We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete, personal and affordable hotel in center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice hotel in the center of Budapest. Hotel is situated in a historical building but inside it is decorated in a modern way. The rooms are complete and staff is very friendly. There is a bar where you can have a nice array of beverages. Breakfast is very complete and well prepared.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Roel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „Roel d”,

First and foremost let me thank you for sharing your experience with the travelling community about your stay with us.
I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you had enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I especially would like to thank you for your kind words on the location, the guestroom, the breakfast service and last but not least our bar area.

I am grateful for your valuable review and I hope to see you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The only things preventing me from giving 5 stars are lack of tea\coffee making facilities in the room. And the hard floors meaning we could hear the people in the room above walking around.
That said, I believe the hotel will soon be providing drinks making facilities in the room. And without us asking, they moved us to a different room, where there weren't any people above us.
All the hotel staff are extremely polite and helpful, and the food choice at the breakfast buffet plentiful.
The hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel and city centre. Which explains why the rooms are competitively priced. But this means you also have a good selection of well priced bars and restaurants right next to the hotel. Very happy with our decision to choose this hotel and not one in the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „Simon F”,

I would like to thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community regarding your recent city break in our beautiful city.

I was happy to see that our hotel and the services provided by our staff had met or even exceeded your expectations. I was also glad to read that you had enjoyed the hotel’s neighbourhood with full of local pubs and restaurants.
I also would like to thank you for your suggestion for in-room coffee/tea making facilities that will be definitely considered by the Hotel Management.

It would be our greatest pleasure to serving you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, please do not hesitate to contact us, should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This exceptional hotel is the perfect place to stay in Budapest. It is located in a very pleasant, quiet neighborhood within a short walking distance to the trams and a fifteen minute walk to the Danube Waterfront. The staff was exceptional with their over the top helpfulness in making our stay with them so memorable. We would especially like to recognize Julia, Zsofia and Laura for all of their friendly advice and wonderful dinner suggestions. Breakfast was superb with a wide range of hot and cold foods.

In addition to enjoying wonderful food and sights in Budapest, we suggest the Chefparade Cooking School (in Buda) and touring the Hospital in the Rock beneath the Buda Castle Hill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceNSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „BruceNSandi”,

I was proud to read your kind review about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy, let me thank you for staying with us and for your compliments.
I am also glad that our entire Team but especially Julia, Zsofia and Laura provided you with an excellent service throughout your stay.
Your kind words are highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is very modern on the inside, which made it very comfortable to stay in. It's about a 20 minute walk to St Stephen's square and the river, so it might be further away than other hotels, but that shouldn't be considered a big negative. We stayed two nights after a Danube cruise and loved it.

The hotel staff were great - so friendly and helpful.

Breakfast has excellent, a wide range of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsf-brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „Stan C”,

Thank you very much for your kind review posted on TripAdvisor.

I was happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and the service provided by our Team could make your city break even more pleasant. I am glad that you had been pleased with the breakfast selection as well.

Your compliments are highly appreciated and we hope to see you soon again,

With best regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was impressed with everything about this hotel. The reception area is big, bright & beautiful. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful...tours, taxis, transfers...even locating a laundromat :) the rooms aren't enormous, but very functional with enough storage for luggage. The bathroom is functional and clean. There is no tea, coffee making facility in the room but there is complementary tea, coffee & still or sparkling water in the lounge until 5pm daily.
I had a significant birthday while staying here and I was presented with a beautiful bowl of fruit and a card from the hotel after returning from a day of sight seeing. Very thoughtful.

Room Tip: Rooms 001-004 are a little noisier, particularly on garbage day!!! We were on 6th floor which was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyw1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „Jennyw1754”,

On behalf of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy Staff let me wish you a happy birthday again! We are glad that you had spent this special day in our hotel whilst visiting Budapest.

I was delighted to see that you could take advantage all of our facilities and services and you had spent enjoyable and memorable days with us.

Let me thank you for your patronage and hope to having you back in Palazzo Zichy!

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Everything you want from a hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They mailed us before arrival and helped us with any queries we had. Any restaurants they suggested were top notch. Room was small but clean and well kept. Breakfast was great - there was a huge selection foods. Couldn't fault anything, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „Ruth G”,

Let me thank you for recommending us to the travelling community and for your kind words. I was glad to see that you had been pleased with our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and with the service we provide our guests with.
We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wow! I can't imagine a better place to stay in Budapest. First, the location -- far enough away from the bustle and honky-tonk of the city center, but easy to walk everywhere. The hotel is located on a tiny square with benches and an ice cream kiosk, next to a short all-pedestrian street lined with low-key restaurants with outdoor seating. We arrived during the World Cup, and all the restaurants had TVs on the outside terraces for people to watch the game. It's kind of a student neighborhood, and has an informal, homey feeling. It was super-convenient the night we arrived to stroll down the street and have an easy dinner.

At the same time, it is only a ten minute walk to the big Market and the Danube waterfront, and a 15 minute walk to the Jewish Quarter and Dohany Synagogue. It was a five minute tram ride to Andrassy Street.

The hotel itself is my favorite kind of European hotel -- a beautifully maintained historic building but inside, the rooms and facilities are completely modern. Great firm mattress; silent and excellent air conditioning, flat screen TV in the room, good shower. NO street noise. The breakfast was awesome -- huge assortment of various eggs, cold cuts, smoked salmon, cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, cereals, sausage & bacon, salad, a dozen kinds of tea, an espresso machine, fresh grapefruits you could squeeze for juice, breads and croissants (including mini pain au chocolats) In short, anything you might want, and constantly being refilled by staff.

Front desk staff was welcoming and helpful. There's even a (very small) gym. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilana_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear „ilana_58”,

Let me thank you for your generous review left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

I was pleased to read that our hotel had met or even exceeded your expectations and you had spent a pleasant city break in Budapest.

It was our pleasure to serve you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should your plans bring you back to our beautiful capital.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,316 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,445 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
7,384 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 334 in Budapest
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £61 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing