We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good location & great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Palazzo Zichy is a clean and nice design hotel with everything you need. Every room has wireless internet and a laptop sized safe. Stayed 5 days over Easter. Liked the breakfast buffet a lot. They also had coffee, tea & bottled water in the afternoon in the lounge area. Nice and friendly staff. On the minus side the room was a bit too hot.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,782 - 3,788 of 4,876 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

Clean design, great focus on functionality. Wonderful redeveloped landmark property. And at the current prices, it is hard to imagine a better deal. The surrounding area is beautiful, full of character.
Had there been no far too loud pop music during breakfast, I would have given five stars, which this place deserves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I stayed at the Palazzo Zichy over the Easter weekend and I have to say the hotel is absolutely fantastic. It is decorated in quite a contemporary style and is very slick. Every detail has been thought of, the light fittings, the wallpaper, the tiles in the bathrooms are all exquisite. They could possibly have had brighter lights in the rooms but that really is my only critism.
As for the staff, I can not commend them enough. They have to be the most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Every single one of them went out of their way to help us no matter when or how small the issue was. I would definitely stay at the Palazzo Zichy again and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GucciCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

I've spent too much time in hotels the last years, travelling around the globe with my work. With this in mind, I must say that my experience with the Palazzo Zicho hotel was one of my best! I was very pleased with my stay, with the staff and all the arrangements.

breakfast was good, staff very friendly and helpful, nice stylish rooms, quiet area, just a walk or a tram stop or a metro stop away from the city center. Also provided very nice pick-up service from the airport.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kai_schroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We only got to spend 1 night in this hotel but I wished we could have stayed longer. We got a great deal online and could not believe our luck when we walked throught the door. The entrance is very impressive. the restoration of this old building is beautiful. The staff was ever so helpful. Free tea/coffee/minerals are available from the lobby bar all day and I was surprised to also find an internet room if you do not have your laptop with you.
I will definitely be back on my next trip to Budapest.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We stayed in Palazzo Zichy for three nights and our stay was above and beyond our expectations. The hotel just opened in Feb 2009. The building is a beautiful 19th century mansion which has been recently refurbished. The interior is ultra modern but comfortable. The service of the staff was great. They were extremely helpful and polite. They gave us tips about the city and gladly recommended restaurants for us and made reservations. The breakfast was also great with many hot and cold choices. Breakfast was served in a reasonably big room with a glass ceiling. Our standard room was quite big and spotlessly clean. It was so big that we were literally able to run around our room :) The hotel has a bar that provides unlimited free bottled water and coffee until 5pm everyday!! Above the bar there is a room with about 6 computers with internet access and even a printer free of charge. There's a sauna and a fitness center in the hotel as well.

This hotel is in city center but Budapest is a big city so we often ended up taking taxis. There is a metro station (Kalvin ter) which is about a 5 minute walk away. The tram (#4 or #6) is also about a 5 minute walk away. The trams can be fun as you can see the city while traveling instead of being underground. The neighborhood is clean and peaceful.

The only thing lacking was a restaurant but there are many excellent restaurants in Budapest. Other than the lack of a restaurant it was a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ga80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We had a very good time at the hotel and were extremely happy with a level of service. Good location, easy to move around. Helpful and professional staff made the stay a lot easier on us as medical advice was needed. Breakfast full of choice. Drink at the cosy lobby in the evening after all the sightseeing with a talkative and entertaining barman or quick email to friends in the internet corner. Lovely wellness centre available to the hotel guests. Anything you may need during a short stay away from home. Incredible attention to details. It will be a very special memory for us as we got engaged there! Lovely Budapest and Palazzo!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DomiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,269 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,411 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £78 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing