pain au chocolate is worth it!! )

Would definitely recommend the hotel and would love to think we will go back one day soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in 315 and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiabrown_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Georgiabrown_9 „”,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your praising words.

I was glad to read that you had enjoyed your city break with us and our location and the service provided by our entire Team had met, or even exceeded your expectations.

It was our pleasure to host you and we truly hope to meet you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,770
    695
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
491
2,747
150
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a river cruise. The hotel is in a very nice area with sights and many restaurants nearby. The staff is super helpful even getting us tram tickets! There is a nice free breakfast included with the price. The hotel and the rooms are modern and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Budapest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear „Peter H”,

I can not be grateful enough for sharing your experiences with the travelling community about your recent visit at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest after your river cruise.
It made me glad to see that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you found our Team helpful and friendly. I would like to thank you for highlighting our superb location, the cleanliness that you could experience in the entire hotel and the the great breakfast.

Let me thank you again for your positive comment and for your patronge. I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After reading all the reviews I was expecting alot, my stay exceeded this!
from start to finish this hotel is truly wonderful..The hotel can't do enough for you. The hotel is excellent value, clean and perfect location.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor one overlooking the square and church, It was very quiet and we had great nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisakmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear „Lisakmitchell”,

I am glad that you had chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on the opinion of our previous guests’ and our hotel, our facilities and services could all live up to your expectations.

Let me thank you for your short but to the point review and I hope to meet you in our hotel again, hopefully in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are staying here based on earlier Trip Advisor reviews and agree wholeheartedly with the positive comments. This very sleek hotel is hidden behind a beautiful old exterior - staff are very helpful, the breakfast offers many options (including the ability to add their fresh herbs to your eggs!), and the location is great - walking distance to many of the highlights and yet tucked away in a quiet little street. We are so pleased that we decided to stay here rather than another big chain!

Room Tip: Doesn't have a swimming pool but a gym in basement. We're staying on the 4th floor and over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A2D2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear „A2D2014”,

Let me thank you for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy based on our previous guests’ opinion and I am grateful for leaving an excellent review about your recent visit on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your very positive feedback about our hotel; thank you for highlighting our hotel’s unique design, the great breakfast service and the favourable location.

We would be happy to serve you again; please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you plan a next visit to our great city.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Palazzo to celebrate my 50th birthday, the helpfulness and attitude of the staff were first class throughout the duration of our stay. The hotel is impeccably clean, with rooms serviced daily. Breakfast is excellent with a selection to accommodate the majority of choices. Complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water is available daily till 5pm. Bar is minimal, no draught beer and is on the pricey size. There is however a local bar within 100 yards that is extremely cheap with a fantastic informative barman who appreciates the finer aspects of alcohol. Hotel is in walking distance of a number of squares which provide an excellent selection of food and drinks, 15 minutes walk to the centre of Budapest. Overall an enjoyable and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear „Scott M”,

First and foremost let me thank you for choosing our Hotel Palazzo Zichy for this special occasion, for celebrating your birthday with us.

I am extremely happy that you had saved great memories about this special trip and you had enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments regarding our hotel, the breakfast service and location are highly appreciated. I am also glad that our staff provided you with an excellent service throughout your stay.

On behalf of our entire Team let me wish you a Happy Birthday again and I truly hope to have the pleasure to meeting you in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy int he future as well.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is very close to everything you might need in Budapest even though it is not in an immediate tourist district. There are great outdoor restaurants around the corner and transit is only a couple of blocks away. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean. The staff were incredibly helpful, the hotel was quiet and the breakfasts were fantastic.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yenehcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear „yenehcec”,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your valuable time taken to share your opinion about our Hotel Palazzo Zichy with the travelling community.

It was great to be read that you had found our hotel to be well-located and you had enjoyed our breakfast service furthermore you had been pleased with the excellent service you received from our entire Team.

I am grateful for your positive comment and hope to have the pleasure to serving you again.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for only one night after ending a cruise and before flying home. We picked this sight unseen, based on reviews here. As we left river area and the old historic district, it seemed we were heading into a less desirable area. But first impression was wrong. As the cab arrived at the hotel and we entered the lobby, it was clear this was a very fine hotel. The inside is completely updated, functional and very classy. Further, we found the location to be a reasonable walk to most areas we wanted to see, and very close to one of the main functioning streets through the area. A limited number of restaurants were close.
Absolutely no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms window onto an atrium-like center court, some face street/adjacent buildings. We had cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1st-timer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,804 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing